Forcing Google Services to local (RSA) IP address

Catal

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2008
Messages
394
It seems that if you try to watch a YouTube video and it gives you the "An error occurred please try later" message, then you need only refresh the page :)

It gives an error if the video is not cached locally, but on your first attempt (where v*.nonxt*.c.youtube.com cannot be accessed) it initiates the local caching and then it should download the video from a x.lscachex.c.youtube.com on the second try. It also works with higher quality videos like 720p, just refresh after your first attempt. Most popular videos however are usually cached so it will work on the first try.

This way it seems that Youtube is fully accessible on local bandwidth, at least with my TelkomDo1 account.
 

bratwurst

Expert Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2008
Messages
3,919
Also, I never use the www. prefix. So you need to add it like this if you do not type www.
Code:
# Google Searching
196.23.168.147 www.google.co.za
196.23.168.147 google.co.za
196.23.168.147 www.l.google.com
196.23.168.147 www.google.com
196.23.168.147 google.com
 

kaisterkai

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2009
Messages
2,142
Sori guys, but I can't seem to get my gmail to work...

Google search works fine.. but just can't click the search link... anyway..

Could someone just help me?

I just copied :

# Google Searching
196.23.168.147 www.google.co.za
196.23.168.147 www.l.google.com
196.23.168.147 www.google.com

# Gmail and chat withing Gmail
196.23.168.147 mail.google.com
196.23.168.147 chatenabled.mail.google.com

# Google Code & Pada's Traffic Splitter Google Code address
196.23.168.147 code.google.com
196.23.168.147 traffic-splitter.googlecode.com

# Google Earth
196.23.168.147 kh.google.com
196.23.168.147 kh.l.google.com
196.23.168.147 csi.gstatic.com
196.23.168.147 csi.l.google.com
196.23.168.147 mw1.google.com
196.23.168.147 mw2.google.com
196.23.168.147 mw-small.l.google.com
196.23.168.147 mw-medium.l.google.com

To the host notepad... but gmail still isn't connecting..
 

Pada

Executive Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
8,171
kaisterkai, could you provide us with the URL that you're trying to access Gmail with? Like http://mail.google.com/
Also do a ping to that address and post the IP address that it resolved to here.
eg. ping mail.google.com
Should output something like 'Pinging mail.google.com [196.23.168.147]' where 196.23.168.147 is the IP address.

Also tell us which browser you're using. It could be that you're using Internet Explorer and IE is preventing you from accessing Gmail due to an invalid certificate!?
 

Yuu

Executive Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2006
Messages
5,014
Hi Pada & Kaisterkai :),

Maybe this can help, i noticed i was having issues using Firefox but when accessing the Gmail using internet explorer 8 it opened almost immediately, however i cannot narrow down as yet why it is like this but try using IE. I believe he is setup correct but if using Firefox it maybe having an issue however i will continue to monitor and test my side.

There will be cases where Firefox users won't have a problem connecting (invalid certificate can be the issue here).

keep us posted Kaisterkai

Edit:

WOW! Catal thanks for that updated list, you and Pada are doing an awesome job, keep it up :)

OMG, youtube and that link of Antoine Dufour (flippin amazing guy), thanks again

Funny how when uncapped internet comes along that we get these goodies for us on local (Telkom etc) :D
 
Last edited:

Tinuva

The Magician
Joined
Feb 10, 2005
Messages
8,723
I think you guys don't need this anymore.

On SAIX:
Code:
tpr-route-server>ping www.google.co.za
Translating "www.google.co.za"...domain server (196.43.1.11) [OK]

Type escape sequence to abort.
Sending 5, 100-byte ICMP Echos to 165.165.38.147, timeout is 2 seconds:
!!!!!
Success rate is 100 percent (5/5), round-trip min/avg/max = 1/2/4 ms

tpr-route-server>traceroute www.google.co.za
Translating "www.google.co.za"...domain server (196.43.1.11) [OK]

Type escape sequence to abort.
Tracing the route to www.l.google.com (165.165.38.147)

  1 tpr-ip-esr-1-fe-1-0-3.telkom-ipnet.co.za (196.25.9.45) 0 msec 0 msec 0 msec
  2 rrba-ip-lir-1-gig-0-0-0.telkom-ipnet.co.za (196.43.8.198) 0 msec 4 msec 0 msec
  3 196.43.26.106 0 msec 4 msec 0 msec
  4  *  *  * 
  5  *  *  *
on WA:
Code:
Tracing route to www.l.google.com [155.232.240.19]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  vl64.cr1.blvd.cpt.za.wa.co.za [10.4.64.1]
  2     1 ms     1 ms     1 ms  vl-blvd.cr.gw.cpt.za.wa.co.za [41.185.0.116]
  3     3 ms     2 ms     2 ms  vl40.er.gw.cpt.za.wa.co.za [41.185.0.98]
  4     2 ms     1 ms     1 ms  tenet.cinx.net.za [198.32.214.33]
  5     1 ms     1 ms     1 ms  gc-cpt-bree-g21-23-19.uni.net.za [155.232.240.19]

Trace complete.

Tracing route to youtube-ui.l.google.com [155.232.240.16]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  vl64.cr1.blvd.cpt.za.wa.co.za [10.4.64.1]
  2     1 ms     1 ms     1 ms  vl-blvd.cr.gw.cpt.za.wa.co.za [41.185.0.116]
  3     2 ms     2 ms     2 ms  vl40.er.gw.cpt.za.wa.co.za [41.185.0.98]
  4     1 ms     3 ms     1 ms  tenet.cinx.net.za [198.32.214.33]
  5     9 ms     1 ms     1 ms  gc-cpt-bree-g21-23-16.uni.net.za [155.232.240.16]

Trace complete.
 
