Rain LTE not Working?

genetic

Honorary Master
Joined
Apr 26, 2008
Messages
28,658
This is the RAIN map. According to this, there is only a tiny portion of Sweet Valley Road within the coverage area. Is that correct for you?
I'm just outside that coverage map, but get good reception. Their map isn't entirely accurate.
 

davyb

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2011
Messages
169
What Rain is doing is typical when it comes to customer complaints. I f you are out of the coverage map they will not help you. I f you are on the boundaries they will use this as a excuse. If they can use t&c's they will. All this despite your connection being fine 80 to 90% of usage. A lot of performance issues could be because of congestion but instead of saying that they look for the easy way out. I have come to the realisation that I am only using LTE as it is the best product available for me but as soon as there is a alternative I am gone. Also this of using a product that are sold by ISP's that has to liaise with the network owner is a problem as well.
 

Craig

Honorary Master
Joined
Feb 22, 2016
Messages
13,707
Ping: 18ms
Download: 4.73Mbps
Upload: 2.99Mbps

Our network is down because of the load shedding. So I'm using my rain sim for work today. It's surprisingly sprightly in comparison to other times. Not fast, but at least working adequately. And I almost cancelled.
 
Joined
May 9, 2012
Messages
7,798
Mine is working perfectly, in fact, it's been running many times better over the last 2 days that the past few weeks.
Issues in PTA, JHB and KZN according to the call centre.

My connection is pretty much dead, getting loads of DNS errors and if I do get to a site it loads like dial up.
 

MirageF1

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2018
Messages
2,682
Slow as a crunched on snail here in CT, but hey, not complaining....fokall use.
 
Joined
May 9, 2012
Messages
7,798
I had issues yesterday afternoon was getting around 1.6mb/s
Still borked....

Ping
69ms
Download
2.17Mbps
Upload
0.04Mbps

Tracing route to www.google.com [216.58.223.4]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
2 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.8.1
3 * * * Request timed out.
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 * * * Request timed out.
6 3657 ms 1643 ms 1838 ms 10.1.29.45
7 * * * Request timed out.
8 * * * Request timed out.
9 * * * Request timed out.
10 107 ms 62 ms 53 ms 196.250.236.74
11 118 ms 256 ms 138 ms 154.66.247.230
12 82 ms 113 ms 184 ms 154.66.247.174
13 132 ms 121 ms 149 ms 154.66.241.237
14 91 ms 86 ms 87 ms 72.14.237.239
15 71 ms 70 ms 77 ms jnb01s07-in-f4.1e100.net [216.58.223.4]

Trace complete.

Definitely an issue at my tower or the back haul. Call centre is useless, they've been told there are "issues due to loadshedding" so that's as far as you get. Starting to get annoyed now, has been 8hrs of this !@#$

Anyone know what the Rain DNS servers are, I've only tried 3rd party servers so this may be the issue however unlikely?
 

Craig

Honorary Master
Joined
Feb 22, 2016
Messages
13,707
Rain connecting and then disconnecting every few minutes now. And work internet is dead also so this is becoming annoying. And this after a few good days.
 

killerbyte

Expert Member
Joined
May 10, 2007
Messages
1,425
Had to move a client over to Cell C because the RAIN would get 14Mbps down and 0.01Mbps up.
This is a client who has voip services and uses OneDrive. With no upload to speak of its a bloody mess.
 
Top