Rain Uncapped - Slow connectivity to all Google services

lotus123

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2006
Messages
799
So, I noticed this issue for the first time over the weekend. I added the IPV4 and IPV6 google dns to my connection settings and problem has gone.
Tried this and so far so good.

Thanks!

Edit: Stopped working soon after. Dang it.
 
Last edited:

eg2505

Honorary Master
Joined
Mar 12, 2008
Messages
16,197
anybody getting teal mode light?
seems my rain has decided to go on holiday, shows internet access and 3 bars of signal,

but a teal (not green) mode light on a B618 modem.
 

BlackJack1301

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2009
Messages
845
So I got a VPN last nigh, went with Nord VPN and guess what, no problems so far, all google related things opens up quickly like normal. I only have a month paid so far so will see...

You can use it on 4 devices, also on my phone and so far seems to work as well.
 

mrlgm007

Senior Member
Joined
May 14, 2010
Messages
522
So I got a VPN last nigh, went with Nord VPN and guess what, no problems so far, all google related things opens up quickly like normal. I only have a month paid so far so will see...

You can use it on 4 devices, also on my phone and so far seems to work as well.
Useing the same provider still no issues my side.
 

MrMaph

Active Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2019
Messages
55
So I got a VPN last nigh, went with Nord VPN and guess what, no problems so far, all google related things opens up quickly like normal. I only have a month paid so far so will see...

You can use it on 4 devices, also on my phone and so far seems to work as well.
Hahaha South African ISPs are very bad, none of them is flawless they all have issues. Now we have to pay for VPNs just to get gmail and google search. The others are expensive, fibre is select suburbs only.

Vodacom is intentionally not doing a good job on managing Rains network just to hurt rain so that it won't loose more customers to rain.
 

BlackJack1301

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2009
Messages
845
Hahaha South African ISPs are very bad, none of them is flawless they all have issues. Now we have to pay for VPNs just to get gmail and google search. The others are expensive, fibre is select suburbs only.

Vodacom is intentionally not doing a good job on managing Rains network just to hurt rain so that it won't loose more customers to rain.
Wouldn't surprise me yes, all i know is this works for me, tested on multiple devices now. So yeah, another expense but what else is new.
 

MrMaph

Active Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2019
Messages
55
Wouldn't surprise me yes, all i know is this works for me, tested on multiple devices now. So yeah, another expense but what else is new.
I understand using VPN but for me it creates a security issue as my most important accounts and google services must be accessed with an IP i am confident in and is not managed by other people to prevent possible security breaches from shared IPs.

I think rain also sees this, in the latest mybroadband article about rain, the ceo had no reason to mention the fact that vodacom manages all aspects of their 4G network. I think they are going public with this to show vodacom that they see its sabotage and they are starting to go public about it. Remember vodacom was warning rain about giving people high speed unlimited internet. Rain has to small of a customer base for this to be network congestion, so there is a force behind the sudden deterioration of rains network as it went from the best network quality to becoming on par with cellc in less than a year.

Thankfully they manage their 5G internally so it might not disappoint as much as their 4G.
 

vetkaashaas

New Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2019
Messages
2
Yeah can confirm, I have the exact same issues where it struggles to resolve any google domains, and then after a few seconds, it works. Also using a VPN seems to negate this issue. Further indicating that this is clearly a Rain network issue.
 

BlackJack1301

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2009
Messages
845
Yeah can confirm, I have the exact same issues where it struggles to resolve any google domains, and then after a few seconds, it works. Also using a VPN seems to negate this issue. Further indicating that this is clearly a Rain network issue.
Yeah been testing the VPN i got on a few devices and definitely works. But this is an extra expense and also slows down connectivity a bit... Not a huge deal on 5G i know, but this is something that should work and not be this difficult.
 

linkinpark

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2005
Messages
1,030
Last message I got from @rain_mobile was on the 4th:
"We are still investigating the issue however we can safely say that this is not a network issue. It is only specific to Google services hence the delay in response as this requires further investigation

I will let the team know about your follow up and revert soonest "
 

MrMaph

Active Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2019
Messages
55
Last message I got from @rain_mobile was on the 4th:
"We are still investigating the issue however we can safely say that this is not a network issue. It is only specific to Google services hence the delay in response as this requires further investigation

I will let the team know about your follow up and revert soonest "
Maybe its the Trump ban targeting Rain on google services. Rain is implementing Huawei 5G and it is obviously something that the americans don't want since they want to dominate the 5G space but the Chinese have tech on point and its a few years ahead on 5G tech than the rest.
 

inanabhay

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2008
Messages
312
I received an email that Rain tried calling me but failed to get hold of me, I have requested details of who tried calling me and also their number that they called from. (its possible that Trucaller may have blocked their call)
 

BradleyKZN

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2009
Messages
981
I received an email that Rain tried calling me but failed to get hold of me, I have requested details of who tried calling me and also their number that they called from. (its possible that Trucaller may have blocked their call)
My Truecaller blocked there call, and it said it was a call from FNB, that might be it. What is the number that called you? Truecaller will show it
 
Top