Last edited:

DearHeart

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2005
Messages
1,382
It seems that if you try to watch a YouTube video and it gives you the "An error occurred please try later" message, then you need only refresh the page :)

It gives an error if the video is not cached locally, but on your first attempt (where v*.nonxt*.c.youtube.com cannot be accessed) it initiates the local caching and then it should download the video from a x.lscachex.c.youtube.com on the second try. It also works with higher quality videos like 720p, just refresh after your first attempt. Most popular videos however are usually cached so it will work on the first try.

This way it seems that Youtube is fully accessible on local bandwidth, at least with my TelkomDo1 account.
Can confirm that it worked for me too. BTW, Youtube is working out of the box now on my capped SAIX account:

tracert www.youtube.com

Tracing route to youtube-ui.l.google.com [165.165.38.144]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms sx762.dummy.porta.siemens.net [10.0.0.2]
2 7 ms 7 ms 8 ms dsl-146-208-01.telkomadsl.co.za [165.146.208.1]
3 8 ms 7 ms 7 ms rrba-ip-lir-1-gig-0-0-0.telkom-ipnet.co.za [196.43.8.198]
4 8 ms 8 ms 7 ms 196.43.26.106
5 8 ms 7 ms 7 ms 165.165.38.144

Trace complete.
 
Last edited:

kaisterkai

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2009
Messages
2,142
kaisterkai, could you provide us with the URL that you're trying to access Gmail with? Like http://mail.google.com/
Also do a ping to that address and post the IP address that it resolved to here.
eg. ping mail.google.com
Should output something like 'Pinging mail.google.com [196.23.168.147]' where 196.23.168.147 is the IP address.

Also tell us which browser you're using. It could be that you're using Internet Explorer and IE is preventing you from accessing Gmail due to an invalid certificate!?
I'm using:
http://mail.google.com/mail/

I tried ping, but it says time out..

I'm using google chrome...
 

kaisterkai

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2009
Messages
2,142
Hi Pada & Kaisterkai :),

Maybe this can help, i noticed i was having issues using Firefox but when accessing the Gmail using internet explorer 8 it opened almost immediately, however i cannot narrow down as yet why it is like this but try using IE. I believe he is setup correct but if using Firefox it maybe having an issue however i will continue to monitor and test my side.

There will be cases where Firefox users won't have a problem connecting (invalid certificate can be the issue here).

keep us posted Kaisterkai

Edit:

WOW! Catal thanks for that updated list, you and Pada are doing an awesome job, keep it up :)

OMG, youtube and that link of Antoine Dufour (flippin amazing guy), thanks again

Funny how when uncapped internet comes along that we get these goodies for us on local (Telkom etc) :D
I tried using IE 8.. but it doesn't open, and it takes long and then it says:

internet explorer cannot display the webpage...

I don't have firefox.. Could it be something with my internet connections..
 

Tpex

Teh Cyber Ninja
Joined
Sep 4, 2008
Messages
18,072
I tried using IE 8.. but it doesn't open, and it takes long and then it says:

internet explorer cannot display the webpage...

I don't have firefox.. Could it be something with my internet connections..
kaisterkai nobody is going to help you if you still use the piece of shyte, now install Firefox or Chrome NOW!
 

Pada

Executive Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
8,171
Google Search works fine now without the modification on MWeb Business uncapped, but the other Google Services don't!

Code:
ping 165.165.38.147
PING 165.165.38.147 (165.165.38.147) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 165.165.38.147: icmp_seq=1 ttl=56 time=88.1 ms

ping mail.google.com
PING googlemail.l.google.com (209.85.227.17) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from wy-in-f17.1e100.net (209.85.227.17): icmp_seq=1 ttl=52 time=319 ms
 

kaisterkai

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2009
Messages
2,142
kaisterkai nobody is going to help you if you still use the piece of shyte, now install Firefox or Chrome NOW!
I have Chrome like I said above... IE 8 was just there, so I just tried it while I was on there..
 

Tinuva

The Magician
Joined
Feb 10, 2005
Messages
8,723
gmail is the only thing that ive noticed not going to local automatically. though that will also come, be patient :)
 

kaisterkai

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2009
Messages
2,142
Well i wait, but it says:


Oops! Google Chrome could not connect to mail.google.com
Did you mean: www. gmail. google. com/ mail
Additional suggestions:
Try reloading: mail. google. com/ mail/
Go to google. com
Search on Google:


And weridly, my facebook goes on to logging screen, but it doesn't let me log on.. (Error after pressing enter... )
 

Pada

Executive Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
8,171
Tinuva, could you perhaps give the DNS server's IP address that you're using and the ISP package?

I'm not sure what the ISP's are doing, but I have like 80ms to www.google.com (when using the 155.232.240.19 IP address) and like 10ms to mail.google.com (when using 64.233.179.83 IP address) << When I'm using Stellenbosch University's proxy servers and Internet.
A friend of mine had 1 - 2ms response time to www.google.com from the MediaLab's connection, which is also at Stellenbosch University.

Update: kaisterkai, I have no idea what you're doing but you're definitely doing something wrong if you're the only one where this modification isn't working! When you ping one of those hostnames of the Google services, it should resolve to the local IP address. Perhaps you should provide us with your ISP package that you're using and also with the results of when you're trying to ping like mail.google.com, www.google.com, etc.
 
Last edited:

Tinuva

The Magician
Joined
Feb 10, 2005
Messages
8,723
Using the normal web africa dns servers. The 165. ip thats reported by the SAIX looking glass, have no idea which dns server it is using but I'd assume any SAIX DNS server for that.
 

Tpex

Teh Cyber Ninja
Joined
Sep 4, 2008
Messages
18,072
can't connect with gmail on a local account (capped telkom 3gb) Firefox :confused:
 
Top