The PC Build Thread

Neoprod

Honorary Master
Joined
May 21, 2004
Messages
16,905
Hi guys

I have settled on a new build, would just feel more comfortable if someone had a look over it. I am uncertain of the ram and psu. Unfortunately for now I need wifi hence the motherboard. 3600 and case I am 100% sure of.

I intend to use this with my RX580 for now until the 5700xt aib boards are available or my patience runs out and I settle for the blower. I have a 1440p/144 monitor (I know I wont max games on that but I am happy to play AAA games at around 60fps). Edit: will carry over ssd and hd from my old build as well.

Thanks in advance

View attachment 690329
The build is fine...for me, I would swap out the board and get a WiFi adapter + Tomahawk. Save a few hundred bucks that way.
 

hermansteyn

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2007
Messages
278
Then within a few months you sell it because something has come up and you urgently need money.....
Spend only what you can afford, so no need to worry. This is a PC build thread so will stick to the topic and not comment on these anymore :)
 

rambo919

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2008
Messages
4,597
Yes ignore me.... originally it was just a bad joke anyway..... sheesh.... guilty consciounces? (that word looks terrible when typed out....)
 

ponder

Honorary Master
Joined
Jan 22, 2005
Messages
76,939
In all honesty you don't need a R2600 B450 motherboard either? I mean are you going to push this thing to it's ultimate limit?
To add there is not much of a limit to push here, the overclocking potential of the 3x00 series is minute and not even the most expensive X570 mb is going to help.

One could buy the cheapest b350 or b450 mb, flash the bios, drop in a 3600 and OC it to 3600x level or slightly above with zero concerns of stability or vrms overheating etc
 

weelzSA

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2009
Messages
3,116
So finally heard back from EK about my CPU waterblock that doesn't work with RGB headers on MB and was told to speak to MSI. Messaged them and they said to make sure it's 12v. All this time I thought it was as it is 4pin but after seeing this (see attached) it might be 5v so does that mean there is no way to get it to work with my MB (I have a commander pro too but apparently that only works with Corsair products). I have also ordered the 4 way splitter from EK which allows all RGB to connect to single header.

Will double check the wires when I get home but as far as I can remember I do have "D" version.

Any advice would be great or is there nothing that can be done?
 

ponder

Honorary Master
Joined
Jan 22, 2005
Messages
76,939
So finally heard back from EK about my CPU waterblock that doesn't work with RGB headers on MB and was told to speak to MSI. Messaged them and they said to make sure it's 12v. All this time I thought it was as it is 4pin but after seeing this (see attached) it might be 5v so does that mean there is no way to get it to work with my MB (I have a commander pro too but apparently that only works with Corsair products). I have also ordered the 4 way splitter from EK which allows all RGB to connect to single header.

Will double check the wires when I get home but as far as I can remember I do have "D" version.

Any advice would be great or is there nothing that can be done?
Short of using a standalone controller I think you are out of luck as the entire interface is different, it's not a simple 5v/12v thing.

D-RGB:
5V, digital signal, no connection, ground

RGB:
12v, green, red, blue

If they have non-digital versions of those products as that manual page seems to indicate you should have ordered those or try and exchange what you currently have.

The other day there was someone here that purchased rgb fans that did not work, unfortunately rgb comes in different forms so it's important to triple check the standard and interfaces between parts. Even within a manufacturers trade name like mystic light etc there are different 'standards'.
 

Lupus

Honorary Master
Joined
Apr 25, 2006
Messages
16,173
So cheap mechanical keyboard. Was R199 at Takealot now R400???
It definitely feels a lot better than the memchanical Redragon Dyaus I got earlier. Only thing is it's not RGB but rainbow only. Also the fonts on the keys on both the Dyaus and this are a bit odd, difference is on the Marvo I can get new key capsIMG_20190802_182545.jpeg
 

Lupus

Honorary Master
Joined
Apr 25, 2006
Messages
16,173
So cheap mechanical keyboard. Was R199 at Takealot now R400???
It definitely feels a lot better than the memchanical Redragon Dyaus I got earlier. Only thing is it's not RGB but rainbow only. Also the fonts on the keys on both the Dyaus and this are a bit odd, difference is on the Marvo I can get new key capsView attachment 692169
Oh here is the key which wouldn't attach.IMG_20190802_183212.jpeg
 

Splinter

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 14, 2011
Messages
20,059
Long time since I've built anything of substance. I'm hoping to it will be better than my current E8300, 760GTX setup.

RYZEN 9 3900x
MSI MEG ACE X570
16 GB Corsair Vengenace 3200
Phanteks Evolve X
2 x Sabrent Rokcet 1TB nvme's
Corsair HX1000i PSU
LG UK600
GPU (waiting for 2080 super pricing)
Any pics of your build yet?
 

