• You are losing out on amazing benefits because you are not a member. Join for free. Register now.
  • Big Two-Day Giveaway - Win an Amazon Kindle, a Mystery Gadget and Branded Gear. Enter Here.
  • Test your broadband speed and win prizes worth R5,000. Enter here.

Notice on MTN Coverage helpdesk

Insider

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2005
Messages
570
#1
The much awaited dedicated Network Quality and coverage helpdesk has been operational from the 15th of September 2008.

The Helpdesk consists of 9 agents and a 1 supervisor and the desk will operate from 8am to 10pm Monday to Friday and 8 am to 5pm on weekends.

For any MTN Coverage or Quality complaints, please note that all queries must be officially logged with this dedicated Helpdesk for record purposes.

Should a subscriber experience any network problems, please encourage them to contact the MTN Network Quality and Coverage helpdesk who will provide them with an MTN Reference number which can be tracked. The Network Coverage and Quality coordinators will then investigate the matter and if necessary execute a site visit and subsequently propose a legitimate solution. Please note that both the Quality and Coverage help desk agents and the Network Coverage and Quality coordinators are highly skilled and qualified to propose the correct solution for each subscriber's individual needs. Should you wish to log a query on a subscribers’ behalf, the reference number will be issued to you for track and trace purposes. This number must be used for all follow ups, etc.

Please contact the Helpdesk by phone or e-mail.

Phone 083 900 1212
or
Send an email to coverage@mtn.co.za

Please include the following information for email queries:

* Subscriber name:
* Mobile number experiencing the problem:
* Subscriber’s alternate contact number:
* Physical Street Address:
* Suburb:
* City:
* Postal address:
* Is it a voice or data problem?:
* Provide a brief description of the problem experienced:
* When was the problem experienced? (time of day / weather conditions, etc.):
* Where is the problem experienced? (At home /when travelling (provide specifics of roads / intersections, etc)):
* If the problem is experienced in a car, were you using a Bluetooth car kit? (yes / no):
* Is the problem experienced Indoors or Outdoors?
* Make and model of handset / device:
* Any other information:

Please be assured that MTN is committed to solving Network Quality and Coverage problems.
 

ceguy

New Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
2
#2
Good day I just want to know why mtn have such a poor coverage in the (suburb)Sterkspruit (town)Lydenburg ,I have moved from East London to Lydenburg and I use my data card for my business and since I have moved here it has been a real problem even just trying to download an email which takes for ever ,more than 25min for 1mb wont even talk about downloading something from the net max is between 400 &900b/sec , I was told that mtn where upgrading there coverage but that was in the begging of 2007, vodacom coverage is 3g in this area why can mtn give the same seen that I pay for 3g but cant even use it due to your poor coverage . if you can't help me will it help if I buy a high gain antenna kit , and if yes will a 800 - 22000mhz 11dbi lpda help me out till mtn get there act together and give there service to the Lydenburg people which I am sure are quite a few mtn user's

My details are as follows
<details removed>
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Voldemort

Death eater
Joined
Apr 8, 2006
Messages
6,498
#6
Must call the helpdesk or post an e-mail to them for assistance, then only does it fall on the laps of the coverage co ordinators, like myself for instance.
what happens is that problems get logged on our fault logging system and we get measured according to what we do from there so we cant respond to pms or anything to that effect unless they are logged, sorry man:(
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
10
#8
yeah I also mailed them (during office hours yesterday) and haven't heard back. Any ideas how long it should take?
 

ANUBI5

New Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
6
#9
Don't count on response. I work for a large corporate client who uses MTN exclusively. We lodged a call in the Rustenburg area, because of absolutely pathetic coverage and dropped calls, to the extent that we were considering going to VC. Got initial response, even had a guy come out to site. Everyone agreed there is a problem and had to be addressed. We even offered up one of our own radio masts with generator power, etc for a new cell. Then nothing. I have tried unsuccessfully to get any reply from them again. We are extremely dissatisfied with MTN at the moment. I cannot make a call longer than about two minutes, as it WILL get dropped.
 

Andrew24

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
5
#12
WoW people on theother end of a telephone at MTN that are not mindless drones

I am in the process of dealing with this help desk and what a pleasant surprise :)

Well Done MTN
 

TheTwo

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2006
Messages
1,303
#13
Thanks Guys

I just called the number and spoke with a very helpful person. He stated that there IS 3G coverage in my area but was totally honest about them receiving complaints regarding coverage in my area from subscribers.

I wanna port from Vodacon to MTN cos MTN doesnt want massive pay-ins for the Omnia and the Blackberry Bold

:)
 

Voldemort

Death eater
Joined
Apr 8, 2006
Messages
6,498
#14
I just called the number and spoke with a very helpful person. He stated that there IS 3G coverage in my area but was totally honest about them receiving complaints regarding coverage in my area from subscribers.

I wanna port from Vodacon to MTN cos MTN doesnt want massive pay-ins for the Omnia and the Blackberry Bold

:)
Pm me your details (ie address,name and cell number) and il ensure someone from our coverage helpdesk logs this and allocates to a co ordinator for further assistance.
 

SUPERMAN89

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2008
Messages
1,385
#15
Great Service!

Yoh I must say MTN is taking their coverage of clients seriously! Had a guy on site in 3 days!! Thumbs up MTN!:D
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2009
Messages
8
#16
I must say I'm not very impressed with the coverage helpdesk. I logged a call with them because our signal is terrible - both GSM and WCDMA. I must say however that I was pleasantly surprised to actually receive a response but it wasn't very useful.
The person clearly didn't understand that I meant both voice and data signal was terrible (must have been my use of seemingly indecipherable acronyms) as they focused on the fact that apparently I have a 3G enabled tower not 900m away from my house. That's fabulous but for some reason the signal still doesn't reach me - I pick up GPRS and sometimes EDGE if I'm lucky.
So the conclusion of the response email was that I should log a call if I wasn't happy with the signal. I thought that was what I did by sending the email in the first place??
Of course I didn't receive any more communication after replying and saying that I would like a call logged in response to my call which I had just logged. Maybe I just confused them. :)
Anyway, the datacard is now sitting in the drawer gathering dust because it is practically useless. Good thing Nashua Mobile are under-charging me. :D
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2005
Messages
14,007
#19
I told them about a bad tower in the 4ways area and they sent a rather obvious automatic response this morning:

National Quality and Coverage Help Desk

Y'ello!

Thank you for your email! We value you as a customer and will respond to you as soon as possible. Please note that our business hours are Monday to Friday 07:00 to 19:00. This department will be closed over weekends and public holidays.
Your reference number for this query is displayed in the subject line of this email. Please do not remove this reference number from the subject line when replying to this query as it enables us to track your request.


Kind regards,
Customer Services
National Quality and Coverage Help Desk


I have no doubt that they will attend to the problem and I will report back
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2005
Messages
14,007
#20
My message was:
* CELL TOWER at (GPS Coords supplied) in Fourways is broken. Part of their form includes stating one's home address, which I did (Edenvale).

(1) Got a stock reply: see above
(2) New reply: we are building two towers in Edenvale which should relieve your problem.

I have now indicated to them that the best way to solve customer queries is to READ THE ENTIRE MESSAGE and not look for a quick escape. I have told them that the problem is in Fourways and asked that they read the message properly. I await another reply.
 
Top