Mesh Networks Worth it?

InternetSwag

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2012
Messages
3,573
I don't have a big house, but I can't get signal in my bedroom. Router is in my pc room. I've had no luck with range extenders tbh and I linked 2x to my router they just so inconsistent.

But I'm wondering if a mesh Networks overkill for my needs?

Aren't they for like double story houses?

I do have two routers but 1x is a lte router not sure if I can link it to my fiber
 

InvisibleJim

Expert Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2011
Messages
1,995
I got a pair of low end TP Link Decos (E4's I think) that were on special as the coverage in my home office was not good. Works really well. No issues with Teams calls since then
 

Speedster

Honorary Master
Joined
May 2, 2006
Messages
15,705
You might want to have a glance through these threads:



 

InternetSwag

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2012
Messages
3,573
I got a pair of low end TP Link Decos (E4's I think) that were on special as the coverage in my home office was not good. Works really well. No issues with Teams calls since then

What about this? The TP link is 10/100? Does that mean my upload is throttled? If over 10?
 

InvisibleJim

Expert Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2011
Messages
1,995

What about this? The TP link is 10/100? Does that mean my upload is throttled? If over 10?
Only if you plug it into a 10meg Ethernet port. But it will be limited to 100meg if you plug it into a gig port.
 

Saba'a

Executive Member
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
6,777
I don't have a big house, but I can't get signal in my bedroom. Router is in my pc room. I've had no luck with range extenders tbh and I linked 2x to my router they just so inconsistent.

But I'm wondering if a mesh Networks overkill for my needs?

Aren't they for like double story houses?

I do have two routers but 1x is a lte router not sure if I can link it to my fiber
Why not simply use an Access Point via network cable.
 

greg0205

Honorary Master
Joined
Apr 18, 2010
Messages
25,821

What about this? The TP link is 10/100? Does that mean my upload is throttled? If over 10?
Those E4s have 100mbps ports. No throttling at all, but your internet connection is limited to a 100meg line. If you have a faster internet connection you'd need the M4s which have gigabit ports.
 

karnuffel

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2010
Messages
4,371
Definitely worth it. I had an Airties mesh network and recently moved over to a TP-Link Deco. Its still early days but so far Im super happy.

check on Amazon, you will find it cheaper :)
 

SauRoNZA

Honorary Master
Joined
Jul 6, 2010
Messages
40,769
Those E4s have 100mbps ports. No throttling at all, but your internet connection is limited to a 100meg line. If you have a faster internet connection you'd need the M4s which have gigabit ports.

Is the WAN port also 100Mb only?

Otherwise this shouldn’t be an issue while wireless.
 

Erohann

Active Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2019
Messages
88
Grabbed Google WiFi
Everything just works. Been down the range extender route and comparatively that was just broken.

If you need an Ethernet out at Mesh unit, go Google WiFi
If you don't need an Ethernet out at Mesh unit, go Nest WiFi (more expensive, newer)
If you are going to be fiddling with port forwarding, DNS stuff, traffic manager, routing stuff and idk what else, do some more research if Google WiFi will cover what you want. It can do some of the above, but its not the same as a browser managed router - it is configured off a smartphone app
 

_kabal_

Expert Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2005
Messages
3,805
Super happy with my Tenda Nova 2-unit mesh. Covers all my house and outside - typical 3 bedroom house built in the 80’s in northern suburbs, not massive, not small.

was also great when I got a desktop and didn’t need to run a cable as I just plugged directly into the unit that is in my office.

tried a router in “AP” mode and it didn’t work great, there was no seemless transition.
 
Top