Afrihost - Pure Fibre Feedback Thread

AfriNatic

Afrihost Rep
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2016
Messages
736
Yeah everything pegging here, afrihost mobile, fibre connection, just...yeah. Bad connection. Somethings up...well down.
Hi bradza, all those services would be affected by the undersea cable fault, specifically international traffic. We haven't received any concrete feedback on when this will be resolved. Does it get worse at specific times?
 

bradza

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2012
Messages
293
Hi bradza, all those services would be affected by the undersea cable fault, specifically international traffic. We haven't received any concrete feedback on when this will be resolved. Does it get worse at specific times?
On the phone it seems to be depending on area, while traveling, the mobile connection is almost non-existent. On the fibre, its hit and miss, streaming and browsing giving issues, haven't been able to get down to a specific time as such. Most likely a range of issues, local cell tower problems, routing, submarine etc. Looking forward to the cables working again soon. Thanks.
 

dotcat

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2005
Messages
837
As WACS is now fixed - what is the plan to transition back over? @AfriMan

WACS S4 UK Break: The SA NREN WACS connectivity restored at 22h20 UTC and has been stable for the past 2 hours. We are awaiting confirmation that this is the final fix.
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
17,471
Telkom Transit has not switched back yet but at least Seacom has so for now it seems good to go.
 

eosman

Active Member
Joined
May 24, 2011
Messages
44
Which area and infrastructure provider you on.

Got an email from Afrihost the West Rand break is causing my issues. Vuma Aerial 2AA4211E-0205-4EB4-8462-23ED8CB0AACB.jpeg
 

svenh

Active Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2015
Messages
30
20Mbps on FF is down to 1Mbps. I see the ping to London is more or less normal but the speed is tanked
 

Gekco

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
1,502
I waited from 16 JULY 2019 to have fibre installed, although the cables and boxes had been laid previously to that. On Wednesday last week the VUMATEL installers finally did the installation from the grey box outside. Since then the fibre has not been working, apparently (according to Afrihost), because VUMATEL has not provisioned the line yet. Despite daily calls to Afrihost Support (with holding times of 17-20 minutes in general), logging numerous support issues and emails, the issue has still not been resolved. Am I going to have to wait another 7 months or longer for the line to be operational?
 

eosman

Active Member
Joined
May 24, 2011
Messages
44
Early hours of the morning.

I’m getting good speeds again. Logic tells me that a fibre break issue shouldn’t be time specific unless I’m mistaken here.

So either the issue is fixed now? Or the fibre break on the West Rand is not actually the problem and the Fibre Support team are piggy backing off that issue for all speed related calls without actually investigating if there’s a different issue on Vumatel’s network.

Just last week we had an issue that didn’t exist until it was fixed.
 
Top