PC Scams Be Alert

AppleZa

Active Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2012
Messages
66
Reaction score
0
Hi everyone.

This is my first time on mybroadband and my first post and hopefully many more to come.

Excuse me if this is the wrong place to create my thread (I wasn't sure where i should post it)

Ok let me begin.

I was browsing junkmail.co.za to see if there are any cheap Macs/PCs available and i soon noticed there was a i7 Mac book pro for sale for around R6000, so i instantly tried to call the person that was selling this item (The item in my mind was a bargain). This Foreign guy, who sounded like a Nigerian (I know i am generalizing, which i did not intend), Says "I sell lots of Apple products. Can i send you a price list". So i said please send it, thinking he had big contacts as a reseller. The price List is as follows :

Thank you for your interest on our Apple products we have in stock.They are brand new and original Apple products from istore and our product are in sealed box with the complete accessories and all our prices are inclusive of Vat.
Please kindly go through the price list below:

<deleted reason="bog standard scammer spam, doing the scammer's job for him using MBB as the medium"/>

Regards
Sales Rep,
Edwin

This email was from the address <deleted reason="bog standard scammer spam, doing the scammer's job for him using MBB as the medium"/>. Who uses a gamil account for business and thus set a red flag for me. The second red flag came when i read the prices, Lets be honest these prices are too cheap. Third red flag was the 64 Gig iphone 4s which i don't think exists. So i emailed him regarding the prices and why it was so cheap? but he never replied so i decided to phone him and i asked him the same question that i had sent in the email, he responded by saying the only way i will buy any products from you is if i can come to your company and purchase it from you shop or meet you in person to exchange and he said "We can't do that you have to deposit the money in our account first, before we can deliver" even though he advertises his company is around the corner where i work. He then called me saying "Hi there i am Edwin, i am replying to your email (I don't think he noticed that i am the same person i just spoke to", i then proceeded to say i will purchase your products only if you meet me in person or i come to your company and then he just put the phone down.

I go on the net browse for second hand items since they are cheaper than purchasing new items, but i have come across a lot of these "Scamsters" who try and rip off people and just sit at home doing nothing and the funny thing is they make a lot of money scamming innocent people. Basically this is just a warning to people out there who buy from online classifieds to be careful that criminals are there to "F#$# you over".

Remember do not transfer money to anyone's account before seeing the product, rather buy from a reputable named company or exchange goods in person when buying from classifieds.

This guys cellphone number is : <deleted reason="bog standard scammer spam, doing the scammer's job for him using MBB as the medium"/>
His email address is : <deleted reason="bog standard scammer spam, doing the scammer's job for him using MBB as the medium"/>

Feel free to ask him anything, i am sure he wants to listen to the public about his "Imaginary" products he is selling.

Notice : I am not distrusting his private information but rather is business details since "I am promoting his company in my own special way"
 
Last edited by a moderator:
This email was from the address <deleted reason="bog standard scammer spam, doing the scammer's job for him using MBB as the medium"/>. Who uses a gamil account for business

Many private sellers actually. Assuming you mean gmail.

Third red flag was the 64 Gig iphone 4s which i don't think exists.

Weird because I've got one right here in my hands..

Mac-Pro 12 Core :wtf:?

Yes. http://www.apple.com/macpro/

I don't think it would take a genius to figure out it's a scam.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Quick update :

i got a response from this user

We can only ship directly to your doorstep without any worries and we do not accept cash on delivery.The courier company are only there to deliver your package at your doorstep and payment has to be made into our safe bank account.
You are 100% rest assured you are dealing with a legitimate company and everything we do is been monitored by the authorities in South Africa.
We cannot do exchange of the package because we will be shipping directly from our office in P.E to your doorstep through our reliable and efficient courier services.

Regards
Sales Rep,
Edwin


Red Flags Yet?
 
Your first red flag should've been the kind of "broken" English that is spoken by "Edwin". Your second red flag should have been the number of times that he reassured you, continually portraying the legitimacy of his company.
 
Safe bank account se voet man. I'd tell him I'm in need of like 3 macbooks, I'm in a hurry and that I'm in PE ... willing to drop off the moniez ... Epic Win ensues.
 
Thanks to the OP for doing something about a wrong.

You are good person.
 
No problem :)

I want to mess around with this guy, but still haven't thought of anything good yet.
 
If it sounds to good to be true, it probably is - my advice is to use reputable stores, sites and auctions...

Thanks for the heads up OP
 
Top
Sign up to the MyBroadband newsletter
X