Afrihost - Pure Fibre Feedback Thread

Krypt0n1te

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2009
Messages
718
Not impressed up until now. After almost 3 weeks of testing I get rubbish real world latency.
I waited so so long to get Fibre only to realize the LTE service I received from both Afrihost and Mweb was much better.
Often speed tests reveal perfect connection but real world use is pathetic. Even my speed test is currently hovering between 0.5 and 2.5mbps.
 

RazorCPT

Active Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2014
Messages
81
Not impressed up until now. After almost 3 weeks of testing I get rubbish real world latency.
I waited so so long to get Fibre only to realize the LTE service I received from both Afrihost and Mweb was much better.
Often speed tests reveal perfect connection but real world use is pathetic. Even my speed test is currently hovering between 0.5 and 2.5mbps.
Is it not maybe a FNO issue? I'm on their 100/100 SADV package and been getting perfect performance from day one 24/7.

Have you tried doing some iperf and WinMTR tests to figure out where the issue lies?
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
13,988
Is it not maybe a FNO issue? I'm on their 100/100 SADV package and been getting perfect performance from day one 24/7.

Have you tried doing some iperf and WinMTR tests to figure out where the issue lies?
I get line speed 24/7 and that is 200Mbps. Latency in League of Legends is 183ms stable which is nice. Issue is not on Afrihost side.

@Krypt0n1te Post some MTR results so you can see where the latency is coming from.
 

Krypt0n1te

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2009
Messages
718
@RazorCPT and @cavedog, thank you so much for the replies.

I'll get a couple of tests done and revert back. I really want to like this service and not want to sound like your standard "let's bash my ISP" user.

Cheers.
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
13,988
@RazorCPT and @cavedog, thank you so much for the replies.

I'll get a couple of tests done and revert back. I really want to like this service and not want to sound like your standard "let's bash my ISP" user.

Cheers.
There are a couple of things I noticed when I switched from ADSL to LTE to Fibre.

ADSL you basically had the copper quality. DSLAM and exchange congestion the ISP and their issue with IPC and their network.

LTE you basically dealing with 1 ISP for everything. For example Telkom runs their towers and their network and transit it's all under them so things does not go wrong a lot and when it does everyone is usually affected.

Fibre with the fast speeds expected hey now I'm supposed to get a flawless experience and good speeds but then it has it's own challenges like TCP slowing things down on international speeds due to latency. TCP re transmits if the fibre line has packet loss. The ISP's connect to the cable provider. The ISPs network and transit provider. If you read through the fibre ISP threads one thing always comes up slow speeds and latency. Everyone can be on Afrihost but everyone can have a completely different experience just because of the way the cable providers network works.

So far in general Openserve seems to be the most stable cable provider followed by Vumatel and then probably SADV. Octotel, Frogfoot and some Vumatel clients always have issues with Packet loss. Openserve is the most expensive for ISPs but so far for me Openserve has been epic in every way possible. I will always choose Openserve above others personally unless I have Vumatel coverage because I want that cheap 1Gbps line :D
 

RazorCPT

Active Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2014
Messages
81
There are a couple of things I noticed when I switched from ADSL to LTE to Fibre.

ADSL you basically had the copper quality. DSLAM and exchange congestion the ISP and their issue with IPC and their network.

LTE you basically dealing with 1 ISP for everything. For example Telkom runs their towers and their network and transit it's all under them so things does not go wrong a lot and when it does everyone is usually affected.

Fibre with the fast speeds expected hey now I'm supposed to get a flawless experience and good speeds but then it has it's own challenges like TCP slowing things down on international speeds due to latency. TCP re transmits if the fibre line has packet loss. The ISP's connect to the cable provider. The ISPs network and transit provider. If you read through the fibre ISP threads one thing always comes up slow speeds and latency. Everyone can be on Afrihost but everyone can have a completely different experience just because of the way the cable providers network works.

So far in general Openserve seems to be the most stable cable provider followed by Vumatel and then probably SADV. Octotel, Frogfoot and some Vumatel clients always have issues with Packet loss. Openserve is the most expensive for ISPs but so far for me Openserve has been epic in every way possible. I will always choose Openserve above others personally unless I have Vumatel coverage because I want that cheap 1Gbps line :D
Nice comparison! My boss got an Openserve fibre link and I was concerned he would run into issues but I have to hand it to Telkom - that thing is rock solid. To be fair though, SADV have been a great close second on stability for me. If only they also offered 1gbps! :D
 

RazorCPT

Active Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2014
Messages
81
@RazorCPT and @cavedog, thank you so much for the replies.

I'll get a couple of tests done and revert back. I really want to like this service and not want to sound like your standard "let's bash my ISP" user.

Cheers.
Rad - I'm sure you'll get it sorted via mybb. Either by the community or one of Afrihosts many representatives :thumbsup:
 

AfriMan

Afrihost Representative
Company Rep
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
16,431
@AfriMan

My brother is playing a game where the server is situated in Singapore. Below is the ping with VPN and without.

