• You are not registered on MyBroadband, which means you miss out on great benefits. To join our community is very easy, and completely free. Register now.
  • Win an Amazon Echo Dot in this two-day giveaway - Enter Here

FTTH Rondebosch

ajules

Expert Member
I have received an email from RCID(Rondebosch Community Improvement District) canvassing interest for fibre access in the suburb.If you are based in Rondebosch and want more details or are interested in expressing your interest PM me.

Yeah please! I would love fiber, that being said I'm only studying this year and next and things usually move quite slow :/. I'm all for it though! I wonder if my road (Lyle) would count, it's technically still in Rondebosch if only just!

Kelerei

Yeah please! I would love fiber, that being said I'm only studying this year and next and things usually move quite slow :/. I'm all for it though! I wonder if my road (Lyle) would count, it's technically still in Rondebosch if only just!
Crap, you're in walking distance... :p

Lyle Road is Rosebank though. Rondebosch starts at Nursery Road (one block down from you).

Last edited:
... wow that luck though :/. That being said I would probably move a couple roads to get fiber, even for a year. It's just worth it!

ajules

Expert Member
Just an update.RCID has received sufficient responses from the community to start the RFP process and then hopefully an MOU shortly thereafter.

Shard

I've been speaking to a couple of the guys that do not so much FTTH (because FTTH is the biggest load of BS, true FTTH wont ever happen in this country), but Fibre installations.

I'm negotiating for rollout in my entire street, since it comprises alot of flat blocks. Problem is, most are people renting, so cant really pull enough demand.

So far MTN advertises that they do FTTH in Rondebosch, sent them a mail in march, got a reply last week, so MTN !@#$ off to hell as far as I'm concerned.