Slow speeds on IS?

LazyLion

King of de Jungle
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
103,549
two nights ago I was happily downloading around 400 kbps... but sometime during the night it dropped to 40 kbps. Then last night it would only run at 40 kbps. Same thing tonight. I tried re-setting my router, etc.

On OpenWeb Uncapped Express.

The guys at OpenWeb suggested I do a traceroute....

C:\Users\garyvdh>tracert www.google.co.za

Tracing route to www.l.google.com [66.102.9.147]

over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.***.*.*
2 8 ms 7 ms 8 ms 196-209-5-1-rgm-esr-2.dynamic.isadsl.co.za [196.***.*.*]
3 9 ms 9 ms 9 ms cdsl1-rba-vl2360.ip.isnet.net [196.38.73.133]
4 9 ms 9 ms 10 ms 196.38.73.86
5 10 ms 9 ms 9 ms cdsl1-rba-vl58.ip.isnet.net [196.38.73.81]
6 9 ms 9 ms 9 ms core2b-rba-gi1-0-10.ip.isnet.net [168.209.1.182]
7 622 ms 670 ms 630 ms mi-za-rba-p5-gi3-0-2-9.ip.isnet.net [168.209.161.138]
8 637 ms * * mi-uk-dock-p3-po3-0-2.ip.isnet.net [168.209.161.93]
9 * 589 ms 607 ms core2a-dock-gi1-0-0-23.ip.isnet.net [168.209.163.5]
10 582 ms 575 ms 599 ms cp2-dock-gi0-2.ip.isnet.net [168.209.246.70]
11 720 ms 696 ms * 195.66.226.125
12 * 677 ms 677 ms 209.85.255.175
13 695 ms 667 ms 665 ms 209.85.251.190
14 653 ms 646 ms 654 ms 72.14.232.235
15 665 ms 636 ms 675 ms 64.233.174.14
16 693 ms 644 ms 604 ms lm-in-f147.google.com [66.102.9.147]

Trace complete.
-----------------------

Here is the result of my speed test....
http://www.speedtest.net/result/488603983.png

As you can see it is not running great at all.

What do you think it could be?
 

cyberarmy

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2006
Messages
3,400
Tonight openbrowse is not that fast, I am speculating it's also IS related?
 

lerouxjj

Active Member
Joined
May 23, 2009
Messages
48
This has been a problem allover. I'm with Axxess, they indicated that the problem is with IS. I had to do trace routes, MTU, DNS changes, and I checked my line with Telkom (I live three houses from the nearest exchange). In the end a technician reset my account and everything was ok. Not so sure it was IS. Either way you will never know. Good luck....
 

cybershark

Expert Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
1,319
Mine is similar battling to exceed 40 kB/s on any download

C:\Users\me>tracert www.google.com

Tracing route to www.l.google.com [74.125.79.99]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms 14 ms <1 ms 192.*.*.*
2 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms 196-209-4-1-nngy-esr-2.dynamic.isadsl.co.za [196.*.*.*]
3 20 ms 21 ms 20 ms cdsl1-rba-vl2360.ip.isnet.net [196.38.73.133]
4 21 ms 21 ms 21 ms 196.38.73.86
5 56 ms 68 ms 19 ms cdsl1-rba-vl58.ip.isnet.net [196.38.73.81]
6 18 ms 18 ms 19 ms cdsl2-rba-vl16.ip.isnet.net [196.38.73.6]
7 21 ms 20 ms 21 ms core2b-rba-gi1-0-10.ip.isnet.net [168.209.1.182]
8 602 ms 576 ms 508 ms mi-za-rba-p5-gi3-0-2-9.ip.isnet.net [168.209.161.138]
9 501 ms 514 ms 574 ms mi-uk-dock-p3-po3-0-2.ip.isnet.net [168.209.161.93]
10 593 ms * 527 ms core2a-dock-gi1-0-0-23.ip.isnet.net [168.209.163.5]
11 585 ms 593 ms 650 ms cp2-dock-gi0-1.ip.isnet.net [168.209.246.9]
12 599 ms 558 ms 677 ms 195.66.226.125
13 706 ms 649 ms * 209.85.255.175
14 709 ms * 715 ms 72.14.232.149
15 555 ms 567 ms 631 ms 64.233.175.246
16 527 ms 555 ms 584 ms 72.14.239.197
17 568 ms 544 ms 573 ms 209.85.255.130
18 716 ms 721 ms 692 ms ey-in-f99.google.com [74.125.79.99]

Trace complete.
Cape Town: http://www.speedtest.net/result/489257883.png terrible :confused:
JHB: http://www.speedtest.net/result/489258919.png
London: http://www.speedtest.net/result/489253220.png
 

LazyLion

King of de Jungle
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
103,549
Hmmm, I can download at 415 kbps from the IS FTP server.... but Giganews will only run at 40 kbps??? Is it the international link?

I can also download at 417 kbps from the MIT FTP server... so it is not the international link.

/me goes to see what is going on with Giganews.
 
Last edited:

cyberarmy

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2006
Messages
3,400
I can download from some sites but not others, and certain files not others....
 

LazyLion

King of de Jungle
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
103,549
I can download from some sites but not others, and certain files not others....

Hmmm, well then Giganews must be one of those sites. Cos they are really slow. But Astraweb is running nice and fast (and they are cheaper).
 

rurapente

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
2,522
i phoned axxess tonight to ask if they have uncapped accounts with saix. cause this IS excuse for dsl is useless. im getting 30kbps max if im lucky and chant at the machine...

Its a conspiracy. give us all bad service so when seacom comes they give us the same we had and we think its all new and shiny....
 

StevenC

Expert Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2007
Messages
2,130
IS is a POS provider. ISP's using them because they are slightly cheaper is just wrong. They should at least give us the choice (with pricing adjusted for the difference between the two) instead of forcing IS on us and letting us have crap service.
 

me_savage

Active Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2004
Messages
81
Same ****, mweb business uncapped, runs on IS backbone. Extremely slow speeds during the day ... I mean ... BUSINESS UNCAPPED, they said .... FAST SPEEDS DURING BUSINESS HOURS they said ... HMMM, cancelled the account, 2 year contract expired end of last month.

But ye, on and off, maybe twice a month we get this problem, where speeds are just up to **** for like a 2-3 day period and then its flying again. Recently it has become more of a problem.
 

ponder

Honorary Master
Joined
Jan 22, 2005
Messages
85,991
Looks like IS just lost all connectivity in Durban. Get as far as the Edge Service Router and no further.
 

rurapente

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
2,522
I'm cancelling my axxess-express account the end of the month. Its useless. I can get better speeds on dialup.

Will have to look for something else....
 

ponder

Honorary Master
Joined
Jan 22, 2005
Messages
85,991
I'm cancelling my axxess-express account the end of the month. Its useless. I can get better speeds on dialup.

Will have to look for something else....

Fortunately I'm using a axxess prepaid voucher. Edit: So I can just stop using them at any time without cancelling.
 
Last edited:

rurapente

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
2,522
No it just annoys me. 2 weeks ago i was getting 350kb/s+ easily on downloads. now i get like 50kb/s if im lucky. I've even re-started old downloads to compare.

And my sites take ages to load then suddenly just appear and i know its those useless transparent proxies of theirs.
 

dr.grimm

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
301
www.rooihub.co.za (98.131.148.80)
Test Result Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Reply from 98.131.148.80: bytes=32 time=800ms

Request timed out.
Ping statistics for 98.131.148.80:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 1, Lost = 3
(75% loss)
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 800ms, Maximum = 800ms, Average = 800ms
 
Top