Spammer on board

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Honorary Master
Joined
Apr 20, 2005
Messages
24,541
Reaction score
27,471
We all hate spam. Right? Well, we have one of them in our midst!

Consider this SMS annoyance I received while I was in a meeting today:
From: +27796259900

Lose upto 8kgs in 30 days. For a Limited Time - Try A Diet Sample Free Visit www.easyhealthcentral.net or email [email protected]

No thank you, my wife is actually trying to put some additional weight onto me. She does not need it either...

Okay, but according to the ECT Act of 2002 I should be able to unsubscribe :confused:

easyhealthcentral.net is an American website, contact info is here:
http://easyhealthcentral.net/designs/des9/privacy.cfm
Work From Home, Inc.
PO Box 774705
Steamboat Springs, Colorado 80477
USA

Precious .....!
PRIVACY STATMENT

Work From Home, Inc. complies with all United States State and Federal Law. Work From Home, Inc. complies with the Federal Regulation Regard to Automatic Processing of Personal Data (ETS 108), which was ratified by Switzerland on October 2, 1997, and entered into force on February 1, 1998, and with the standards set by the relevant European Union Directive. If you have registered not to be contacted via a particular medium (telephone, postal mail, or email), we will update our records if you notify us to ensure that we do not contact you via these methods.

Work From Home provides a business service to our members. We process data on their behalf. Work From Home will only use your personal information for the purposes intended and as detailed in the Privacy Statement unless we have obtained your consent to use it for other purposes.

If you need to contact Work From Home, Inc. regarding your personal information or you require technical support, please write to the following address:

Work From Home, Inc.
PO Box 774705
Steamboat Springs, Colorado 80477
USA

What is a "statment"? :rolleyes:

I call BS. This is just a jumping the hoops exercise for some get rich quick scheme. The first rule of spamming. Never verify your details by trying to unsubscribe!

Let us look at who owns easyhealthcentral.net (highlights below my own):
Domain name: easyhealthcentral.net

Registrant Contact:

Shabnam Jeewa ()

Fax:
P.O.Box 10890
Marine Parade
Durban, 0 4056
190

Administrative Contact:

Shabnam Jeewa ([email protected])
0315770954
Fax:
P.O.Box 10890
Marine Parade
Durban, 0 4056
190
http://www.homeriches.com/ says:
WORK from ANYWHERE

We are URGENTLY looking for self-motivated persons in South Africa who wants to earn extra money.

This is a 100% RISK FREE and GUARANTEED opportunity with amazing potential! As you might know, exceptional opportunities are hard to find and it is crucial that you respond quickly to be first in line...
...
Please Note.
We are a US Stock Exchange listed Company and world leaders in our field.
We have been in business for more than 20 yrs.
We have nothing to do with envelope stuffing or label typing.
....
Privacy Statement:
We respect the privacy of our users. And the Work from Home site has adopted a privacy policy to safeguard your private information. All registration information and email addresses will be kept strictly confidential and will not be shared or sold to any corporation or individuals whatsoever!
Privacy like h...!

Okay, but we have actually helped this guy in the past to set up his network on this same forum, now he is using it for spamming us!

Step forward AslamJ

Incidentally, reporting this issue to WASPA will be useless. Mr Jeewa used a pre-paid mobile number to send the SMS'es, not a WASPA member.

Heavens knows how many times I have received "We are URGENTLY looking for self-motivated persons in South Africa ...." SMS spams, that always peter out when trying to follow up.

So publicly Mr Jeewa:
Please stop spamming your fellow South Africans! Also tell your buddies to do so! You are acting illegally!

I wonder what Vodacom will say about this abuse of their network?
 
Last edited:
You think 30 point red type is going to stop him?

Rather investigate a piece or rusty chain and a dark alley as a demotivational tool.
 
Good suggestion, but he is in Natal :D

You can obviously lodge a complaint with Vodacom but I'd suggest you do the following:

1) Contact the spammer and ask them to unsubscribe you. While you're at it, ask where they got your details.

They have to comply with both the above, by law.

2) If you ever get a spam again, you are legally entitled to lay a charge against him at your local cop-shop.
 
Hi Vodacom3g - glad to see you still patrol faithfully.
While you're at it, ask where they got your details.

Done that. "My husband generates the telephone numbers" :rolleyes:

Of course your advice is 100% correct and as per the ECT Act of 2002.

However, the practicalities. The question is why should we waste the time of the small group of folks that actually deal by law with this when they are overworked, underpaid ...? The hassle of getting the guys at the local police station to understand that there is something like the ECT act and what it means. I have actually handed local SAPS a CD with headers and evidence of spamming, hacking in the ZA space once. The confusion at seeing the CD! It never reached the intended destination.

I reported it to Vodacom. I hope and trust they will put the spammer in his place.

You once mentioned something like a central place where spamming should be reported (or something like that!). I like!
 
Thank you for your e-mail communication to Vodacom.

As per the information supplied in your e-mail below, the cellphone number sending the SMS to you is a prepaid number belonging to a Mr. Jeewa who randomly enters numbers when sending these SMS. We regret that we cannot take responsibility for the manner in which customers use their cellphones.

Kindly note that in the case of companies sending SMS to you, Vodacom does not issue subscriber’s details to third parties. Please note that your details are registered on a national credit database, which can be accessed by any company when doing credit checks. It is possible that the companies in question have accessed your contact details from this database.

Should you continue receiving SMS from the number in question, you would be required to report the matter to your local Police station and open a case of harassment.

Should you have any further queries, please contact us via e-mail at [email protected].

Warm Regards

Need I say more ...
 
Vodacom4me Password

Deleted... Moved to new thread. Off Topic
 
Last edited:
Need I say more ...

Thank you for your e-mail communication to Vodacom.

As per the information supplied in your e-mail below, the cellphone number sending the SMS to you is a prepaid number belonging to a Mr. Jeewa who randomly enters numbers when sending these SMS. We regret that we cannot take responsibility for the manner in which customers use their cellphones.

Kindly note that in the case of companies sending SMS to you, Vodacom does not issue subscriber’s details to third parties. Please note that your details are registered on a national credit database, which can be accessed by any company when doing credit checks. It is possible that the companies in question have accessed your contact details from this database.

Should you continue receiving SMS from the number in question, you would be required to report the matter to your local Police station and open a case of harassment.

Should you have any further queries, please contact us via e-mail at [email protected].

Warm Regards

VC may not be responsible for how their customers use their cellphones but they are in the best position to do something about it. Their attitude is BS. If it is not a condition of use when they provide a customer with a number that they may not use such number for illegal activities it should be. It would be easy for them to block/suspend such number if they receive proof of illegal activity.
 
Top
Sign up to the MyBroadband newsletter
X