Web Squad ISP

Seeyou

Expert Member
Joined
May 1, 2007
Messages
2,072
Feel like I'm being ignored. Am I the only one in CPT with high pings? 180ms+ to locations that were previously ~140ms.
 

DrJohnZoidberg

Honorary Master
Joined
Jul 24, 2006
Messages
22,297
Feel like I'm being ignored. Am I the only one in CPT with high pings? 180ms+ to locations that were previously ~140ms.

No, not only you but I had the same thing with Rocketnet previously. Frankfurt servers used to be ~150ms then they were at ~180ms and now they're at ~190ms. Have no idea why but didn't get fixed on Rocketnet and not fixed on Websquad and I see CoolIdeas folks also complaining about it so it's not only one ISP.

Honestly I just want speeds to JHB to be fixed before worrying about international :(
 

websquadza

WebSquad
Company Rep
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
2,045
Feel like I'm being ignored. Am I the only one in CPT with high pings? 180ms+ to locations that were previously ~140ms.

Not being ignored. we’re waiting for updates on these routes from our upstreams. There are a bunch of changes being made at the moment- we will update you as soon as we have some feedback
No, not only you but I had the same thing with Rocketnet previously. Frankfurt servers used to be ~150ms then they were at ~180ms and now they're at ~190ms. Have no idea why but didn't get fixed on Rocketnet and not fixed on Websquad and I see CoolIdeas folks also complaining about it so it's not only one ISP.

Honestly I just want speeds to JHB to be fixed before worrying about international :(

Still the same line issue. Much of the same from Octotel. Their L2 NOC is always a pain to deal with.
 

CrypticZA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
1,634
No, not only you but I had the same thing with Rocketnet previously. Frankfurt servers used to be ~150ms then they were at ~180ms and now they're at ~190ms. Have no idea why but didn't get fixed on Rocketnet and not fixed on Websquad and I see CoolIdeas folks also complaining about it so it's not only one ISP.

Honestly I just want speeds to JHB to be fixed before worrying about international :(
We (Cool Ideas) are complaining because they switched away from carrying traffic to Amazon themselves so they using Amazon transit... change is 155ms to 200ms to Frankfurt...
 

Seeyou

Expert Member
Joined
May 1, 2007
Messages
2,072
The irony is that latencies to other parts of Europe (Frankfurt, Amsterdam) are actually improving as I'd been hoping for for quite some time, but London etc. are getting progressively worse.
 

JustAnotherSouthAfrican

Active Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2017
Messages
73
The irony is that latencies to other parts of Europe (Frankfurt, Amsterdam) are actually improving as I'd been hoping for for quite some time, but London etc. are getting progressively worse.

Same issue here too, DE and NL I'm getting great latencies, but the UK tends to give me higher results than either of those locations. Previously I got latencies of 144ms to London, now I'm consistently seeing anywhere from 164ms to 175ms.
 

Seeyou

Expert Member
Joined
May 1, 2007
Messages
2,072
Same issue here too, DE and NL I'm getting great latencies, but the UK tends to give me higher results than either of those locations. Previously I got latencies of 144ms to London, now I'm consistently seeing anywhere from 164ms to 175ms.
~184ms is now the BEST I can achieve to London. Most London locations are around 200ms at the moment.
 

JustAnotherSouthAfrican

Active Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2017
Messages
73
~184ms is now the BEST I can achieve to London. Most London locations are around 200ms at the moment.
Are you JHB based? Im CPT

Edit: I see you're CPT as well. That's weird I never saw anything that high before. Will run some tests and update.
 
Last edited:

websquadza

WebSquad
Company Rep
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
2,045
Same issue here too, DE and NL I'm getting great latencies, but the UK tends to give me higher results than either of those locations. Previously I got latencies of 144ms to London, now I'm consistently seeing anywhere from 164ms to 175ms.
The irony is that latencies to other parts of Europe (Frankfurt, Amsterdam) are actually improving as I'd been hoping for for quite some time, but London etc. are getting progressively worse.

An upstream of ours incorrectly tagged routes originating from London with the same community as MEA. We use the same communities to steer traffic and we can’t seem to steer our way around this issue without breaking a lot of routes. Unfortunately, we need to wait for this to be sorted out by them. We are aware of it. They are too- and we have been on their case for a few days now and we are following up constantly. As soon as this is resolved, we will update you.
 

Seeyou

Expert Member
Joined
May 1, 2007
Messages
2,072
An upstream of ours incorrectly tagged routes originating from London with the same community as MEA. We use the same communities to steer traffic and we can’t seem to steer our way around this issue without breaking a lot of routes. Unfortunately, we need to wait for this to be sorted out by them. We are aware of it. They are too- and we have been on their case for a few days now and we are following up constantly. As soon as this is resolved, we will update you.

Know you're on the case and appreciate it.

One weird thing I'm not sure anyone else is experiencing is that this routing feels "snappier" in general for browsing, streaming and even gaming, even with the increased latencies. I've noted it before when we've been switched over the failover routing, it's quite a weird phenomenon I can't adequately explain.
 

JustAnotherSouthAfrican

Active Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2017
Messages
73
217.147.89.101 is the Apex London login server for example, 200ms at the moment up from 144ms.

Seeing 200ms on this IP as well.

