ISP Remotely Controlling Router Settings

AjQuantum

Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2018
Messages
20
I Recently moved and installed fibre at my new home. I took advantage of a ongoing black Friday deal that included free Vuma installation (for some reason not many ISPs do VUMA installations for free)

My router was supplied after installation was confirmed, fortunately I have my old router and it was just a matter of plugging it in and using it.

The issues started when I received the supplied router and me wanting to adjust settings on the router, I had to reset it to gain access, but as soon as it connects to the internet the router reverts back to settings managed by Supersonic. I tested this out by leaving the router on for almost 2 hours with no internet connection, again as soon as you connect the wan port to the Vuma cpe device you loose access to the router and everything changes back to Supersonic. I have since removed it and using my old router again.

My question is, is this normal practice. If they control router settings what else do they have access to? The other question is if this is even legal?

Hoping some other people have had similar issues.
 

walt chen

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2014
Messages
193
Vox also did same on Mikrotik router, but after i hard reset, removing Capman, then all i could do myself.
 

AjQuantum

Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2018
Messages
20
I will go google how to hard reset the Zyxel they sent me. I tried the usual pressing the reset button for 10s, this did reset it. But after reconnecting its as if it re-configures itself again. Perhaps I should look at what firmware they have on there and reload that...
 

Flywheel

Honorary Master
Joined
May 11, 2009
Messages
11,581
I will go google how to hard reset the Zyxel they sent me. I tried the usual pressing the reset button for 10s, this did reset it. But after reconnecting its as if it re-configures itself again. Perhaps I should look at what firmware they have on there and reload that...

Yeah replace the firmware - they probably recoded it to suit their needs. Lord knows what else they can see from their side. You best not download your scat porn until you can flash the router.

 

AjQuantum

Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2018
Messages
20
Thank you for the link Flywheel. Will go check it out tonight. I have cameras and alarm system all running through my router. So yes, no knowing what they can access through their supplied routers.
 

backstreetboy

Honorary Master
Joined
Jun 15, 2011
Messages
23,002
I Recently moved and installed fibre at my new home. I took advantage of a ongoing black Friday deal that included free Vuma installation (for some reason not many ISPs do VUMA installations for free)

My router was supplied after installation was confirmed, fortunately I have my old router and it was just a matter of plugging it in and using it.

The issues started when I received the supplied router and me wanting to adjust settings on the router, I had to reset it to gain access, but as soon as it connects to the internet the router reverts back to settings managed by Supersonic. I tested this out by leaving the router on for almost 2 hours with no internet connection, again as soon as you connect the wan port to the Vuma cpe device you loose access to the router and everything changes back to Supersonic. I have since removed it and using my old router again.

My question is, is this normal practice. If they control router settings what else do they have access to? The other question is if this is even legal?

Hoping some other people have had similar issues.
They own the router and can do as they please. Just buy/use your own router...
 

gamer16

Honorary Master
Joined
Nov 3, 2013
Messages
13,485
Well technically it belongs to them so.

Anyway it's a good way of ensuring the normies have a working internet connection with no issues.
 

AjQuantum

Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2018
Messages
20
Vodacom does that by disabling the second sim slot on all dual-sim phones when you take it on contract.
Its not the same as having complete control over the settings and privacy, blocking you out totally. What's the point if I cant set my router up with my own Wi-Fi password at least, or customize settings to manage everything that runs on it.

The purpose of this post was to see if people have similar experiences and if its the norm lately. If I wanted to start an argument about it I would have engaged with the ISP. I'm just here to see if this is something new. Never experienced this before.

The other question, regardless if its their router or not. Is it even legal in terms of privacy laws? There is nothing I can find in their terms regarding having control over the router.
 

