All things Shelly

Timbo82

New Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2021
Messages
3
ahh makes sense why the mailbox is not being replied to. pity they were selling the Dimmers last last year. will have to wait for certification i guess
 

FHTheron

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2005
Messages
900
I assume that everyone here hunts on Carbonite as well, but just in case, I have a bunch of Shelly Vintage A60s that I want to sell. (Imported)
 

tRoN

Executive Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
6,396
If there is no neutral at the light switch can shelley be installed at the light fitting in the ceiling ?
 

carnagelan

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2015
Messages
319
Has anyone flashed a shelly motion with Tasmoto? Is it compatible with HA? I need to purchase a few.
 

ebendl

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2004
Messages
4,228
Has anyone flashed a shelly motion with Tasmoto? Is it compatible with HA? I need to purchase a few.
I don't see them here: https://templates.blakadder.com/

Also, I see they use a different Wifi chip, so I doubt it will support Tasmota.

Shelly Motion sensor to feature Silicon Labs WiFi chip with Bluetooth-like power consumption (cnx-software.com)

EDIT: Then again, if it supports MQTT then you should still be able to use it with Home Assistant. And indeed, it looks like Home Assistant supports it: Shelly - Home Assistant (home-assistant.io)
 

Tinuva

The Magician
Joined
Feb 10, 2005
Messages
10,000
Tasmota is a pain to keep on the latest firmware. With Shelly firmware so much easier. I would keep it on Shelly firmware if possible.
 

ebendl

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2004
Messages
4,228
Tasmota is a pain to keep on the latest firmware. With Shelly firmware so much easier. I would keep it on Shelly firmware if possible.

No need to update Tasmota if nothing breaks. Basically install and forget.

I found Tasmota better with spotty wifi - had Shelly's in the light sockets reconnect a couple of time until they no longer did, at which point I had to turn the DB on/off to get them back online.

Flashed tasmota on all of them and no issues since.
 

FHTheron

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2005
Messages
900
Has anyone flashed a shelly motion with Tasmoto? Is it compatible with HA? I need to purchase a few.
I bought two Motions. It's definitely early days for this new wifi chip they're using and I would recommend waiting a bit.

Both of mine are set to MQTT only, no CoIot, no Cloud, no Auto Timezone. For a while it seemed like they suffer from heavy packet delays. Not quite dropped, just 2 second response times. With MQTT QoS=2 this would result in a very slow event report. I'm waiting for a firmware update to see what changes. Until then, these are definitely designed to be low power low data devices. Expecting them to always respond like a high-availability server isn't right.

They still do what they should though, but they don't feel as solid as other Shelly products.
 

carnagelan

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2015
Messages
319
I bought two Motions. It's definitely early days for this new wifi chip they're using and I would recommend waiting a bit.

Both of mine are set to MQTT only, no CoIot, no Cloud, no Auto Timezone. For a while it seemed like they suffer from heavy packet delays. Not quite dropped, just 2 second response times. With MQTT QoS=2 this would result in a very slow event report. I'm waiting for a firmware update to see what changes. Until then, these are definitely designed to be low power low data devices. Expecting them to always respond like a high-availability server isn't right.

They still do what they should though, but they don't feel as solid as other Shelly products.
I dont have b
I bought two Motions. It's definitely early days for this new wifi chip they're using and I would recommend waiting a bit.

Both of mine are set to MQTT only, no CoIot, no Cloud, no Auto Timezone. For a while it seemed like they suffer from heavy packet delays. Not quite dropped, just 2 second response times. With MQTT QoS=2 this would result in a very slow event report. I'm waiting for a firmware update to see what changes. Until then, these are definitely designed to be low power low data devices. Expecting them to always respond like a high-availability server isn't right.

They still do what they should though, but they don't feel as solid as other Shelly products.
What do you think will be better?
The Sonoff or Shelly as i am going to have a buzzer inside the house. When there is motion it Will activate the buzzer.

Im not sure which will be better. I know how to set this all up.
 

FHTheron

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2005
Messages
900
What do you think will be better?
No idea. I can only say that the Shelly Motion needs to improve a bit and it's pretty expensive. I like it, but even without import duties and taxes, it's already ~R580 where the Sonoff Zigbee sensor seems to be locally available at ~R320 (not sure if you need a hub, I assume so).
 

carnagelan

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2015
Messages
319
No idea. I can only say that the Shelly Motion needs to improve a bit and it's pretty expensive. I like it, but even without import duties and taxes, it's already ~R580 where the Sonoff Zigbee sensor seems to be locally available at ~R320 (not sure if you need a hub, I assume so).
with the Sonoff Zigbee you do need a hub
 

Dolby

Honorary Master
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
27,954
No idea. I can only say that the Shelly Motion needs to improve a bit and it's pretty expensive

I haven't got one of these - but it seems to offer a bit more than just motion?

Can you use the lux sensor independently of motion ?
In other words, when light in under x threshold, then switch on ramp ?
 

FHTheron

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2005
Messages
900
I haven't got one of these - but it seems to offer a bit more than just motion?

Can you use the lux sensor independently of motion ?
In other words, when light in under x threshold, then switch on ramp ?
You can see what sort of settings and actions you can configure here: https://shelly-api-docs.shelly.cloud/#shelly-motion

It does not have any triggers on lux changes, only on motion. Even so, if you watch the web page of the device the lux value only updates "some" time after the light changed. I've seen 30 seconds and 3.5 minutes now. The lux value is definitely meant to be used for a slow sunlight type change. This means the only way to detect a lux change as soon as the device does is to poll the /status API. This would of course be bad for battery life.

Really hoping for some vastly improved firmware soon. At the launch they even mentioned earth quake detection (right now it only has a tamper alarm).

So despite it's weird network issues, if you only look at it from a less savvy end user perspective it works as advertised since the shortest period for motion reports is 1 minute.
 

mjwitter

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 13, 2008
Messages
191
Morning everyone,

I have ordered a few Shelly 1PM's to go into plugs in my new house (control pool pump, monitor power usage of certain appliances etc). Over time and as they get certified I'd like to add some more and the 2.5PM's etc to light switches and other plugs.

To be 100% above board, does this require an electrician to do the work and give a supplemental electrical COC?

Thanks for any feedback.
 

ebendl

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2004
Messages
4,228
Morning everyone,

I have ordered a few Shelly 1PM's to go into plugs in my new house (control pool pump, monitor power usage of certain appliances etc). Over time and as they get certified I'd like to add some more and the 2.5PM's etc to light switches and other plugs.

To be 100% above board, does this require an electrician to do the work and give a supplemental electrical COC?

Thanks for any feedback.
I think you are supposed to. That's why I tend to favour power monitoring plugs, designed to plug into a wall socket and give the same capabilities.
 
Top