FNB Galaxy 10.1 vs iPad 2

IanM

So I'm currently contemplating on getting a tablet through FNB's newish rental agreements. https://www.fnb.co.za/promotions/smartphone-tablet-in-your-hands.html

I'm considering a Galaxy 10.1 Wi-fi 32GB (R279pm) or iPad 2 Wi-fi 16GB (R265pm).

Problem is, I can't figure out which tablet to consider and I thought I'd get some info first. Let me just say that I have tested out both tablets in stores and I'm aware of both tablets' pro's and cons. But I still have a couple of questions, so if you have the answers, it would be appreciated:

1.) Hidden costs. Are there any on these rentals through FNB?

2.) Apps. I'm currently a young professional and do not want a credit card at the moment. As far as I know apps through the Apple Store can only be purchased with a credit card. I have heard that Android apps can be bought, apart from a credit card, with a FNB cheque card (Visa enabled), prepaid airtime (only a recent development) and Paypal (which I can link to my FNB account). Anyone have further info on this?

3.) Lag on Galaxy 10.1. I have noticed, while testing the tablet in a shop that there is much more lag on the Samsung tab. The iPad was smooth as a whistle, but on the home screen of the Galaxy the lag was significant and definitely noticeable. I have heard that Honeycomb 3.2 fixed this lag issue. Any truth to this?

I am currently leaning towards the Galaxy, except for the lag issue. Any info on these questions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance! :)

kang

I can only answer your 1st question unfortunately.

There are no hidden costs except that they ask you to agree on a new type of "package" with them. If you have a gold cheque account, it still costs R92 pm but there are some added T&C's such as you're only allowed 2 (I think) free cash withdrawals a month and in-branch transactions cost a bit more.