Distance learning - Computer Science Degree

dalefrench

Hey guys

I have been a software developer for the past 6 odd years and only have a couple certificates to my name. I'm thinking about doing a CS degree through Unisa or similar and am just seeking some advice from other developers who have done the same.

- Is Unisa a reputable university for a CS degree?
- Is the Unisa CS curriculum up to date?
- Are there any other colleges / universities that offer CS degree via distance learning?
- How hectic is it to do a CS degree while still working full-time?

Thanks in advance!

cguy

Expert Member
Yes.
Yes.
Nothing I would recommend.
It's difficult, but many people do it - you don't have to complete it in 3 years, so you can take it slow too.

Brawler

Executive Member
I did mine while working and did ok and it was definitely worthwhile.
Actually I miss studying in the evenings now.

c10n3d_0r6

Yes Unisa is reputable and their curriculum is up to date (I just wrote my last exam today). How hectic it is depends on how many modules you take at once. I took the maximum possible which was ok for all the years except this last year. I've basically had no social life, but I'm done (Assuming I pass).

Their admin processes can be a bit of a drag, but they do have some competent people working there. I think the shear number of students applying to study can slow things down, but once you're registered everything generally works well.

dalefrench

Thanks!

Out of curiosity, what are the main programming languages taught in this degree?

dalefrench

Thanks!

Out of curiosity, what are the main programming languages taught in this degree?

Urist

Expert Member
probably c++ and python
The specific language is probably less important what what you think.

Last edited:

HeftyCrab

Expert Member
Thanks!