Small Server - Advice Needed

RedViking

Nord of the South
Hi guys,

I have no experience with putting together a small server and what to look at etc.

I would like to build a small straight forward affordable server that I will access locally via LAN and also remotely (FTP?). I also might want to have the option for other Freelancers (Philippines, New Zealand etc.) to be able to access certain folders on the server. Most of the PC's use Windows 10.

What CPU, RAM, HDD (RAID?) or SSD, software? I really have no idea where to start and what to look for. I am not sure what my budget should be (10K? 15K?).

I will move all my Office Files to the server and access it from there. The other computers will also be able to access the files from the serves instead of my PC.

Let me know what other information you need.

Thanks so much!

IMG_OPC_20180605_152006img.jpg

Last edited:

The_Librarian

Another MyBB
Super Moderator
What do you want to use the server for?

Storage? File sharing?

Messugga

Honorary Master
Hi guys,

I have no experience with putting together a small server and what to look at etc.

I would like to build a small straight forward affordable server that I will access locally via LAN and also remotely (FTP?). I also might want to have the option for other Freelancers (Philippines, New Zealand etc.) to be able to access certain folders on the server. Most of the PC's use Windows 10.

What CPU, RAM, HDD (RAID?) or SSD, software? I really have no idea where to start and what to look for. I am not sure what my budget should be (10K? 15K?).

Let me know what other information you need.

Thanks so much!
Depending on what your intended usage is, I'd query whether you should be purchasing a server in the first place. Something like a dedicated server in a data center may make more sense.

RedViking

Nord of the South
What do you want to use the server for?

Storage? File sharing?