ISP Review Thread | Compare Your Experiences

Skowt

With the recent flood of posts regarding jumping ship and making a change, I found myself yelling "abandon ship" with the masses. Working from home means that like most here, we need stable internet services 24/7.

That being said, I've had the "joy" of testing out 2 different ISP's as well as my own ISP I've been using for the past 3 months (Axxess) and have compared them below:

4JxRZUO.png

All tests were performed with the ISP's default DNS servers provided and downloading the same file, same YouTube video and various segments of a Steam game.

These tests were conducted during business hours as indicated and were all done under the same conditions (within reason). Wifi was disabled and only one computer was on the network at the time of testing (the test PC). Network activity was also monitored to ensure that no other processes were consuming bandwidth.

Below are 3 packet loss tests conducted:

AXXESS:
yEZG22k.png

WebAfrica:
Xp1hDQ9.png

VOX:
RHkwKoI.png

*Note: ignore the 100% loss from the second loop, that destination is clearly set to not respond to ping tests. And remember, 100% and 0% are fine, it's when you get something in-between that you should worry.

The VOX reading of Packet loss just from these tests can be a bit marginal. Granted I did see worse tests later on but didn't screenshot them. However, in comparison to the other ISP's, it shows the worst loss even though it travels through another network. I might be being a bit harsh but these are the results I got when testing.

Again these are all just my results and I'd like to make this thread open to others who specifically have used multiple accounts and can compare them and help everyone decide which is better.

It is also good to note the amount of data you typically download in a month, so we can establish if ISP's should be completely avoided or if just high usage users should avoid them.