E-mail going crazy

ChadKay

Hi guys, didn't know if this was the correct forum for this type of question but no other forum best suited it.

So last year I moved from Mweb to Afrihost and I downgraded my Mweb account to a 1GB capped account so I could keep my e-mail address as I have been using it for about 12+ years.

My incoming server is pop3.netactive.co.za :110 and my outgoing is smtp.afrihost.co.za :25
My e-mails are downloaded and sent with no problem, here's the problem:
Every week or so Outlook re-downloads all the e-mails on the server dating back a good 4 years, it is a mess and has been like this since December.

Please could you advise me on how to fix this.

supersunbird

Honorary Master
Should it not be pop3.mweb.co.za and smtp.mweb.co.za?

Nope, the SMTP might over be restricted the ISPs SMTP, because spamming.

Don't know the exact cause the OPs problem though, except that the e-mails were not deleted from the server on download (mweb would be the cause then) or that Outlook has a flaw (blame MS then), might need to create brand new PST, move mail over to that PST, then create and setup new Outlook profile and link the new PST in there (beware, I am not sure on how previous contacts will be handled or moved over).

ponder

Honorary Master
WTF do people use isp email accounts?

Get a gmail account an set it up to collect email from your isp mail server. Change all references (banking, edgars, eskom, telkom etc) to the gmail account. send out weekly notifications to everybody in your address book that your email address has changed and after three months bin the old address! It's not rocket science!

HavocXphere

Honorary Master
There is a mweb server that requires username & pass...but lets through all ISP connections...its somewhere in my post history and should be easy to google.