Rain APN - Vodafone mobile router

Zothani

New Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2019
Messages
4
Please help

I have a Rain sim and would like to use it with a Vodafone mobile router.
however I am struggling to configurate the APN etc.
What is the IPv4 + IPv6 APN ? and the IPv4 + IPv6 APN DNS1 ? it will not allow me to go further without this information.

Or is there another way around this ?

Please help
 

Geselskap

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2011
Messages
513
Please help

I have a Rain sim and would like to use it with a Vodafone mobile router.
however I am struggling to configurate the APN etc.
What is the IPv4 + IPv6 APN ? and the IPv4 + IPv6 APN DNS1 ? it will not allow me to go further without this information.

Or is there another way around this ?

Please help

Is this mobile router 4G enabled?
 

Zothani

New Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2019
Messages
4
Is this mobile router 4G enabled?

Yes it is - Its all fixed up now and it connects .... My only problem now is it works everywhere else just fine excep in my house - As ssoon as i walk out the gate it works....
 

Ashgov

New Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2019
Messages
1
Please help

I have a Rain sim and would like to use it with a Vodafone mobile router.
however I am struggling to configurate the APN etc.
What is the IPv4 + IPv6 APN ? and the IPv4 + IPv6 APN DNS1 ? it will not allow me to go further without this information.

Or is there another way around this ?

Please help
Hi how did you do this did you ,was your old Vodacom sim.in when you changed the settings or was your rain sim in when you changed the settings .
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
19,327
Do i change those settings ( Apn) on my phone with my Rain simcard inside my phone ?

Yes you have to add them under APN settings or you won't have data. Most android phones do mot have apn settings for Rain build in so the apn settings are blank.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Yuu

Jossygp015

New Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2019
Messages
3
This answer is not brief, I’m using iPhone, what do i do, step by step, everything is blank , mobile data, LTE setup , MMS and Personal hotspot
 

BradleyKZN

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2009
Messages
1,325
This answer is not brief, I’m using iPhone, what do i do, step by step, everything is blank , mobile data, LTE setup , MMS and Personal hotspot
I think go to mobile data, or LTE setup. One of them should have APN settings
 

Subways81

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2009
Messages
850
Got the activation email today, ive set the APN as Rain, but no dice, not connecting or showing any signal bars. Im using an "older" Vodafone MiFi device, but it used to connect to Vodacom 4G so I reckon it should be sufficient.
 

Subways81

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2009
Messages
850
Got the activation email today, ive set the APN as Rain, but no dice, not connecting or showing any signal bars. Im using an "older" Vodafone MiFi device, but it used to connect to Vodacom 4G so I reckon it should be sufficient.

Spoke to soon, reboted the router and its connected now. Cant say im overly impressed with the speedtest results though, 40ms ping, 7mbps down, 10mbps up.
 

Jnr247

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2020
Messages
3
Rain sim cards only work on 4G enabled routers.
I tried the settings on a Vodafone R209-Z router and the settings did not work.
After contacting Rain support I was advised at the aforementioned.
 

SirFooK'nG

Executive Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2009
Messages
8,388
- EDIT - Below works... plugged the device into a new USB port and restarted the app...

1591263156314.png

I have to leave "Network Type" on auto or it finds no cell towers...
1591263247090.png
 
Last edited:

AbLondon

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2020
Messages
1
Can you please help... My 4G connection has been going off since the beginning of last week. But from Friday it started going off totally I have to go to out in the street to look for internet connection. I've tried adding a now APN but its not helping. I even inserted the sim on a different device, still no luck.

What could be the problem, help...
 

Jan2604

New Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2020
Messages
7
I done these settings on my son vodacom router
 

Attachments

  • IMG-20200923-WA0001.jpg
    IMG-20200923-WA0001.jpg
    67.3 KB · Views: 94
  • IMG-20200923-WA0000.jpg
    IMG-20200923-WA0000.jpg
    81.7 KB · Views: 81

rain_mobile

Rain Representative
Company Rep
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
1,945
Hi Jan2604

Could you please, tell me what is the make and model number of the Vodacom router you using?
 
Top