HUAWEI B618 LTE-A router discussion thread.

MavChat

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2006
Messages
1,212
Has anyone tried to use the B618 as an access point?

I have two B618 routers (I stuffed up an antenna port on the one) but otherwise still working 100%.
I would like to connect the two with a network cable +-30m away.
I saw on Youtube there are options to convert routers to access points this way.

What would this entail?
Please advise on connections and settings.
Yes, just run a CAT5 cable between the 2. On the secondary one set the Ethernet setting to Dynamic IP or Static IP and give it an IP address. When I set mine up I set it to Dynamic and set a static IP allocation on the Pi Zero that is set up with Pi-hole that acts as my dhcp server as well.

The Pi Zero is powered by main routers USB port and connects to it via WiFi.
 

Speedster

Executive Member
Joined
May 2, 2006
Messages
9,669
Yes, just run a CAT5 cable between the 2. On the secondary one set the Ethernet setting to Dynamic IP or Static IP and give it an IP address. When I set mine up I set it to Dynamic and set a static IP allocation on the Pi Zero that is set up with Pi-hole that acts as my dhcp server as well.

The Pi Zero is powered by main routers USB port and connects to it via WiFi.
Make sure to turn DHCP off on one of them too
 

AirWolf

Honorary Master
Joined
Aug 18, 2006
Messages
23,340
OP updated with band info as follows:

Both the 22D and 65D support bands:
1 - FDD 2100 MHz (Cell C, MTN, Vodacom)
3 - FDD 1800MHz (Cell C, MTN, Neotel, Telkom, Vodacom)
7 - FDD 2600MHz (none)
8 - FDD 900MHz (MTN, Vodacom)

The 22D supports the following bands in addition to the common list:
20 - FDD 800MHz (none)
38 - TDD 2600Mhz (Rain)

The 65D supports the following bands in addition to the common list:
5 - FDD 850Mhz (none)
28 - FDD 700MHz (none)
40 - TDD 2300MHz (Telkom)

In addition to the above Vodacom has LTE spectrum in band 255 - 5800MHz (not supported by this router).
So for Telkom 65D is the right choice. All other networks 22D would suffice.
 

Mista_Mobsta

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2015
Messages
1,537
OP updated with band info as follows:

Both the 22D and 65D support bands:
1 - FDD 2100 MHz (Cell C, MTN, Vodacom)
3 - FDD 1800MHz (Cell C, MTN, Neotel, Telkom, Vodacom)
7 - FDD 2600MHz (none)
8 - FDD 900MHz (MTN, Vodacom)

The 22D supports the following bands in addition to the common list:
20 - FDD 800MHz (none)
38 - TDD 2600Mhz (Rain)

The 65D supports the following bands in addition to the common list:
5 - FDD 850Mhz (none)
28 - FDD 700MHz (none)
40 - TDD 2300MHz (Telkom)

In addition to the above Vodacom has LTE spectrum in band 255 - 5800MHz (not supported by this router).
So for Telkom 65D is the right choice. All other networks 22D would suffice.
Small necro :)

Is there no flash utility that could flash the 22D -> 65D? May be a stupid Q, so apologies to the pros on MyBB, but I recently was forced to switch from CellC-> Telkom and am sure I have a 22D. I understand it uses the 1800Mhz but it's not optimal.
 

Speedster

Executive Member
Joined
May 2, 2006
Messages
9,669
Small necro :)

Is there no flash utility that could flash the 22D -> 65D? May be a stupid Q, so apologies to the pros on MyBB, but I recently was forced to switch from CellC-> Telkom and am sure I have a 22D. I understand it uses the 1800Mhz but it's not optimal.
It's a hardware thing, not software
 

hjst45

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2013
Messages
463
Possibly because of the increase in coverage - so people have started using their devices instead of selling them.
And the fact that there are more sim-only options available now. Was also gonna sell mine...
 

system32

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2009
Messages
3,355
HELP - Huawei B618s-22d - auto power on.
How do I configure this to auto power on after load shedding?
I have to press the power button to switch the device on after power loss.
Is there a config option to enable auto power on?
 

AirWolf

Honorary Master
Joined
Aug 18, 2006
Messages
23,340
HELP - Huawei B618s-22d - auto power on.
How do I configure this to auto power on after load shedding?
I have to press the power button to switch the device on after power loss.
Is there a config option to enable auto power on?
Don't know about the auto-power on...

Maybe get one of those Huawei battery packs or UPS to keep it on.
 
Top