• You are losing out on amazing benefits because you are not a member. Join for free. Register now.
  • Two-Day Giveaway - Win a Google Chromecast, Branded Gear, and a Mystery Gadget. Enter Here.
  • Giveaway - Win a DiskStation DS918+ and Active Backup Suite from Synology. Enter Here.

TelkomZA

Joined
May 24, 2018
Messages
3
Depends on your ISP and what time of day it is. You're ISP might be slowing you down during high demand times, or your exchange is really busy. It's not uncommon for people to feel slower speeds anywhere between 6pm and 12pm
 
Joined
May 24, 2018
Messages
3
Hi
I would like to no. I have recently got me a 10Mbps ADSl uncapped line from Telkom. We stream mostly (Netflix, Showmax, YouTube, emails and search) Only 3 users at home (1 on ipad, 1 on TV and 1 on phone simultaneous or less)
My question, why do we experience sometimes buffering even if only 1 user are online. I test the speed (broadband speed test) at the time and it runs @ download 9.26 & upload 1.04. Not a tech savvy
I should've quoted you sorry, but the above post is directed towards your question
 

feo

Honorary Master
Joined
Jan 22, 2006
Messages
13,208
How can we follow up on a fibre order placed via an ISP? I have an OpenServe ref no but who can I give this number to?

Called Telkom but they can't see an order on their system, so I guess I need to contact OpenServe directly somehow.

ISP can't give me any more info other than the fact that its still "pending".
 

|Blunt

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
249
This used to be such an amazing place to get help with company so incompetent they dont even want the extra money from increasing line speed. Now i get ignored or just get someone that has no clue on how to assist through these channels

Its been almost 2!!!! months since i put an order in to upgrade line speed.

CHARL WHERE ARE YOU. PLEASE COME BACK. ALL IS FORGIVEN
 

gmathews

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
129
Hi all. How long does it take when you pay your Telkom Account online using a credit card to show the correct balance owed? My amount due is still the same after 2 days. Is there a waiting period?
 

BigBear

Expert Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2008
Messages
1,737
Any ideas?

Connection Information:
Link Status:
Disconnected
Last Error Message:
Could not bring up link

Line stats look good and normal.
 

Dan fig

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2018
Messages
2
Hi TelkomZA ,Could you please add my line to the list of lines that are on the ASSIA exclusion.

Currently my line is on intereleaved and my ping is horrible, around 30ms to 40ms

Thanks
Regards
Danny
 

BTTB

Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2004
Messages
7,671
Please help changing ADSL2PLUS Modulation to VDSL2 Modulation.
Order number 255078139A, 10Mb to 20Mb.

Ideally I want 40VDSL if I can just get the modulation changed.

10210 (Technical) refer you to 10213 (Sales) saying they must change my Profile from Multimode to VDSL2 first before they can do anything and ensure me that my exchange is VDSL compatible.
Sales say the exchange cannot do VDSL according to their coverage map but when you listen to what they say I should actually only be getting 4Mb ADSL. I am in a loop here with Telkom.

My line was "upgraded" from 10Mb ADSL to 20Mb ADSL (requested VDSL) last week and to be quite honest its no better, if not sluggish and certainly no benefit on the upload speed side (Still 1Mb) which was the whole point of the exercise in doing the change.

The installation address is the same as the postal address, 350 ...... Road. Found that my account had some legacy incorrect installation street number of 6?

Thanks in advance.
Shot2070.jpg
 
Last edited:

Ryan Innes

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2011
Messages
397
Please help to changing ADSL2PLUS Modulation to VDSL2 Modulation.
Order number 255078139A, 10Mb to 20Mb.

Ideally I want 40VDSL if I can just get the modulation changed.

10210 (Technical) refer you to 10213 (Sales) saying they must change my Profile from Multimode to VDSL2 first before they can do anything and ensure me that my exchange is VDSL compatible.
Sales say the exchange cannot do VDSL according to their coverage map but when you listen to what they say I should actually only be getting 4Mb ADSL. I am in a loop here with Telkom.

My line was "upgraded" from 10Mb ADSL to 20Mb ADSL (requested VDSL) last week and to be quite honest its no better, if not more sluggish and certainly no benefit on the upload speed (Still 1Mb) which was the whole point of the exercise in doing the change.

The installation address is the same as the postal address, 350 ...... Road. Found that my account had some legacy incorrect installation street number of 6?

Thanks in advance.
View attachment 528917
Get hold of Brian via their Twitter account, he's very helpful.
 

BTTB

Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2004
Messages
7,671
Get hold of Brian via their Twitter account, he's very helpful.
HI Ryan.
That would be super, just don't do twitter thing.
Perhaps you could refer him to this link perhaps, would be appreciated.
Looks like TelkomZA has his hands full in this thread.
Regards,
BTTB.
 

straatkat

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2009
Messages
601
I am at wits end to try and upgrade my Telkom ADSL line to VDSL. Just spend again an hour in the Telkom store only to be told I need to complete a manual form that they can send to back office.

Why is this so hard? I had navigated throught the call centre 4 times, been to the store 2 times. And yet, I cannot get an order placed.
 

BTTB

Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2004
Messages
7,671
Hey man, checking in if the guys from Telkom sorted you out? They confirmed that they had passed on the info the MBB rep.
Not yet. Lets see what happens next week.
Prepared to give the 20Mb Up and 1Mb down ATM connection a month and decide if I should simply go back to 10Mb or stay with what I have now. Connection is stable at 20Mb ADSL, SNR and Attenuation look fine but then that was never the issue with my connection as I live very close to the exchange.
I think the MBB rep should know of my story, did sent PM and posted under his thread.

Thanks for your support Ryan, appreciated.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2012
Messages
34
Hi,

I am trying to cancel data portion of my telkom account as I have moved to another ISP.
I did get a ref nr on my 5th attempt to fill out the online cancellation form.
How can I get telkom to action my request?

The ref nr. I have is: TIN1856058 : 23739009

No one has called me and I have idea how to get an update on this request.
 

SkippyRamirez

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
1,956
Hi,

I am trying to cancel data portion of my telkom account as I have moved to another ISP.
I did get a ref nr on my 5th attempt to fill out the online cancellation form.
How can I get telkom to action my request?

The ref nr. I have is: TIN1856058 : 23739009

No one has called me and I have idea how to get an update on this request.
You can't. Telkom is for life.
 
Top