Web Squad ISP

Hingisp

Active Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2019
Messages
88
There we go! That’s more like it!

Wow I remember those days.. Used to get those speeds to Coreix when I opened the line, haven't seen it in ages. I only get 250Mbps download now to Coreix. My JHB speed test from Durban also seems to be capped and will not go above 300Mbps, it used to go way higher speed than that, and its been this way for months. Also on a 1000/100 vumatel trenched line, in Durban
Optimum Online USA just ran a test now and got 50Mbps down and 55Mbps upload. This at 01:30am
 
Last edited:

Looney

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
4,634
Wow I remember those days.. Used to get those speeds to Coreix when I opened the line, haven't seen it in ages. I only get 250Mbps download now to Coreix. My JHB speed test from Durban also seems to be capped and will not go above 300Mbps, it used to go way higher speed than that, and its been this way for months. Also on a 1000/100 vumatel trenched line, in Durban
Optimum Online USA just ran a test now and got 50Mbps down and 55Mbps upload. This at 01:30am


 

tracee

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
104
Any issues with streaming services? Having Youtube buffering continuosly today?
What area are you from, as my area has been having some issues on Vuma trenched the last few days. Weltevreden Park. Have just had some people on my residents association all on vuma trenched, with various different isp's complain as well
 

websquadza

WebSquad
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
1,278
What area are you from, as my area has been having some issues on Vuma trenched the last few days. Weltevreden Park. Have just had some people on my residents association all on vuma trenched, with various different isp's complain as well
Any issues with streaming services? Having Youtube buffering continuosly today?

This isn’t FNO related. Google’s JHB caches went down around 6am this morning- again. We’ve emailed their NOC and once again, “they’re working on it.” This has been an ongoing issue since Feb. In the past week alone, it’s been down Thursday - Sunday, Wednesday for a short spell, and now since this morning.

When it goes down, we rely on a cache in KZN - it’s a small cache and caters for about 30-40% of Google content. The rest is served via our JINX port (20%-30%) and international transit- 30-50%. Ratios vary as clients’ consumption changes.

There’s no real feedback from Google as to what the actual issue is. However, their network is designed to be edge first- so they don’t like content travelling between continents- and when it does, it doesn’t do well. This isn’t an issue when a cache fails once in a blue moon (things kind of stay up while the issue is repaired). It’s an issue when it’s down two or three times a week.
 

Hingisp

Active Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2019
Messages
88
Not specific to Websqaud, but thought I would begin here. Has anyone else's SPEED icon for the handover tests on Vumatel's Shop Webpage also disappeared? I no longer see this test icon. Have tried 2 separate laptops and several browsers. Www.shop.vumatel.co.za
 

Seeyou

Expert Member
Joined
May 1, 2007
Messages
1,751
@websquadza

All looks good, websites load fast, Youtube and Twitch stream well, download speeds seem good from a short test and latencies are far better than AH. However, I do seem to have a consistent 1% PL along pretty much the whole route to EU. It's not constant, but I do notice it in-game as small microstutters that appear and then disappear for a while. You can see here it below - it wasn't present on Afrihost at all. Any ideas?

Code:
|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
|                                      WinMTR statistics                                   |
|                       Host              -   %  | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
|                             192.168.1.1 -    0 | 1802 | 1802 |    0 |    0 |    6 |    0 |
|             core.as-01.cp1.za.ws.net.za -    0 | 1802 | 1802 |    0 |    0 |   13 |    0 |
|             core.cr-01.cp1.za.ws.net.za -    1 | 1775 | 1768 |    0 |    1 |   78 |    1 |
|        core.pe-xe-ip01.cp1.za.ws.net.za -    1 | 1771 | 1763 |    0 |    1 |   76 |    1 |
|           165-69-148-197.as37497.za.net -    1 | 1783 | 1778 |    0 |    1 |   77 |    1 |
|           162-68-148-197.as37497.za.net -    1 | 1755 | 1743 |  141 |  142 |  230 |  142 |
|            54-71-148-197.as37497.za.net -    1 | 1751 | 1738 |  141 |  143 |  234 |  141 |
|            33-66-148-197.as37497.za.net -    2 | 1731 | 1713 |  141 |  141 |  217 |  142 |
|ge-0-1-0-68.peering1.the.lon1.coreix.net -    1 | 1768 | 1759 |  141 |  142 |  228 |  142 |
|        xe-5-1.edge4.enf.lon5.coreix.net -    1 | 1763 | 1753 |  142 |  144 |  230 |  142 |
|        85.13.221.178.reverse.coreix.net -    1 | 1755 | 1743 |  141 |  142 |  281 |  142 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
   WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider
 

Seeyou

Expert Member
Joined
May 1, 2007
Messages
1,751
Addendum to the above - does seem to be affecting my NNTP downloads too. May be nitpicking, but my line maxes to EU NNTP servers at ~19.8MB/sec on 50 connections, whereas before it would hit 21-22MB/sec. Presumably the PL. Could this be an MTU issue? My ER-X is showing MTU is auto set to 1492 on the PPPoE connection.
 
Top