how to change Auto Updates on Windows 7 Ultimate

Vikki Sixx

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2008
Messages
277
Reaction score
10
Hi,

Could someone please help on how I can change my AUTO UPDATES to NEVER. I had this setting previously but changed it ... now I want to change it back but am not able to.

I go to Windows Update (as before) but when I select Never (or any other) I cannot click on OK and make the screen go away. I eventually close it but if I go back to the Auto Updates is is set back to Automatic (recommended) _ I don't want this as it is eating up all my bandwidth.

Please assist !!
 
Just set it to "Notify me, but never download anything"

Then just ignore the notifications. There is a way to turn off the notifications, but I wouldn't even bother.
 
Just set it to "Notify me, but never download anything"

Then just ignore the notifications. There is a way to turn off the notifications, but I wouldn't even bother.

I can't select that setting either ! It will always default to AUTOMATIC. I can select a differnt setting but cannot confirm the selection by pressing OK ... eventually have to press cancel
 
Weird .... try this manual setting then

... in the run box, type "services.msc"
... look for "windows update" (alphabetic)
... double click ... stop the service if running & then select disabled from the "startup type" dropdown
... restart PC & check
 
Weird .... try this manual setting then

... in the run box, type "services.msc"
... look for "windows update" (alphabetic)
... double click ... stop the service if running & then select disabled from the "startup type" dropdown
... restart PC & check

I did that ...
When I went back to check (Control Panel -> Windows Update) the red shield (with a cross) is displayed which makes me think that it is disabled now. However, if I go back to "change settings" it still shows that Automatic is set and I cannot choose anything else
 
Hi,

Could someone please help on how I can change my AUTO UPDATES to NEVER. I had this setting previously but changed it ... now I want to change it back but am not able to.

I go to Windows Update (as before) but when I select Never (or any other) I cannot click on OK and make the screen go away. I eventually close it but if I go back to the Auto Updates is is set back to Automatic (recommended) _ I don't want this as it is eating up all my bandwidth.

Please assist !!

Are you the only user of the computer and is it an Administrator account?
 
Sounds like your computer is part of a domain and your domain admin has it set in his policies for the domain...
 
Unless his copy of Windows 7 was "borrowed" after having been "fixed"
 
Unless his copy of Windows 7 was "borrowed" after having been "fixed"

Nope, even if the copy is 'fixed' you can still change the update options. The majority of fixes works perfectly.

I tend to agree that there are either one of two problems here:

1. The user has no administrative rights.
2. The machine is part of a network where these settings are determined by security protocols of the network administrator.
 
Try disabling "background intelligent transfer' in the services menu.
 
Top
Sign up to the MyBroadband newsletter
X