Rocketnet - feedback?

Ronald-RocketNet

Well-Known Member
Company Rep
Joined
Aug 12, 2017
Messages
233
no, it just can't connect when load shedding,after the power back, everything is fine. I just want to know when load shedding, the exchange for rocketnet in that area will have no power as well (ie no backup power)?

or maybe can you explain it further?
This should not be the case if you have a UPS or generator as Vumatel OLT’s have back up battery packs.

Next time you experience this during loadshedding kindly contact us on our live chat : wwww.rocketnet.co.za and we I’ll creat a ticket and investigate the root cause of this issue.
 

Ronald-RocketNet

Well-Known Member
Company Rep
Joined
Aug 12, 2017
Messages
233
PS: also, sometime (not load shedding, ie. during normal hours), the rocketnet will disconnect and then re-connect the internet for about 5 mins.

why?
With regard to this we would require more information, kindly send an E-mail to support@rocketnet.co.za and we will then request call logs for your CPE and assign the ticket to our 3rd line support team.
 

DreamKing

Executive Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2009
Messages
8,523
With regard to this we would require more information, kindly send an E-mail to support@rocketnet.co.za and we will then request call logs for your CPE and assign the ticket to our 3rd line support team.
but that is not very serious, if that will happen more often,(currently about 1-2 times a week) I will let you know.

thanks
 

isie

Executive Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2010
Messages
9,727
if you have no problem then that is good for you. but I have the problem I just want to know the "answer", if you know the answer please let me know. otherwise, then that is fine. :)
- I wasn't being facetious, was just pointing out that it is not specific to the general joburg area (or rocket net for that matter) if it was we all would have an issue.
Which area are you in specifically - maybe it's not a rocket net issue but a Vuma issue in that specific area - say their backups failing during load shedding and well no one complaining because not everyone runs UPS's for their routers.

suggest you Post a new thread maybe a few of your neighbours on MYBB on other ISPs are experiencing the same thing?
 

surface

Expert Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2006
Messages
3,693
no, it just can't connect when load shedding,after the power back, everything is fine. I just want to know when load shedding, the exchange for rocketnet in that area will have no power as well (ie no backup power)?

or maybe can you explain it further?
your ONT and router are on UPS, right?
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2006
Messages
20,793
I'm scouting for new ISPs and RocketNet has very appealing Octotel 200/200 package.

Anyone here on Octotel in Cape Town? What's your speeds and latencies like to local and international? Some speedtests would be useful. Thanks!
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2009
Messages
1,988
I'm scouting for new ISPs and RocketNet has very appealing Octotel 200/200 package.

Anyone here on Octotel in Cape Town? What's your speeds and latencies like to local and international? Some speedtests would be useful. Thanks!
Will be interesting to see the performance on their higher speed packages. Im on their 10/2 package, and know someone else that is on their 20/2 package. Both of us are very happy.

Their support guys are generally quite knowledgeable and very helpful. Their online chat function on the website is very good.
 

Sopbeen

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2007
Messages
234
Was there a specific reason you moved to another ISP if I may ask? And who is your ISP now?
I requested them to deal with Vumatel on my behalf and they refused. I feel that I pay them for that service, I guess they feel otherwise. I didn't actually experience any issues on their network, it was pretty solid.

Currently using Websquad. Family on Octotel moved to Vanilla.
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2006
Messages
20,793
@Ronald-RocketNet I decided to give you guys a go, please could you make sure my order goes through correctly as there already seems to be confusion that this is a migration and not an installation (even though I noted that in the comments with my order).

You can check my ticket number 161694. Thanks!
 

Ronald-RocketNet

Well-Known Member
Company Rep
Joined
Aug 12, 2017
Messages
233
@Ronald-RocketNet I decided to give you guys a go, please could you make sure my order goes through correctly as there already seems to be confusion that this is a migration and not an installation (even though I noted that in the comments with my order).

You can check my ticket number 161694. Thanks!
Will do and provide feedback ASAP
 
Top