Google drive mounted in Windows/Linux

Joined
May 9, 2012
Messages
7,885
After yet another total media loss, dual drive failure on software RAID 5, I decided enough is enough and time to do it properly. Unlike the rest of you plebs, jk jk, I'm actually paying for the 6 users because I use G-suite for my business and you can't just upgrade a single user.

I did the rclone route but it was kludgy for me, decided instead to use Drive File Stream(https://support.google.com/a/answer/7491144?hl=en), MUCH simpler, install, log in, done. There are "reports" on forums that the upload is slower than rclone but I haven't found this to be the case, pins my upload speed at full, well actually more than full: https://mybroadband.co.za/forum/threads/afrihost-pure-fibre-feedback-thread.1037731/post-24277990

Can do some regedits to customise it a bit that are a big help: https://support.google.com/a/answer/7644837

Afrihost are however going to hate me...
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
14,917
Found another limit.


View attachment 724838
Yeah that limit has been there since the start. 750GB max upload per day. Unlimited or FUP of 10TB download per day (usually only applies to external sharing) and then the 400k files/folders limit. That limit applies per shared drive and not to the main drive and Gsuite owners can create unlimited shared drives so yeah still unlimited. 400k limit is still pretty reasonable. Maybe not for photography but still pretty decent.

After yet another total media loss, dual drive failure on software RAID 5, I decided enough is enough and time to do it properly. Unlike the rest of you plebs, jk jk, I'm actually paying for the 6 users because I use G-suite for my business and you can't just upgrade a single user.

I did the rclone route but it was kludgy for me, decided instead to use Drive File Stream(https://support.google.com/a/answer/7491144?hl=en), MUCH simpler, install, log in, done. There are "reports" on forums that the upload is slower than rclone but I haven't found this to be the case, pins my upload speed at full, well actually more than full: https://mybroadband.co.za/forum/threads/afrihost-pure-fibre-feedback-thread.1037731/post-24277990

Can do some regedits to customise it a bit that are a big help: https://support.google.com/a/answer/7644837

Afrihost are however going to hate me...
Wow nice how did you get 100Mbps on Openserve. I won't complain if I were you because it's supposed to be 50Mbps.

Yeah well Google will probably live forever and even if you miss a payment they give you more than 30 days to rectify. If you want to share files between your personal fmail account and the company drive create a shared/team drive and add all the email accounts that you want to have access to the drive. IF you want you could also create shared drives for family members and add them. You can remove yourself from the shared drive leaving them as the only user if they want personal space.

Ohh and yeah Google will pretty much max anything especially if you are in JHB or PTA because the Google CDN is in JHB and it's just ~4ms away. We are so lucky because most Americans don't even get 4ms to google depends obviously on area but still if you are in JHB and PTA and on fibre using google drive is epic.
 
Last edited:

sand_man

Honorary Master
Joined
Jun 4, 2005
Messages
29,002
SO I killed Plex about 3 weeks ago but I'm still seeing heavy download stats for rclone.exe between 2am-6am? I'm perplexed as to what it could be doing?!

Any ideas?
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
14,917
SO I killed Plex about 3 weeks ago but I'm still seeing heavy download stats for rclone.exe between 2am-6am? I'm perplexed as to what it could be doing?!

Any ideas?
After I killed plex and installed emby my stats are normal. In fact my whole download stats per day usually does not exceed 30gb unless I update or download games.
 

sand_man

Honorary Master
Joined
Jun 4, 2005
Messages
29,002
It's so weird man!! I don't understand it...

Obviously, when the family is watching series stored on the x drive that is going to reflect as downloaded content but we never consuming content at 2am. I have Sonarr pulling my series so that too if going to reflect as traffic but upload traffic once the content is downloaded and directed to the folder residing on the x drive... and that happens when it happens, not specifically at 2am-6am...
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
14,917
It's so weird man!! I don't understand it...

Obviously, when the family is watching series stored on the x drive that is going to reflect as downloaded content but we never consuming content at 2am. I have Sonarr pulling my series so that too if going to reflect as traffic but upload traffic once the content is downloaded and directed to the folder residing on the x drive... and that happens when it happens, not specifically at 2am-6am...
Well it's something using the mounted drive. You can try to change the drive letter and see whatever is using the data will stop. Maybe windows search and index?
 

sand_man

Honorary Master
Joined
Jun 4, 2005
Messages
29,002
30gb's every day 2am-6am... it's perplexing and a little irritating...
 

ItherNiT

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
431
30gb's every day 2am-6am... it's perplexing and a little irritating...
Did you set your cache to expire every 24h?

On a side note have any of you tried PGBlitz yet? Its really amazing it uses docker and containers to setup rclone, plexdrive (read only version of storage), plex, emby/jellyfin, sonarr, etc., you can even use cloudflare CDN to run plex (when ever they start peering in SA again)
 

sand_man

Honorary Master
Joined
Jun 4, 2005
Messages
29,002
Did you set your cache to expire every 24h?
Don't think so. I assume if I did that could account for the activity between 2am-5am? Where would I check cache settings?738161
 
Last edited:

under_sky

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2013
Messages
1,209
Just Gdrive, I followed @cavedog tut to the letter...

https://www.reddit.com/r/DataHoarder/comments/bmmhlj
Well, let me rephrase that, is Grive>Cache>Crypt in the setup instructions? I did nothing other than what was outlined in the setup instructions...
Just rather use Plexblitz i think they use to call it plexguide or something i have done that whole setup etc and then you can get around the 750GB limit as you use service accounts etc. Currently sitting with a library that is in excess of 30TB. Works like a charm for me only thing is it runs on linux.

738393
 

ItherNiT

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
431
Just Gdrive, I followed @cavedog tut to the letter...

https://www.reddit.com/r/DataHoarder/comments/bmmhlj
Well, let me rephrase that, is Grive>Cache>Crypt in the setup instructions? I did nothing other than what was outlined in the setup instructions...
Yeah not sure then. I'm used the gdrive>cache>crypt method before I used pgblitz. Can highly recommend pgblitz, it also uses rclone with an amazing cache and app integration.
 

thehuman

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2004
Messages
2,550
My mount died a while ago , check rclone conf file it wass filled with null's
 

sand_man

Honorary Master
Joined
Jun 4, 2005
Messages
29,002
After I killed plex and installed emby my stats are normal. In fact my whole download stats per day usually does not exceed 30gb unless I update or download games.
My Emby theatre suddenly isn't recognizing my premiere subscription. I'm getting the one minute limited playback. Web interface works perfectly.

Tested on 2 machines both running Windows 10... @cavedog you experiencing any issues today?

Emby app working normally on Android and iOS...
 
Top