Code:
|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
|                       Host              -   %  | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
|                                   fw.lh -    0 |   45 |   45 |    0 |    0 |    9 |    0 |
|        as-vuma.cp-gwf-4-01.za.ws.net.za -    0 |   45 |   45 |    2 |    3 |   21 |    6 |
|             core.as-01.cp1.za.ws.net.za -    0 |   45 |   45 |    0 |    0 |   10 |    0 |
|           165-69-148-197.as37497.za.net -    0 |   45 |   45 |    0 |    1 |   10 |    1 |
|             1-71-148-197.as37497.za.net -    0 |   45 |   45 |   19 |   19 |   29 |   19 |
|     41-79-249-245.static.pccwglobal.net -    0 |   45 |   45 |   20 |   20 |   30 |   20 |
|                            63.218.151.2 -    0 |   45 |   45 |   19 |   20 |   29 |   21 |
|   be2389.ccr22.lon01.atlas.cogentco.com -    0 |   45 |   45 |  213 |  213 |  223 |  214 |
|               be5.asr01.thn.as20860.net -    0 |   45 |   45 |  199 |  199 |  211 |  199 |
|              be10.asr01.dc5.as20860.net -    0 |   45 |   45 |  200 |  200 |  212 |  200 |
|             1717.g1.1ug.dc5.as20860.net -    0 |   45 |   45 |  200 |  201 |  212 |  201 |
|                          217.147.89.101 -    0 |   45 |   45 |  199 |  199 |  209 |  202 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|

Know you're on the case and appreciate it.

One weird thing I'm not sure anyone else is experiencing is that this routing feels "snappier" in general for browsing, streaming and even gaming, even with the increased latencies. I've noted it before when we've been switched over the failover routing, it's quite a weird phenomenon I can't adequately explain.

I definitely share this same view, things just seem to load so much quicker than it used to browsing-wise. Can't comment on streaming and gaming since those are all local for me.
 
Last edited:

JustAnotherSouthAfrican

Active Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2017
Messages
73
An upstream of ours incorrectly tagged routes originating from London with the same community as MEA. We use the same communities to steer traffic and we can’t seem to steer our way around this issue without breaking a lot of routes. Unfortunately, we need to wait for this to be sorted out by them. We are aware of it. They are too- and we have been on their case for a few days now and we are following up constantly. As soon as this is resolved, we will update you.

Websquad lays their own undersea cable when? (¬‿¬)
 

Gimli

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
545
Hi @websquadza will you please check this out? Seems to be a similar issue to the google routing problem you resolved a week ago. Check my pings from Centurion to quad 9. IPV4 seem to go to CPT and IPV6 ping to local JHB data centre

:~$ ping 9.9.9.9
PING 9.9.9.9 (9.9.9.9) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 9.9.9.9: icmp_seq=1 ttl=59 time=27.9 ms
64 bytes from 9.9.9.9: icmp_seq=2 ttl=59 time=28.1 ms
64 bytes from 9.9.9.9: icmp_seq=3 ttl=59 time=28.5 ms
^C
--- 9.9.9.9 ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 received, 0% packet loss, time 2002ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 27.850/28.127/28.454/0.249 ms
:~$ ping 2620:fe::fe
PING 2620:fe::fe(2620:fe::fe) 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 2620:fe::fe: icmp_seq=1 ttl=59 time=5.75 ms
64 bytes from 2620:fe::fe: icmp_seq=2 ttl=59 time=5.12 ms
64 bytes from 2620:fe::fe: icmp_seq=3 ttl=59 time=5.21 ms
64 bytes from 2620:fe::fe: icmp_seq=4 ttl=59 time=5.15 ms
64 bytes from 2620:fe::fe: icmp_seq=5 ttl=59 time=5.06 ms
64 bytes from 2620:fe::fe: icmp_seq=6 ttl=59 time=5.02 ms
^C
--- 2620:fe::fe ping statistics ---
6 packets transmitted, 6 received, 0% packet loss, time 5007ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 5.019/5.218/5.751/0.246 ms
 

Gimli

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
545
Supplemental information

:~$ traceroute --resolve-hostnames 9.9.9.9
traceroute to 9.9.9.9 (9.9.9.9), 64 hops max
1 x.x.x.1 (Dlink) 0.503ms 0.535ms 0.351ms
2 160.119.230.1 (core.bng-xe-02.jb1.za.wecom.net.za) 3.909ms 3.839ms 3.302ms
3 160.119.224.29 (core.cr-xe-01.jb1.za.ws.net.za) 5.008ms 3.726ms 3.605ms
4 160.119.232.26 (core.pe-xe-ix01.cp1.za.ws.net.za) 25.592ms 25.353ms 25.209ms
5 196.223.22.16 (pch-1.cinx.net.za) 26.981ms !X * *
 

websquadza

WebSquad
Company Rep
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
2,045
Supplemental information

:~$ traceroute --resolve-hostnames 9.9.9.9
traceroute to 9.9.9.9 (9.9.9.9), 64 hops max
1 x.x.x.1 (Dlink) 0.503ms 0.535ms 0.351ms
2 160.119.230.1 (core.bng-xe-02.jb1.za.wecom.net.za) 3.909ms 3.839ms 3.302ms
3 160.119.224.29 (core.cr-xe-01.jb1.za.ws.net.za) 5.008ms 3.726ms 3.605ms
4 160.119.232.26 (core.pe-xe-ix01.cp1.za.ws.net.za) 25.592ms 25.353ms 25.209ms
5 196.223.22.16 (pch-1.cinx.net.za) 26.981ms !X * *

Looks like CINX advertisements were being favoured over JINX (CINX was recently added to our network)- we’ve sorted this out for the JHB region now. You should be seeing this change now. AS42 seems to only be advertising their prefixes via the INX-ZA exchanges and not the NAP ones at the moment, which would explain the change.
 

JOEY_8

Senior Member
Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
734
Internet is on and off for me for the past few minutes. Anyone else?

Dbn, Vumatel Trenched
 
Top