Networking cables and switches

brentm

I have been tasked with setting up a network in my area and need to know if this switch can use one of its "4 combo 10/100/1000BASE-T/SFP" ports with normal cat5e networking cable?
Is a 1000BASE-T cable a normal networking cable i run in my home? Cat5e?
It seems this is what it has to connect an up link to other switches and a router?
I plan to buy around 5 of those switches and connect them all together (in a line? one to the next?) and lead them back to a router that will have the internet, what i hope to achieve is a normal network that users can connect to each other and the router though to the internet.
Will this work or am I a total noob?
Sorry if this is a stupid bunch questions :whistling:

Last edited:

ponder

Honorary Master
Seamless Integration
The DGS-1210-16 comes with Ethernet and Gigabit copper ports capable of connecting to existing Cat.5 twisted-pair cables. Additionally, the last four ports of the DGS-1210-16 combine SFP and copper connectivity into one port
Should be fine. You will need a copper/ethernet module though and they ONLY run at Gb/s speeds from what I know. Verify requirements with d-link or the supplier.
http://www.dlink.com/products/?pid=498 dunno why it says 10/100/1000

Connecting them all in series is not the best way of doing things but will work. Rather have a separate gigabit distribution switch all 5 switches connect back to, the distribution switch would connect to the router, servers etc.. So try and find a switch with 8-16 gigabit ports depending on future expansion etc.

You need to supply a bit more info like distances, physical location layout etc.

Last edited:

brentm

Thanks for the reply :)
You will need a copper/ethernet module
Psh and thats that thing? :whistling:
What does it do?
The DGS-712 plugs into any standard SFP interface allowing for 1000Base-T Gigabit transmission over standard Category 5 twisted pair copper.