• You are not registered on MyBroadband, which means you miss out on great benefits. To join our community is very easy, and completely free. Register now.
  • New Two-Day Giveaway - Enter Here

Telkom ADSL, issues after 7pm most nights

Belix

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2007
Messages
226
#1
I have been referred to the huge telkom ADSL topic, but i cannot see what I am looking for.
What causes my ADSL connection to go wonky after 7pm most nights?

For example, I can access my broadband no problem, but type in google - server not found
Open speedtest.net, sometimes fine, speeds report fine 8mbps up, .89mbps down. 5 minutes later, server not found.
Try search on google. Server not found. After 7pm it's nearly impossible to use google.
Open secure.telkom.co.za. It loads, click on login, server not found.

It's REALLY irritating not having a search engine!

Tracert to google.co.za, www.bing.com, www.telkom.co.za; all - Unable to resolve target system name

tracert www.speedtest.net
Tracing route to zd.map.fastly.net [151.101.174.219]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 10.10.10.1
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 21 ms 18 ms 19 ms 105-187-232-57.telkomsa.net [105.187.232.57]
4 19 ms 19 ms 18 ms 105.224.0.162
5 19 ms 20 ms 18 ms ipc-aggr-1.north.telkomsa.net [105.224.0.13]
6 21 ms 19 ms 20 ms jb1.telkomsa.net [105.187.252.102]
7 20 ms 20 ms 20 ms 196.60.8.13
8 19 ms 19 ms 19 ms 151.101.174.219

The nest day it's fine again the whole day until about around 7pm...
Telkom support's suggestions seem to be - restart the modem, and we'll reset the port.
 

David101

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2012
Messages
100
#2
Have exactly the same issue!. Just posted on twatter..again, and although the guys are nice, as you say...restart and ports reset..we dont see anything wrong
 

alexandergrahambell

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2013
Messages
100
#3
I have exactly the same problem, but I have 10mbps fibre from Openserve! It's actually worse than the ADSL I had which usually used to respond to a router restart.
 

ichigo

Executive Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2006
Messages
9,175
#5
Same issue and on 10 meg fibre and it is actually quite annoying that I can't use half my favourite sites.
 

ichigo

Executive Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2006
Messages
9,175
#6
Tried my Axxess free account and works fine so it's the telkom accounts which are the issue.
 

David101

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2012
Messages
100
#7
So after another twitter complaint the answer was......
Hi there line is currently connected please reboot router test and advise thank you ^Fred
 

ichigo

Executive Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2006
Messages
9,175
#8
So after another twitter complaint the answer was......
Hi there line is currently connected please reboot router test and advise thank you ^Fred
I tried rebooting the one night 3 times and still no luck then after 11 pm then suddenly everything worked.
 

alexandergrahambell

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2013
Messages
100
#9
I tried rebooting the one night 3 times and still no luck then after 11 pm then suddenly everything worked.
Telkom “refreshed” my port. For the past three evenings my line has been fine. The consultant did warn me though that the exchange is congested and that may be causing the problem. So far so good, but who knows for how long?
 

ichigo

Executive Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2006
Messages
9,175
#10
Telkom “refreshed” my port. For the past three evenings my line has been fine. The consultant did warn me though that the exchange is congested and that may be causing the problem. So far so good, but who knows for how long?
Well my line has been fine the past few days so don't think it has to do with anything they did and my exchange isn't congested here so definitely an account issue.
 

victsangu

New Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2018
Messages
4
#12
Hi I am also experiencing the same issue on my 10MBPS ADSL Line. Given the fact that i do not use the line during the day and when i come from work i cant enjoy my shows on Netflix is such and annoying thing
 

victsangu

New Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2018
Messages
4
#14
i have the same issue with my 10Mbps ADSL, please assist me what i need to tell them to resolve, on another note i work for an ISP and have a uncapped bandwidth but with limited usage of 300GB. I have a seperate router which was working fine but it looks like Telkom is playing games on me.... it works fine for 5min and disconnects internet. I am paying them for the line and data and i have no problem, but why are they blocking me.
please help, private message is welcome
 

David101

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2012
Messages
100
#15
Well my line has been fine the past few days so don't think it has to do with anything they did and my exchange isn't congested here so definitely an account issue.
What could an "account" problem then be? I must also then have had one!
 
Top