Afrihost - Pure Fibre Feedback Thread

Skankhunt

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2007
Messages
3,065
Let me reboot routers.
A few things like Telegram, imap mail, etc working, but regular browsing broken...

Writing this over LTE.

let me check if it isn't cloudflare.
 

Zertop

Expert Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2013
Messages
3,074
Not sure if a CDN provider is having issues, but I'm experiencing intermittent partial outages across a number of sites. Anyone else? :)

Edit: back to normal again!
 
Last edited:

Rocket-Boy

Executive Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2007
Messages
9,992
@AfriNatic have you had any complaints for Openserve fibre in East London?
Its been down since around 11am this morning, just failing on auth errors in the logs, but this happens every time Openserve has radius issues and normally comes back after a few hours.
I have restarted ONT/router a few times and the PPP connection just wont establish.

This is the log and it just repeats:
16:15:35 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: terminating... - disconnected 16:15:35 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: disconnected 16:15:45 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: initializing... 16:15:45 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: connecting... 16:15:55 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: terminating... - disconnected 16:15:55 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: disconnected 16:16:05 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: initializing... 16:16:05 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: connecting... 16:16:15 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: terminating... - disconnected

Normally when that happens its an Openserve issue and no account will authenticate until its resolved. It happens occasionally at night and is always back by the morning.
 

AfriNatic

Afrihost Rep
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2016
Messages
5,042
@AfriNatic have you had any complaints for Openserve fibre in East London?
Its been down since around 11am this morning, just failing on auth errors in the logs, but this happens every time Openserve has radius issues and normally comes back after a few hours.
I have restarted ONT/router a few times and the PPP connection just wont establish.

This is the log and it just repeats:
16:15:35 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: terminating... - disconnected 16:15:35 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: disconnected 16:15:45 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: initializing... 16:15:45 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: connecting... 16:15:55 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: terminating... - disconnected 16:15:55 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: disconnected 16:16:05 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: initializing... 16:16:05 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: connecting... 16:16:15 pppoe,ppp,info pppoe-out1: terminating... - disconnected

Normally when that happens its an Openserve issue and no account will authenticate until its resolved. It happens occasionally at night and is always back by the morning.

Possible that it might be an outage. Can you pm me your B number or account info so I can have a look if it's linked to an outage.
 

Rouxenator

Dank meme lord
Joined
Oct 31, 2007
Messages
40,419
Not a problem, just and observation. When downloading a whole load of torrents (well seeded) I used to go just a tad above 200mbps on my line with Cool Ideas. Now on Afrihost it hovers between 100mbps and 150mbps.

1633074884765.png
 

AfriNatic

Afrihost Rep
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2016
Messages
5,042
Not a problem, just and observation. When downloading a whole load of torrents (well seeded) I used to go just a tad above 200mbps on my line with Cool Ideas. Now on Afrihost it hovers between 100mbps and 150mbps.

View attachment 1157828

Should still be able to max your download speed.

What are your torrent cache settings looking like? Can you test with only 1 torrent running maybe the latest ubuntu torrent to see how well it performs? Also you can enable Ipv6 to find more peers.
 

S.Claus

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2017
Messages
1,636
Anyone else having really poor speeds on MFN in Pta?

4mb down / 100mb up on a 100mb line.
1.1.1.2.png
12124132741.png

@AfriNatic
 

AfriNatic

Afrihost Rep
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2016
Messages
5,042
MetroFibre is confirming an outage on social pages however we have not received an offician notice yet. We have asked for feedback.
 

minkukel

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2004
Messages
2,281
I have an interesting problem with my HUAWEI WiFi AX3. It just dies, the power light is dead. Pull out the power from the back and insert again. Whoops it powers up and work again.
 

AfriNatic

Afrihost Rep
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2016
Messages
5,042
I have an interesting problem with my HUAWEI WiFi AX3. It just dies, the power light is dead. Pull out the power from the back and insert again. Whoops it powers up and work again.

Hi,

Sounds like a faulty router. If you can try to replicate the issue on short video please log a return request in ClientZone. The system will charge you a R249 collection fee which will be credited once the router has been assessed and confirmed faulty.
 
Top