With VPN
|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| 10.8.3.1 - 0 | 7 | 7 | 0 | 1 | 2 | 0 |
| 155.254.115.1 - 0 | 7 | 7 | 1 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| 10ge8-12.core2.bcn1.he.net - 0 | 7 | 7 | 1 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| e0-24.core1.dur1.he.net - 0 | 7 | 7 | 8 | 8 | 9 | 8 |
| 10ge0-48.core1.mba1.he.net - 0 | 7 | 7 | 55 | 56 | 62 | 62 |
| 10ge14-6.core1.jib1.he.net - 0 | 7 | 7 | 133 | 133 | 133 | 133 |
| 10ge3-19.core1.sin1.he.net - 0 | 7 | 7 | 212 | 212 | 212 | 212 |
|starhubinternet-as-as4657.e0-49.switch2.sin2.he.net - 0 | 7 | 7 | 213 | 213 | 214 | 213 |
| 203.118.6.86 - 0 | 7 | 7 | 213 | 213 | 214 | 213 |
| 203.116.189.182 - 0 | 7 | 7 | 213 | 213 | 214 | 213 |
| 203.118.6.33 - 0 | 7 | 7 | 213 | 213 | 214 | 213 |
| an-atl-int11.starhub.net.sg - 0 | 7 | 7 | 214 | 214 | 214 | 214 |
| 203.116.9.42 - 0 | 7 | 7 | 213 | 213 | 214 | 213 |
| 203.116.154.186 - 0 | 7 | 7 | 213 | 213 | 213 | 213 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider

Without VPN
|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| dlinkrouter.Dlink - 0 | 10 | 10 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 |
| 165-73-56-1.ip.afrihost.joburg - 0 | 10 | 10 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 0 |
| 169-1-21-101.ip.afrihost.co.za - 0 | 10 | 10 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 |
| he.ixp.joburg - 0 | 10 | 10 | 1 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| 196-10-141-42.ixp.durban - 0 | 10 | 10 | 9 | 11 | 22 | 10 |
| 10ge0-48.core1.mba1.he.net - 0 | 10 | 10 | 56 | 56 | 57 | 56 |
| 10ge14-6.core1.jib1.he.net - 0 | 10 | 10 | 134 | 134 | 135 | 134 |
| 10ge3-19.core1.sin1.he.net - 0 | 10 | 10 | 213 | 213 | 218 | 213 |
|starhubinternet-as-as4657.e0-49.switch2.sin2.he.net - 0 | 10 | 10 | 277 | 277 | 278 | 277 |
| 203.118.6.82 - 0 | 10 | 10 | 278 | 278 | 279 | 278 |
| 203.116.189.178 - 0 | 10 | 10 | 267 | 267 | 272 | 267 |
| 203.118.6.29 - 0 | 10 | 10 | 266 | 266 | 272 | 266 |
| an-atl-int11.starhub.net.sg - 0 | 10 | 10 | 279 | 279 | 280 | 279 |
| 203.116.9.42 - 0 | 10 | 10 | 269 | 269 | 271 | 269 |
| 203.116.154.186 - 0 | 10 | 10 | 267 | 267 | 268 | 267 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider

Possible to optimise?
It's possible to optimise, I'm sure. Question is always where we need to optimise and who needs to do the work. Generally speaking, for international traffic that sits with our overseas partners. Changing routing or peering is a pretty big process, so it's not going to be an overnight solution.

Let me kick these results up the chain and see where would possibly improve.
 

AfriMan

Afrihost Representative
Company Rep
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
16,431
All I get for that is "page could not be found". Router details confirm that there is no connection to the net. And if I try to visit other sites it gives me a "connection not secured" warning. And that's as far as it lets me go.

To be clear, I'm using the router provided by Afrihost, with whatever preconfigured details might have been done to it.

And just to ask: other ISP's use a PPPoE connection with Vuma Aerial, for AH it's a dynamic IPv4 connection?
We definitely use DHCP with Vuma. If you're using the same router you did with previous ISP, you may need to make some changes there, cos you don't need a username and password to log in.

The easiest route would be for me to arrange a call for you. We can check what's happening on our side and through Vuma's portal and see what we can do to get everything working as expected.
 

AfriMan

Afrihost Representative
Company Rep
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
16,431
Not impressed up until now. After almost 3 weeks of testing I get rubbish real world latency.
I waited so so long to get Fibre only to realize the LTE service I received from both Afrihost and Mweb was much better.
Often speed tests reveal perfect connection but real world use is pathetic. Even my speed test is currently hovering between 0.5 and 2.5mbps.
Sounds like there is something very wrong - probably a technical line issue or networking problem.

The network is definitely running like a bomb - no reported issues and our monitoring shows heaps of available capacity and low latency.

Can you drop me a PM so I can get you some help with troubleshooting this?
 

jadiwolv

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2011
Messages
160
I'm getting full source quality on Twitch, even though I'm also watching a 4K series (Wu Assassins, if you like the old kung fu vibes).

Pretty sure Twitch is running great on the network. Your latency also looks pretty much perfect for UK.
Hi

It is constant. My speed is fine,my latency is fine but my twitch quality is not up to standrad at all.

I cant get my twitch streams to run even at 360p without buffering every 3 seconds. I am convinced i am being throttled / shaped.

When I connect my mobile data to my PC via USB modem it works 100%.
 

wingnut771

Executive Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
5,815
Hi

It is constant. My speed is fine,my latency is fine but my twitch quality is not up to standrad at all.

I cant get my twitch streams to run even at 360p without buffering every 3 seconds. I am convinced i am being throttled / shaped.

When I connect my mobile data to my PC via USB modem it works 100%.
if you're on windows pc, try downloading tcpoptimizer4, set slider to your linespeed, click optimize, restart.
 

Vernon

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2006
Messages
1,224
We definitely use DHCP with Vuma. If you're using the same router you did with previous ISP, you may need to make some changes there, cos you don't need a username and password to log in.
I clearly stated I'm using the router provided by you guys (D-Link. DIR-825) when trying to access the AH network.

This is what I get:

 

wingnut771

Executive Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
5,815
That's exactly the question I asked them here (a few posts above) and on whatsapp support.

This was their answer: "No, Vuma Aerial does not require PPPoE details. Other ISP's might use a PPPoE connection with Vuma Aerial, not us."
ok, either they don't know their arse from their elbow, or this is new to me that it's not needed, ask them to explain then why it isn't working.
 
Top