Which ADSL router...?

HavocXphere

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
33,156
Usually you get the router as part of the package if you go for a DSL complete package. Some ISP (e.g. WebAfrica) allow you to pay an additional amount (R200) to upgrade the router that is included to a better one with wireless etc.

I've got a D-Link 2640U. I like it.
 

Friggs

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2005
Messages
487
I'd recommend looking at the Netgear DG834G, very good ADSL2+ modem with 4 ethernet ports and wireless.
 

.Froot.

Executive Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2007
Messages
9,261
Whats the point of an ADSL 2+ modem in SA?

Because one day when all the useless things are out of South Africa we will finally (hopefully) have ADSL 2+

Useless things: useless cables, useless monopoly companies, etc
 

Just_Ice

Executive Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2008
Messages
7,571
Because one day when all the useless things are out of South Africa we will finally (hopefully) have ADSL 2+

Useless things: useless cables, useless monopoly companies, etc
Not gonna happen in our life time!
@ dequadin: Dont waste money on a adsl 2+ modem.
 

Just_Ice

Executive Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2008
Messages
7,571
Yeah all are pretty much the same. No extra features in general on one that arent on another
 

wcoetzee

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2007
Messages
1,792
Thanks guys, had a quick look at the Netgear DG834G, looks pretty leet and < R 1000 :p, my searches for a Billion 7300 say it doesn't have wireless which I need!

By no response to my comment: "Are there any feature's I should be looking out for?" does this mean they are mostly the same, mostly?

Thanks guys!

the Billion BiPAC 7300G has wireless
 

wcoetzee

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2007
Messages
1,792
if you get a cybersmart one price adsl account you get one free, i got one last year. pay R200 something extra and get the wireless one, well that was than
you should call them and inquire first
 

Ghost02

Expert Member
Joined
May 16, 2008
Messages
3,452
This might be a dumb question (probably is) but can a ADSL modem act as a type of hub to connect to pc's like lan would do ?
 
Top