Afrihost - Pure Fibre Feedback Thread

Bryn

Doubleplusgood
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
15,462
Speeds look normal for me on Openserve in PE. Haven't noticed degraded service in quite a while now.
 

eosman

Active Member
Joined
May 24, 2011
Messages
44
Speeds look normal for me on Openserve in PE. Haven't noticed degraded service in quite a while now.
We suspect it’s isolated to Vumatel but they refuse without your ISP getting involved first which I understand but how much screenshots do we need to send. There’s a thread on twitter running with a few of us across multiple ISPs complaining to Vumatel.
 

VegOtter

Senior Member
Joined
May 26, 2010
Messages
698
oh my goodness. I was running like 8 twitch tabs without any buffering... What is this sorcery. Since the cable breaks I could barely manage a single twitch stream.
 

Hype

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
172
@AfriMan has the old routing been reverted back to now that the WACS is back on line?
My pings to mainland EU servers are on average 30-40ms higher than they used to be pre break.
play.atlantiss.eu is one of the addresses I'm using - it has ICMP denied but see MTR below.

|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| 192.168.0.2 - 0 | 275 | 275 | 0 | 0 | 13 | 0 |
| 192.168.1.1 - 0 | 275 | 275 | 0 | 0 | 24 | 0 |
| 102.182.229.1 - 0 | 275 | 275 | 2 | 4 | 45 | 2 |
| 169.1.1.165 - 0 | 275 | 275 | 2 | 3 | 26 | 2 |
| 169.1.1.193 - 0 | 275 | 275 | 0 | 1 | 13 | 1 |
| 169.1.21.91 - 0 | 275 | 275 | 1 | 1 | 18 | 2 |
| 196.25.199.141 - 0 | 275 | 275 | 1 | 4 | 50 | 7 |
| 10.189.30.2 - 0 | 275 | 275 | 163 | 163 | 177 | 164 |
| No response from host - 100 | 56 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 213.251.130.102 - 0 | 275 | 275 | 196 | 201 | 288 | 199 |
| No response from host - 100 | 56 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 56 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |

|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider
 

zulucat

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2010
Messages
653
I saw a message warning me about using VPN to access geo-locked content, I am not sure who the message was from or if it emanated from Afrihost's side because it just popped up on my screen. I did not read the terms and conditions entirely when I signed up (who does, right?)... I would like to know if it is against Afrihost policies to circumvent content geo-locking by using VPN or any other methods. Is it illegal? Should I stop? I need a bit of clarity - otherwise the service has been par excellence so far!
 

wingnut771

Executive Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
7,852
I saw a message warning me about using VPN to access geo-locked content, I am not sure who the message was from or if it emanated from Afrihost's side because it just popped up on my screen. I did not read the terms and conditions entirely when I signed up (who does, right?)... I would like to know if it is against Afrihost policies to circumvent content geo-locking by using VPN or any other methods. Is it illegal? Should I stop? I need a bit of clarity - otherwise the service has been par excellence so far!
ignore, carry on.
 

AfriGuy

Afrihost
Staff member
Company Rep
Joined
Jun 12, 2013
Messages
14,141
@AfriMan has the old routing been reverted back to now that the WACS is back on line?
My pings to mainland EU servers are on average 30-40ms higher than they used to be pre break.
play.atlantiss.eu is one of the addresses I'm using - it has ICMP denied but see MTR below.

|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| 192.168.0.2 - 0 | 275 | 275 | 0 | 0 | 13 | 0 |
| 192.168.1.1 - 0 | 275 | 275 | 0 | 0 | 24 | 0 |
| 102.182.229.1 - 0 | 275 | 275 | 2 | 4 | 45 | 2 |
| 169.1.1.165 - 0 | 275 | 275 | 2 | 3 | 26 | 2 |
| 169.1.1.193 - 0 | 275 | 275 | 0 | 1 | 13 | 1 |
| 169.1.21.91 - 0 | 275 | 275 | 1 | 1 | 18 | 2 |
| 196.25.199.141 - 0 | 275 | 275 | 1 | 4 | 50 | 7 |
| 10.189.30.2 - 0 | 275 | 275 | 163 | 163 | 177 | 164 |
| No response from host - 100 | 56 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 213.251.130.102 - 0 | 275 | 275 | 196 | 201 | 288 | 199 |
| No response from host - 100 | 56 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 56 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |

|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider
Hi Hype, sorry for the delay in getting back to you. The WACS is stable according to reports and the SAT cable is in the process of being repaired. Please email us at socialmedia@afrihost.com if you need any further assistance.
 

AfriGuy

Afrihost
Staff member
Company Rep
Joined
Jun 12, 2013
Messages
14,141
On the phone it seems to be depending on area, while traveling, the mobile connection is almost non-existent. On the fibre, its hit and miss, streaming and browsing giving issues, haven't been able to get down to a specific time as such. Most likely a range of issues, local cell tower problems, routing, submarine etc. Looking forward to the cables working again soon. Thanks.
Hi Brad, I also think the loadshedding could also be affecting the stability of your connection. What are speedtests showing with your connections in terms of performance?
 

AfriGuy

Afrihost
Staff member
Company Rep
Joined
Jun 12, 2013
Messages
14,141
As WACS is now fixed - what is the plan to transition back over? @AfriMan

WACS S4 UK Break: The SA NREN WACS connectivity restored at 22h20 UTC and has been stable for the past 2 hours. We are awaiting confirmation that this is the final fix.
Sorry I haven't received feedback yet regarding any transition. But I will let you know once we have some sort of feedback.
 

AfriGuy

Afrihost
Staff member
Company Rep
Joined
Jun 12, 2013
Messages
14,141
Early hours of the morning.

I’m getting good speeds again. Logic tells me that a fibre break issue shouldn’t be time specific unless I’m mistaken here.

So either the issue is fixed now? Or the fibre break on the West Rand is not actually the problem and the Fibre Support team are piggy backing off that issue for all speed related calls without actually investigating if there’s a different issue on Vumatel’s network.

Just last week we had an issue that didn’t exist until it was fixed.
How are your speeds today?
 

AfriGuy

Afrihost
Staff member
Company Rep
Joined
Jun 12, 2013
Messages
14,141
Really struggled with international last night around 9PM. Nothing was watchable using real-debrid, no matter what quality I selected. Tried using NordVPN and that seemed to do the trick.
How are your internet speeds now?
 
Top