laptopsatcost.co.za

Status
Not open for further replies.
Probably a private seller, olx kind. Did a TrueCaller search on the phone number, it's apparently registered to a Martin Peters.

But from the look of the web site, I wouldn't trust it
 
Stay the hell away.

Domain only 185 days old. Very slow site. Unprofessional design. Developed by Digital Cube, who have an ancient website with Copyright 2015 in the footer. All domain owner information is redacted.
 
1. Sale site with no https
2. site design is broken
3. domain age
4. says are that they are working from is an entire suburb? Also not a business place.
5. Footer is amazing, 2 different visa secures. No HTTPS so PayGate would never have verified them.
6. Pricing is substantially too low.
7. Martin's contact email for fla**** is for a domain that's still coming soon.
8. A quick google of that telephone number shows multiple gumtree adds that are definitely too good to be true.

Rather look at wootware.co.za (excellent customer support as well, CT based), or rebeltech.co.za (think Johannesburg based).

EDIT: Not sure why the domain is censored?
 
Stay the hell away.

Domain only 185 days old. Very slow site. Unprofessional design. Developed by Digital Cube, who have an ancient website with Copyright 2015 in the footer. All domain owner information is redacted.

How do you check domains again? Can't remember.
 
They at least aren't lying about the Pricecheck.co.za part...but I also have no idea if that's worth anything.

https://www.pricecheck.co.za/shops/4732/Laptopsatcost.co.za

Only 1 review as well.

BUT if that review is accurate and you get to see the product before handing over the cash can't really go wrong.

I mean I was skeptical of http://www.secondbite.co.za/ for similar reasons and yet know of plenty of first hand accounts getting awesome service.
 
This is his facebook reviews page. https://web.facebook.com/pg/laptopsatcost/reviews/
His pricing is similar to what i could get the items via amazon so possibly possible
I realize everyone is skeptical as am I, and have also been through all of the logic behind the contact details etc etc. I would really like to know IF you have bought from him rather than lots of comments telling me what i already know.
 
The "ACCREDITED AND SERCURE" is a laugh as well as the "Manula EFT"

Bull**** VISA logos etc when that payment method is seemingly not even supported, never mind the lack of https.
 
This is his facebook reviews page. https://web.facebook.com/pg/laptopsatcost/reviews/
His pricing is similar to what i could get the items via amazon so possibly possible
I realize everyone is skeptical as am I, and have also been through all of the logic behind the contact details etc etc. I would really like to know IF you have bought from him rather than lots of comments telling me what i already know.

Paygate wouldn't support if site isn't https.
They also look at the footer logos, etc. which would make the site fail the paygate check, so not valid/committing fraud.
The "ACCREDITED AND SERCURE" is a laugh as well as the "Manula EFT"

Bull**** VISA logos etc when that payment method is seemingly not even supported, never mind the lack of https.

Fun fact, you can get the Visa, Mastercard etc. logos straight from their site.
https://usa.visa.com/run-your-business/accept-visa-payments/posguidelines.html
 
A client forwarded me their link once re. a laptop the client wanted to buy.

I phoned the guy and ended up asking him how he gets the laptops so cheap?

His answer:

"I buy directly from Dell in California when they have manufacturing overruns. So I skip the middle-man."

I just burst out laughing and put the phone down.

"Manufacturing overruns" is the same shtick you hear at the Adidas or Nike factory shops here in CT.
 
This reply I find amusing. Overruns now does sound like bs. thanks, this has been the best reply because it was from an actual interaction.
 
[MENTION=104326]MightyQuin[/MENTION]: This reply I find amusing. Overruns now does sound like bs. thanks, this has been the best reply because it was from an actual interaction.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top
Sign up to the MyBroadband newsletter
X