PAYBACK

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2003
Messages
1,034
Any pics of your build yet?
Chipped away at it over weekend. Just waiting for NVMe’s to come in from Amazon tomorrow. Far from glamor shot but it gives you an idea.

CPU is loaner 3600x from Evetech will drop in 3900x with Cooler master AIO when that arrives.

Once complete will take some decent pictures.


 
Last edited:

PAYBACK

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2003
Messages
1,034
Question. Have one PCie power cable daisy chained at end (8x2) supplying power to GPU, do you think I will have voltage issues. PSU is HX1000i, all the cables I got had daisy chained ends. My OCD will in the end and I will end up getting two x 8 pin cables, but for now it is what it is.
 

BloodrayneZA

Expert Member
Joined
May 31, 2011
Messages
3,645
SO I've decided to go for the full replacement of everything in my PC. Can you advise on the following I've selected?
AMD Ryzen 5 3600 Gen3 6 Core AM4 CPU/Processor with Wraith Stealth Cooler
https://www.scan.co.uk/products/amd-ryzen-5-3600-am4-zen-2-6-core-12-thread-36ghz-42ghz-turbo-32mb-l3-pcie-40-65w-cpu-pluswraith-ste

MSI AMD Ryzen B450 TOMAHAWK AM4 ATX Motherboard https://www.scan.co.uk/products/msi-b450-tomahawk-amd-b450-s-am4-ddr4-sata3-m2-2-way-crossfire-realtek-gbe-usb-31-gen2-aplusc-atx

Corsair 16GB DDR4 Vengeance LPX 3200MHz Memory Kit for Skylake
https://www.scan.co.uk/products/16gb-(2x8gb)-corsair-ddr4-vengeance-lpx-black-pc4-25600-(3200)-non-ecc-unbuffered-cas-16-18-18-36-xm

Corsair Force LE200 120GB 2.5" SATA3 SSD/Solid State Drive
https://www.scan.co.uk/products/120gb-corsair-force-series-le200-ssd-tlc-nand-sata-iii-6gb-s-550mb-s-read-470mb-s-write-65k-25k-iops

Seagate Backup Plus Portable 4TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive Silver + 200GB Cloud Storage
https://www.scan.co.uk/products/4tb-seagate-stdr4000900-backup-plus-portable-external-usb30-hdd-silver-includes-2-years-200gb-of-clo

Acer 24" G246HLF Gaming Spec Monitor Full HD 1ms
https://www.scan.co.uk/products/24-acer-g246hlf-gaming-monitor-1920x1080-1ms-250cd-m2-100m1-hdmi-dvi-vga

GameMax Strike Outemu Red Mechanical RGB USB Gaming Keyboard
https://www.scan.co.uk/products/gamemax-strike-rgb-mechanical-gaming-keyboard-rgb-individually-lit-outemu-red-switches-usb-20-black

CHERRY Black MW 3000 Wireless USB PC Mouse
https://www.scan.co.uk/products/cherry-mw-3000-wireless-mouse-infrared-sensor-5-button-adjustable-on-off-button-black

MSI AMD Radeon RX 570 8GB ARMOR OC Graphics Card https://www.scan.co.uk/products/8gb-msi-radeon-rx-570-armor-oc-14nm-polaris-2048-streams-1268mhz-gpu-gddr5-3xdp-hdmi-dvi-d
I am not sure about the graphics card - please advise.
 

UrBaN963

Honorary Master
Joined
Jul 27, 2016
Messages
11,056
Where are you buying from and what do you want to do with the PC? Also, budget?

That GPU is okay but if you can stretch you'd be far better off with an RX580.

They're currently on special at Evetech for R2,999.00
https://www.evetech.co.za/gigabyte-radeon-rx-580-gaming-8gb-mi/best-deal/5691.aspx

I'd also suggest a larger SSD if you can. That way things that you need to load fast (some games have long load times, for example) you can install on thhe SSD. It makes quite a difference. Any reason you want an external storage drive?
 
Last edited:

UrBaN963

Honorary Master
Joined
Jul 27, 2016
Messages
11,056
Have a look at this.

It has faster RAM, a case and a power supply which you may or may not need, butu here's an idea of a good build.

Obviously changes can be made but if you're buying locally this would be a decent option.

bloodrayne.PNG
 

Lupus

Honorary Master
Joined
Apr 25, 2006
Messages
16,173
Have a look at this.

It has faster RAM, a case and a power supply which you may or may not need, butu here's an idea of a good build.

Obviously changes can be made but if you're buying locally this would be a decent option.

View attachment 693317
She's in the UK so locally for her is what she listed. Agreed she should rather look at 580 or 590.
 
Top