From ADSL to Wireless (what to do?)

Navash

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2016
Messages
17
Hi Guys. I moved last week from Durban to Benoni. There is no Telkom infrastructure here which forces me to go wireless.
In Durban I had the Voice package, ADSL Data 10gig package and fax.

I need all these here as well.

I have the Pace 921NVX router but it doesnt take a sim card. Is there anyway I can use wifi from it without a landline?

Pleease advise which service provider i should use and what packages are good.

Im clueless when it comes to these things.

Thanks
 

Navash

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2016
Messages
17
Hi Guys. I moved last week from Durban to Benoni. There is no Telkom infrastructure here which forces me to go wireless.
In Durban I had the Voice package, ADSL Data 10gig package and fax.

I need all these here as well.

I have the Pace 921NVX router but it doesnt take a sim card. Is there anyway I can use wifi from it without a landline?

Pleease advise which service provider i should use and what packages are good.

Im clueless when it comes to these things.

Thanks
 

Faux_Grey

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2014
Messages
153
Depends where you are in Benoni.

I know nepic.co.za covers most of it (Except me.)
 

Navash

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2016
Messages
17
Hi Faux

Im in a suburb called "The Stewards" Its in Lakefield Benoni. I live in an Estate.
 

neilronaldson

Senior Member
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
554
We signed up with LegendsConnect and they in Boksburg - send an email to www.wapa.co.za with your address they will plot it and assign it to a wireless provider who has line of sight, they will obviously need to check your house for LOS.

you will be better on wireless Thumbs up all the way
 

Faux_Grey

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2014
Messages
153
I'm surprised there isn't any telkom lines there..

I know for sure nepic.co.za will be able to help you out, I see their signs all over that area, especially farramere.
If you're wanting a wider selection, I can suggest you fill out this page: http://www.wapa.org.za/coverage/request/
Whoever has coverage in your location will contact you.
 

Navash

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2016
Messages
17
Thank you Neil. I sent a message via Wapa and they responded that I dont have coverage.
Update: I got a call from Legends, They will need to install a dish but we are not allowed to make alterations to the unit so thats a miss
 
Last edited:

Navash

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2016
Messages
17
I'm surprised too.

Another downer is i am not allowed to do any alterations to the unit so a dish cannot be installed for wireless.

I sent a message over Wapa now.
Thanks Faux
 

MickeyD

RIP
Joined
Oct 4, 2010
Messages
139,117
I'm surprised too.

Another downer is i am not allowed to do any alterations to the unit so a dish cannot be installed for wireless.

I sent a message over Wapa now.
Thanks Faux
Blame the developer of the Estate. It's not the fault of any of the telecomms network providers.
 

Navash

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2016
Messages
17
I have a pace 921VNX router. Is there any way i can use that to connect my phone and laptop to wifi? It can plug a dongle too
 

Ockie

Resident Lead Bender
Joined
Feb 16, 2008
Messages
50,176
I have a pace 921VNX router. Is there any way i can use that to connect my phone and laptop to wifi? It can plug a dongle too
Hello Navash. The options I have sent you includes a new router. If you elect to take a Voip line together with it, then we supply you with either a 087 or 010 Joburg code (which ever you prefer). You then take a normal analogue phone and plug it into the analogue jack in the back. With a splitter, you can even plug in your fax machine if need be. No monthly fee for the voip, just pay for the calls you make and then the monthly sub for the package of your choice.
 
Joined
May 9, 2012
Messages
7,794
If you don't have Telkom lines and aren't allowed to mount dishes/antennae then 3G/LTE is your only option.

AFAIK there are no WISPS that operate without an antenna of some sort.
 

Geoff.D

Honorary Master
Joined
Aug 4, 2005
Messages
10,710
If you don't have Telkom lines and aren't allowed to mount dishes/antennae then 3G/LTE is your only option.

AFAIK there are no WISPS that operate without an antenna of some sort.
No here is another option ..... MOVE to a place where you can get proper services.

I'm surprised too.

Another downer is i am not allowed to do any alterations to the unit so a dish cannot be installed for wireless.

I sent a message over Wapa now.
Thanks Faux
Pretty much sums it all up. Choosing a place to live requires plenty more research than just looking at the property!

Basically your problems are all of your own making .....
 

Navash

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2016
Messages
17
We were rushed into finding a place within a week.

We will eventually move but for now i still need to find a solution
 

Navash

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2016
Messages
17
Thank you.

So far your solution sounds best Ockie
 
Last edited:
Top