AjQuantum

Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2018
Messages
20
No but they already do that's why I never had a cellphone contract ever. Prepaid all the way.
With things going on recently I think we should just go off grid, plant vegies and live in huts lol :) :) Just trying to fight for the little privacy I have left, if it even exists.
 

backstreetboy

Honorary Master
Joined
Jun 15, 2011
Messages
23,002
Its not the same as having complete control over the settings and privacy, blocking you out totally. What's the point if I cant set my router up with my own Wi-Fi password at least, or customize settings to manage everything that runs on it.

The purpose of this post was to see if people have similar experiences and if its the norm lately. If I wanted to start an argument about it I would have engaged with the ISP. I'm just here to see if this is something new. Never experienced this before.

The other question, regardless if its their router or not. Is it even legal in terms of privacy laws? There is nothing I can find in their terms regarding having control over the router.
 

AjQuantum

Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2018
Messages
20
Fortunately I still have my old Tenda that I am using now. Considering just sending this Zyxel back to Supersonic. Its just a paper weight right now.
 

Kola_CT

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2020
Messages
1,314
Their device, you merely have right of use while you use the service.

Reset it for factory settings and set it up yourself, or rather pack it away and use your own router.

Note: Read your ISP's Ts & Cs before you do that...
Some of them will not provide support if you do the above, or they might have other clauses which may impact your service if you do.
 

AjQuantum

Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2018
Messages
20
Their device, you merely have right of use while you use the service.

Reset it for factory settings and set it up yourself, or rather pack it away and use your own router.

Note: Read your ISP's Ts & Cs before you do that...
Some of them will not provide support if you do the above, or they might have other clauses which may impact your service if you do.
I have gone through their terms to find something regarding this, as stated in one of the previous comments. If its there and I did not read it then so be it. But I cant find it anywhere on their sites Ts & Cs. If they informed their customers upfront and tell them the router will be remote managed then fine, give me the choice, but none was given to my knowledge and looking through all my sign up documentation.

I do get where you are coming from, If I sent out "free" routers I would want to protect my assets in some way. On the flip side it worries me how many people just accept it and don't ask questions.

My argument is that this has not been like this in general for some time, and its being introduced without peoples knowledge in recent months. Because of work I have moved around often, and been through 3 previous providers, this is the first one remote managing my router.
 

Kola_CT

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2020
Messages
1,314
I have gone through their terms to find something regarding this, as stated in one of the previous comments. If its there and I did not read it then so be it. But I cant find it anywhere on their sites Ts & Cs. If they informed their customers upfront and tell them the router will be remote managed then fine, give me the choice, but none was given to my knowledge and looking through all my sign up documentation.

I do get where you are coming from, If I sent out "free" routers I would want to protect my assets in some way. On the flip side it worries me how many people just accept it and don't ask questions.

My argument is that this has not been like this in general for some time, and its being introduced without peoples knowledge in recent months. Because of work I have moved around often, and been through 3 previous providers, this is the first one remote managing my router.
Fully agree.

I put my ISP's router safely in a cupboard and installed my own.

The reason they do this is likely because most of their clients are not tech savvy and merely users, so it protects them and lessens the number of support calls they deal with, and of course can make support easier for the ISP as well.
A lot of people I now just know they have fibre and WIFI, with no idea or desired to know how it works.
 

backstreetboy

Honorary Master
Joined
Jun 15, 2011
Messages
23,002
Fully agree.

I put my ISP's router safely in a cupboard and installed my own.

The reason they do this is likely because most of their clients are not tech savvy and merely users, so it protects them and lessens the number of support calls they deal with, and of course can make support easier for the ISP as well.
A lot of people I now just know they have fibre and WIFI, with no idea or desired to know how it works.
None of them is going to muck about with the router settings anyway.
 

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
1,390
I am good friends with someone that works for an ISP, he told me they adopted the going to locked routers method because a good 60% of the tickets they got ended up in people playing around on the router and misconfiguring something etc, so they were spending way too much time troubleshooting and fixing peoples issues which they created themselves. Once they switched over to managing the routers the amount of tickets they were receiving dropped drastically.
 
Top