VDSL Upgrade

DanyaalShah

Hello guys

I've had VDSL for a while now. I'm on a 20mb line and I was considering upgrading to a 40mb (no fibre in my area unfortunately so this is the best option)
Can you guys check my stats and tell me if it would be good enough to handle a 40mb and what speeds would I likely be getting?
Any help would be appreciated folks! Thanks.

Screenshot (21).png

cavedog

Honorary Master
I am a bit of a noob when it comes to all this. I have internet through Telkom so will I also get an upgrade?

I believe that Mybroadband did write an article about it. Openserve confirms free upgrades I think is the article name.

bwana

MyBroadband
Super Moderator
I borrowed a router from a friend and I'm really not sure how to interpret these... is 20mb the best I'm going to get?

Screen Shot 2021-02-12 at 14.32.58.png

Totempole

Expert Member
I borrowed a router from a friend and I'm really not sure how to interpret these... is 20mb the best I'm going to get?

View attachment 1019274
My best guess would be that you're running in Fast Path mode instead of Interleaved. Slightly lower upload and download speeds, but significantly better latency.

If I'm reading your stats correctly It looks like you should easily be able to get 40Mb VDSL.

I can't figure out why there's more than one figure for each stat though (D1; D2; U1 U2; U3 etc).

bwana

MyBroadband
Super Moderator
My best guess would be that you're running in Fast Path mode instead of Interleaved. Slightly lower upload and download speeds, but significantly better latency.

If I'm reading your stats correctly It looks like you should easily be able to get 40Mb VDSL.

I can't figure out why there's more than one figure for each stat though (D1; D2; U1 U2; U3 etc).
Thanks - appreciate the assessment. I'm really unfamiliar with this hardware :eek:

Totempole

Expert Member
Thank you wonderful people for all the help! I’ll just wait for the free upgrade. Saved me some coin haha