Fiber and fax machine

ld13

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 28, 2005
Messages
11,627
I hope you know that the previous post about plugging the fibre into the fax machine is pure hogwash.

Yes sends it to a landline number.
In that case you have one of two options, either asking person X if they don't have an email address that you can rather use or to sign up for a replacement service (1) as I mentioned in my first post. Examples of such services is the mweb service mentioned by @signates or http://www.faxmypc.co.za/I.dmn or http://www.faxfx.net/services/faxout-rates/

Do not sign up for a service that have a monthly fee (like https://www.isat.co.za/products/email-to-fax.aspx )

Personally I would suggest you invest some time to chat with person X, since going the email route would be better in the long run for an array of reasons.
 

under_sky

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2013
Messages
1,476
I hope you know that the previous post about plugging the fibre into the fax machine is pure hogwash.



In that case you have one of two options, either asking person X if they don't have an email address that you can rather use or to sign up for a replacement service (1) as I mentioned in my first post. Examples of such services is the mweb service mentioned by @signates or http://www.faxmypc.co.za/I.dmn or http://www.faxfx.net/services/faxout-rates/

Do not sign up for a service that have a monthly fee (like https://www.isat.co.za/products/email-to-fax.aspx )

Personally I would suggest you invest some time to chat with person X, since going the email route would be better in the long run for an array of reasons.
Do you know that in the USA you need to use a fax machine for legal documents. Was playing games with a guy one night and he said i need to fax something i was like WTF ??
 

Monka

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 1, 2019
Messages
181
Do you know that in the USA you need to use a fax machine for legal documents. Was playing games with a guy one night and he said i need to fax something i was like WTF ??
True, Reason being is fax cannot be manipulated or intercepted like email.
 

SoldierMan

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2019
Messages
1,905
It's depends on the fibre network operator,if it's Openserve then you can fax by connecting fax machine to Tel 1 on the ONT(huawei box)
I've just had fibre installed with Open Serve. There are two Tel ports on the Nokia ONT box.
Do you know if I can keep my old landline number with Telkom through Open Serve, or will it be a different number?

More curious than anything as I am considering cancelling the landline altogether, but we do own a fax and once in a while have to fax something. Yes yes I know buy a scanner already...

For those that don't know ADT's (not sure about other security companies) system is not compatible with fibre, but they do install some kind of wireless setup to replace it. Cost is about R300 a year and a once off setup fee of about R300.
 

Monka

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 1, 2019
Messages
181
I've just had fibre installed with Open Serve. There are two Tel ports on the Nokia ONT box.
Do you know if I can keep my old landline number with Telkom through Open Serve, or will it be a different number?

More curious than anything as I am considering cancelling the landline altogether, but we do own a fax and once in a while have to fax something. Yes yes I know buy a scanner already...

For those that don't know ADT's (not sure about other security companies) system is not compatible with fibre, but they do install some kind of wireless setup to replace it. Cost is about R300 a year and a once off setup fee of about R300.
You can request for your line to migrated over to Fibre and connect it to which ever Tel port the line will be commissioned onto,With regards to Security systems i am not sure if you can link it.
 

Geoff.D

Honorary Master
Joined
Aug 4, 2005
Messages
13,136
Depends on how the security company implements their landline connection to the control room. If it is effectively a dedicated leased copper line then no, it won't work over fibre. If it is a dial-up system then yes it will work.

In any case, it is far better to implement the radio link solution for a security service.

Not all ISPs offer VoIP. Telkom/Openserve does and you can migrate your service accordingly. If you do not have a dedicated fax line with its own number, you may have to find out from Telkom if they have facilities available for fax over their VoIP platform or not.
 

jphegers

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
785
According to Telkom bot your fax and landline phone is able to work over fibre don't know how but they say it is possible.
 

Monka

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 1, 2019
Messages
181
According to Telkom bot your fax and landline phone is able to work over fibre don't know how but they say it is possible.
True if it's Openserve fibre because on the ONT there's 2 Telephone ports where you can connect your phone or Fax.
 
Top