VoIP alternatives

Looney

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
4,399
Switchtel - one of the best companies I've ever had the pleasure of dealing with.
Can’t say the same. I sent through my porting application yesterday and I still have not received a response and yes I sent another 2 follow up mails. Nothing. I sent another one telling them to cancel my porting request. If they can’t even respond to my mail then fsck em, they don’t deserve my business.
 

mister

Executive Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
7,336
Can’t say the same. I sent through my porting application yesterday and I still have not received a response and yes I sent another 2 follow up mails. Nothing. I sent another one telling them to cancel my porting request. If they can’t even respond to my mail then fsck em, they don’t deserve my business.
Very strange... I've always got prompt replies from them.
 

Looney

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
4,399
Very strange... I've always got prompt replies from them.
I spoke to a lady by the name of Jane yesterday. She told me to mail my docs to chat@switchtel which I did. All I got was an automated response. No feedback, nothing. Pity.

Freshphone don’t allow more then 1 number per user, so that’s a no go.

Who else is there that’s good?
 

gfmalan

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2013
Messages
2,477
I spoke to a lady by the name of Jane yesterday. She told me to mail my docs to chat@switchtel which I did. All I got was an automated response. No feedback, nothing. Pity.

Freshphone don’t allow more then 1 number per user, so that’s a no go.

Who else is there that’s good?
Why do you need two lines? And why not open two accounts at Freshphone?
 

Looney

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
4,399
Why do you need two lines? And why not open two accounts at Freshphone?
Because one is mine and my wife’s and the other one is my moms. Yes my wife and I live with my mom ok. Let’s all have a good laugh.

Oh and why should I have to create 2 accounts? It’s stupid. No. If Cool Ideas can do 2 lines, then why can’t they?
 

gfmalan

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2013
Messages
2,477
Because one is mine and my wife’s and the other one is my moms. Yes my wife and I live with my mom ok. Let’s all have a good laugh.

Oh and why should I have to create 2 accounts? It’s stupid. No. If Cool Ideas can do 2 lines, then why can’t they?
Everyone can have their living arrangement the way they want to, not judging.

Freshphone is a service free account, you only pay for airtime.

See it from a management perspective, they give you one sip account and one number is linked to that sip account, the billing and call forwarding, inbound, outbound and voicemail is linked into one solution, and they do it for free, they make a couple of cents for each minute.

So how do you want 2 numbers linked to two phones? Do you want call routing and show a number when making outbound calls? When you want to do that you need Hosted PBX, minimum 3 extensions and you can setup as any cobination your hart desire.

So take two free accounts, port a number to each, connect an ip phone to each line and use it as intended.

Please don’t complain if they don’t have a phone number with staff waiting in call centre to support free service, you can do everything online and it is automated.

All the othe VoIP providers have their own way of working. This make me wonder, what is wrong with Cool Ideas? I am a client, but ise my own solution for VoIP.

Please let us know why you want to move from CISP, just interested, so that I don’t advise my clients to use that.
 

Looney

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
4,399
Everyone can have their living arrangement the way they want to, not judging.

Freshphone is a service free account, you only pay for airtime.

See it from a management perspective, they give you one sip account and one number is linked to that sip account, the billing and call forwarding, inbound, outbound and voicemail is linked into one solution, and they do it for free, they make a couple of cents for each minute.

So how do you want 2 numbers linked to two phones? Do you want call routing and show a number when making outbound calls? When you want to do that you need Hosted PBX, minimum 3 extensions and you can setup as any cobination your hart desire.

So take two free accounts, port a number to each, connect an ip phone to each line and use it as intended.

Please don’t complain if they don’t have a phone number with staff waiting in call centre to support free service, you can do everything online and it is automated.

All the othe VoIP providers have their own way of working. This make me wonder, what is wrong with Cool Ideas? I am a client, but ise my own solution for VoIP.

Please let us know why you want to move from CISP, just interested, so that I don’t advise my clients to use that.
Then clearly Freshphone isn’t the right provider for me then. Will keep looking.

I want nothing to do with CISP. Not their fiber or they VOIP. I mean technically there’s nothing wrong with my VOIP, I just don’t want to give them my business any longer.
 

gfmalan

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2013
Messages
2,477
Then clearly Freshphone isn’t the right provider for me then. Will keep looking.

I want nothing to do with CISP. Not their fiber or they VOIP. I mean technically there’s nothing wrong with my VOIP, I just don’t want to give them my business any longer.
Thanks
 

kabusi

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2018
Messages
760
Anyone used Digico Telecoms? They are a Neotel Partner according to the Neotel website. Any feedback regarding their service and rates?
 

dillydog

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
168
You are welcome to PM me, you can port your numbers to our backend provider and we manage and do all of the support...
 

kabusi

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2018
Messages
760
You are welcome to PM me, you can port your numbers to our backend provider and we manage and do all of the support...
PM sent yesterday. Require more information on costs involved to port and what packages are available.
 

Uhfi

New Member
Joined
May 27, 2014
Messages
1
Because one is mine and my wife’s and the other one is my moms. Yes my wife and I live with my mom ok. Let’s all have a good laugh.

Oh and why should I have to create 2 accounts? It’s stupid. No. If Cool Ideas can do 2 lines, then why can’t they?
Take a look at clear-voip-is-the-best-alternative-for-cancelled-cdma-services. Hosted cloud VoIP without needing an internet connection at the client's site. No static. No packet loss. No jitter. No delayed voice audio. No choppy voice.

Clear VoIP is a cloud PBX service that relies on traditional circuit-switched mobile voice networks to deliver the call to the user's office desktop phone or to their mobile phone - the hand off from packet based to circuit switched traffic happens in the cloud. The mobile WAN is very reliable and delivers a higher quality call than what home and office WiFi and LAN IP networks can deliver, including VoIP over high bandwidth fibre connections.
 
Last edited:

msquared

Expert Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2016
Messages
4,680
I need to port my neotel account to another provider, can anyone suggest a good reliable telecoms solution?
I was in the same situation. Moved to Vox. It was painless and they managed the porting. They have 2 plans, R29pm pay per minute (and R54 once off) and an unlimited for R350pm.
 

kabusi

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2018
Messages
760
So I ported to Digico Telecoms but I am still waiting for the porting process to conclude. Apparently some hold up from Neotel side. Anyone have any insight into this problem?
 

under_sky

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2013
Messages
1,145
So Freshphone doesn't allow porting more then 1 telephone numbers. I have 2. Freshphone is automatically disqualified. Oh and they don't have telephonic support? Rubbish.

Who else is good that offers to port 2 VOIP numbers?
I ported 2 ? all has been fine
 

system32

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2009
Messages
2,828
I ported 2 ? all has been fine
So Freshphone doesn't allow porting more then 1 telephone numbers. I have 2. Freshphone is automatically disqualified. Oh and they don't have telephonic support? Rubbish.

Who else is good that offers to port 2 VOIP numbers?
Freshphone definitely supports multiple VOIP numbers - I have 2, an 011 that I ported and a 010 number that I requested.
First Sign Up as a New User, then for the 2nd, 3rd, 4th use "Existing User"
715337
The 2nd, 3rd, etc numbers get added to your account and appear on your dashboard.
You can number port or request an 010, 021, 031, etc.
Number Port is done via menu, the 010, 021 number is requested via email.
Use Caller ID to show the 087 number or 010 number.
 
Last edited:
Top