HUAWEI B535 RAIN network HELP

mephis

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2009
Messages
4
Just got my Huawei B535 router and RAIN Sim, speeds are around 1-7mbps.
I am running an ethernet Cat6 cable from the router to my system.
I think my router is set on 1800mhz, is there any adjustments I can do for this router to increase speeds or move it to 2600mhz? I have full signal at all times.
Any help would be greatly aprreciated
 

Attachments

  • 20201228_224024.jpg
    20201228_224024.jpg
    24.4 KB · Views: 25

mephis

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2009
Messages
4
I tried one for a B525 but it didn't seem to work, if there is one that will work for the B535 with some steps on how to do it I would appreciate it
 

jbroo

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2020
Messages
521
I tried one for a B525 but it didn't seem to work, if there is one that will work for the B535 with some steps on how to do it I would appreciate it
Download HUACtrl from Google Play. You can set bands with this tool. You will only get any benefit from 2600MHz if you have a 2600MHz tower in close proximity, that has better signal or less congestion than the current cell/tower you connect to.
 

mephis

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2009
Messages
4
Download HUACtrl from Google Play. You can set bands with this tool. You will only get any benefit from 2600MHz if you have a 2600MHz tower in close proximity, that has better signal or less congestion than the current cell/tower you connect to.
Thank you
Please elaborate a bit, the IP I would use is? Can i check what my closest tower (200M away Vodacom) is capable of? Do I choose B38 2600mhz or 1800+2600 TDD?
 

mephis

New Member
Joined
May 24, 2009
Messages
4
Thank you
Please elaborate a bit, the IP I would use is? Can i check what my closest tower (200M away Vodacom) is capable of? Do I choose B38 2600mhz or 1800+2600 TDD?
Opensignal shows this information for my nearest tower if that helps
Cell ID; 211432970
LAC; 23044
 

rain_mobile

Rain Representative
Company Rep
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
1,890
Just got my Huawei B535 router and RAIN Sim, speeds are around 1-7mbps.
I am running an ethernet Cat6 cable from the router to my system.
I think my router is set on 1800mhz, is there any adjustments I can do for this router to increase speeds or move it to 2600mhz? I have full signal at all times.
Any help would be greatly aprreciated
Morning @mephis

May you please provide me with your email address via PM
 

jbroo

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2020
Messages
521
Thank you
Please elaborate a bit, the IP I would use is? Can i check what my closest tower (200M away Vodacom) is capable of? Do I choose B38 2600mhz or 1800+2600 TDD?
The IP to connect to will be that of your router. The app does not show you any towers, it simply allows you to configure various settings on the router, including frequency band. You should choose B38, then reboot and move the router around, see if it connects to anything. If it does, you have picked up a 2600Mhz tower. Check the signal stats in the app. If they are ok, do a few speed tests and see if you have a good connection.

LTE signal stats are explained on the internet, and there are posts also on thus forum.

You may need to do this many times, it is a trial and error process. If you find nothing in 2600Mhz or the signal/speed is poor, you may need to switch back to B3.

Lastly, unless you have a directional external antenna your router uses the built-in omnidirectional antenna, so aiming is not of much help. Best to try window locations around your house, facing different directions.
 

jbroo

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2020
Messages
521
Opensignal shows this information for my nearest tower if that helps
Cell ID; 211432970
LAC; 23044
You can use the coordinates to give you an idea of where to aim. Also the Optimizer tool on the rain website (you will see it once you log in) will show various towers in your vicinity (once you are connected). Use this also for aiming purposes. Sadly the tool does not tell you the tower frequency.
 
Top