Rain on Vodafone R216 WiFi device - Settings?

KamikaZe_88

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2009
Messages
146
Hi,

First of all, I have very little experience with mobile data set ups so excuse my ignorance.

I am trying to set up a family friends' wifi device to use Rain's data sim.

The device is an unlocked Vodafone R216 mobile wifi. It works perfectly with a vodacom sim but not with Rain sim.

I have logged into the device where I can change settings. I have chosen a custom mobile connection which opens up all other settings, from here I inserted 'rain' as the APN. The next settings I don't know what to insert. 'Ipv4/ipv6 number' I have no clue what to insert here, a quick search on the interwebs I see some people using *99#, this doesn't seem to work. I tried typing in Auto or my own IP address but does not allow such input.

Can anyone guide me here how to get it set up please?

Thanks

 

irBosOtter

Expert Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2014
Messages
2,539
Remove everything and start over...
Only settings you need is:
APN Name: rain
Username: rain
no password....
 

KamikaZe_88

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2009
Messages
146
Remove everything and start over...
Only settings you need is:
APN Name: rain
Username: rain
no password....
I will give this a try and report back. I do remember though that when I had only the APN inserted and clicked apply, it said it can't continue as the IPv4 number field was left blank.

Thanks
 

KamikaZe_88

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2009
Messages
146
I have tried many combinations, this still does not work. The problem is that the IPv4/IPv6 Number cannot be left blank. The settings don't save unless something is typed in that field.

I have updated to the latest firmware, but problem still persists.

Surely someone was able to get this to work on this specific device.
 

backstreetboy

Honorary Master
Joined
Jun 15, 2011
Messages
16,479
I have tried many combinations, this still does not work. The problem is that the IPv4/IPv6 Number cannot be left blank. The settings don't save unless something is typed in that field.

I have updated to the latest firmware, but problem still persists.

Surely someone was able to get this to work on this specific device.
Try entering the Rain sim number. You can find it on the Rain online portal.
 

MTech7

New Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2019
Messages
1
Could be that the settings are right but the R216 doesn't run the same LTE band as the rain network
 

Zakariyah

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2020
Messages
2
1. Connect the device to a laptop/computer as if you are charging it (turn the device on while you are doing this).
2. Search for the device under your laptop/computer network icon and connect to it, if it needs a password, use the wifi key that will be found either at the back or on the backlid of the device (a sticker should be on either place showing the make and model of the device, serial number, etc, amongst those will be the Wifi key).
3. Open a browser and type in 192.168.0.1 on the address bar of the browser.
4. A ZTE webpage will appear, on your username and password, enter “admin” and press “enter”.
5. Go to settings>> Mobile network>> APN.
a. Profile name: rain
b. APN field: rain
c. Username: admin
d. Password: admin
e. PDP type: IPV4
f. Authentication: none
 

Zakariyah

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2020
Messages
2
Please follow the below steps to set up APN on your Vodafone device.

1. Connect Your Device with a Laptop/Phone via WIFI
2. Enter http://VodafoneMobile.wifi on Google Chrome
3. Login: Username & Password is admin "Small Letters"
4. Click on Mobile Broadband Settings
5. Click on the Drop Arrow on Account Type and Select Custom
6. Type rain next to APN
7. Type admin next to Username & Password
8. And save the Profile
 

SunilK

Active Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2019
Messages
97
Good day all, I also use the Vodafone R218-Z MiFi router. I have a Telkom data bundle via Axxess. Works perfectly, but does not automatically pick up the wifi. I have to start the app and go to connection and press save to connect to the network. It’s very annoying to have to do that every time the line is dropped, or I use the router while on the road. The connection mode is set to “automatic” but it does not work. I have a IPhone 10.
Has anyone found a solution for this issue?
 

Attachments

Kiemo

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 9, 2018
Messages
247
Could be that the settings are right but the R216 doesn't run the same LTE band as the rain network
So does this mean you won’t get decent speeds from a pocket router like that ?
 

Singhms

Active Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2014
Messages
64
Rain was working perfectly in my area for about 3 months and stopped working all of a sudden.

Same device, same settings... tested it at another location and it worked perfectly. Just stopped working in my area.

Worked with rain support for 3 weeks and they could not resolve, escalated all the way to the COO. No luck so I cancelled as I had already paid for 3 weeks of no service...

Unfortunately seems to be an issue with many people, works well for a few months and stops working...
 
Top