Hermanus - Looking for CAT5 network cable

Dean

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2005
Messages
2,588
As per the title, looking for CAT5/CAT5e/CAT6 cable in Hermanus... up to 50m.

Does anyone have any idea where I would be able to find here?

I've already tried Matrix Warehouse in the Pick 'n Pay centre and they couldn't help.

TIA
 

The_Unbeliever

Honorary Master
Joined
Apr 19, 2005
Messages
103,197
Can't the Matrix warehouse order for you?

Otherwise you'll have to drive to either Cape Town or PE...
 

MDE

Expert Member
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
1,898
What about the computer shop by the pub down the road from woolworths?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk
 

Spizz

Goat Botherer
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
25,703
Matrix is useless, don't waste your time there.

Try Launch Out Computers on Long St, beside Rossi's restaurant. Much more helpful.

Failing that, go into zero gravity beside Ocean Basket and have a word with the boss there. He might be able to point you in the right direction.

Edit: not sure what services these guys offer, but local ISP maxitec might also be worth a call, www.maxitec.co.za
 
Last edited:

The_Unbeliever

Honorary Master
Joined
Apr 19, 2005
Messages
103,197
I know old Hermanus too well.

As kids we were privileged to have a holiday each year in December there.

New Hermanus - suffice to say I was only there via Google Earth, and found most of the old landmarks have been "modernized"...
 

Dean

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2005
Messages
2,588
Matrix is useless, don't waste your time there.

Try Launch Out Computers on Long St, beside Rossi's restaurant. Much more helpful.

Failing that, go into zero gravity beside Ocean Basket and have a word with the boss there. He might be able to point you in the right direction.

Edit: not sure what services these guys offer, but local ISP maxitec might also be worth a call, www.maxitec.co.za
legend, thanks okes for all the help, and PE :D
 

AfricanTech

Honorary Master
Joined
Mar 19, 2010
Messages
35,082
You can also try Communica in Cape Town - http://www.communica.co.za/contactus.aspx

Don't forget to ask them to fit the end plugs as well (LOL - seems obvious, but I did and when I got there I got handed 20m of cable without plugs - fortunately they're nice chaps and fitted for me on the spot)

PS: Not sure if they are open over the festive season tho....
 

beans100

Honorary Master
Joined
Jul 30, 2010
Messages
11,753
Seems like you can't buy anything from Scoop without being a dealer?
I got an account and I'm not a dealer.
Anyway, you're place R225 for 50m
Scoop R225 for 100m.
Scoop to dealer = 100% mark-up. :wtf:
 

The_Unbeliever

Honorary Master
Joined
Apr 19, 2005
Messages
103,197
You can also try Communica in Cape Town - http://www.communica.co.za/contactus.aspx

Don't forget to ask them to fit the end plugs as well (LOL - seems obvious, but I did and when I got there I got handed 20m of cable without plugs - fortunately they're nice chaps and fitted for me on the spot)

PS: Not sure if they are open over the festive season tho....
RJ45 connectors ;)
 

deweyzeph

Executive Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2009
Messages
7,840
I got an account and I'm not a dealer.
Anyway, you're place R225 for 50m
Scoop R225 for 100m.
Scoop to dealer = 100% mark-up. :wtf:
I'm really keen to buy from Scoop, but I don't want to apply for a dealer account. Anyone know how?
 
Top