FNB Fee Saver - Is it really worth it?

D_Man

FNB offers a Fee-Saver option where you need to keep a minimum balance of 9k to qualify for no monthly banking charges.

I am a freelancer with a few months salary available for backup, I need immediate access to my funds. Would this be worthwhile to save a load on banking fees... The return is much better than any other savings account with immediate access, or am I missing the point?

D_Man

Well I did have a look at them, by far the best - 4.40% interest, but still no-where near the 85-100 bucks Ill end up saving on those crazy fees p/m

AlmightyBender

Executive Member
To maximize your savings here you should keep R9000 and that only in the FNB account. The rest you can put in a Capitec account to earn up to 4.6% interest

cbrunsdonza

Honorary Master
Well I did have a look at them, by far the best - 4.40% interest, but still no-where near the 85-100 bucks Ill end up saving on those crazy fees p/m
The most I ever paid in one month with Capitec was R70 in bank fees, that was before the R30 interest I got and this is a bank account that basically money goes out a few days after it comes in. Most months my bank fees are under R40 excluding interest.

My FNB cheque account costs me R100 per month (I took it out for my bond) and I'm now considering closing it.

Just remember that if your balance drops below R8K any time of the month, you get charged the full month's fee and the service charges.

Your money, not mine, so you decide.

hedgehog

I have Fee-Saver on a Platinum account.

The way I look at it, If I had the Unlimited Pricing plan, I'd have to pay R135 * 12 = R1620 per year.
That means I'd have to invest the R9000 somewhere else at 18% for me to break even.

Debeer165

Expert Member