Telkom Adsl checker

Gamebot145

Does the checker show you the dsl line that you rent from telkom. I ask because I have a 6 Mbps subscription from mweb and I have only ever got 1.72 Mbps on a good day. When I use the telkom Adsl checker it says my speed is 2 Mbps. Does that mean I need to upgrade my dsl line from telkom?

Gamebot145

By any chance do you know what: "your line is not syncing at 2 Mbps" means...

I received that in an email from Telkom support.

Scary_Turtle

I think I'm gonna be a barer of bad news here because I'm pretty sure your line can't go faster then a 2meg speed.

If you are not syncing at 2 megs no way you will ever be able to sync a 6, unless Telkom upgrade the internet in your area which may be never.

You may even need to downgrade your line to a 1 meg line for it to be stable but get a technician out to tell you whats going on and make sure they reset the port on your line.

Go to this website http://www2.telkom.co.za/checkadsl/check.htm and put in your phone number to check what speed you can get.

Not syncing means your line is trying to stabilize but cant so it jumps up and down. When this happens you lose connection and then regain connection at a lower speed so when you say 1.72mbps that's not a good thing.

If all else fails try amobia satellite internet

Masataka

The general ADSL checker tells you what your area/your house is capable of, not what you're currently syncing at or signed up for.

If you're paying for a 6Mbps package then you're getting ripped off in a big way. Firstly, are you using a bundled service with Mweb where your line is included, or is your line still with Telkom? Whoever it's with, contact them and find out what's possible, then change the package accordingly.

Masataka

Actually it does those first two things, just not the 3rd.
Oh yea, I forgot that it does actually show your current speed and max possible speed, just not what your specific line is capable of (taking into account attenuation and noise).