Part-time Software development study advice

MrElementary

Hi Gents,

I don't normally post much so excuse me if I miss any lingo or accepted practices here;

Obviously as per the title I'm interested in studying software development part-time. I work in what I'd consider(I'm a newbie so please forgive) a neighbouring field with networking and I'm starting N+ in a few weeks through my employer.

But I'd really like to do something along the lines of MSCD and maybe at some point MSCE. I'm 28 and bills are a thing so full-time study isn't an option for me.

I live in the PTA/JHB vicinity and I've taken a look at the most obvious one's I'd say; CTU, CTI, IT-academy and boston campus were the ones I knew of.

CTU so far the only one that came back to me quoting R55 000 for a year course that consists of 2 classes a week from 18:00 - 21:00 and 2 saturdays a month. I'm completely good with all that but I just thought I'd ask some opinions here to find out if R55 000 really is worth it for an NQF level 5 at the end of the day.

Also are there real work opportunities for this once I finish it? Is this valid if I happen to choose to leave SA eventually seeing as its only national even though it would provide me with knowledge of internationally accepted coding languages?(I have family in NZ and I have Netherlands citizenship as well on the table though not yet considering either at the moment for personal reasons).

Are there other options I'm missing here that you guys might know of? Should I really consider self-study? I don't really think I'd do self-study over a college given the choice but any advice would be appreciated. Feel free to ask me anything that might influence your opinion as well.

If you've read this far I do appreciate it and whatever feedback you might be able to give a potential coder-to-be.

Regards

Dark Agent

Expert Member
This is a personal opinion.