[RELEASE] DStv Now KODI Add-on

Spiderman_RT

Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2019
Messages
27
It may be a caching issues. Your old API calls were likely cached either on your device or ISP. Switching to the new API will cause the requests to be retrieved from the server directly and then cached.

The code is there for all to see, nothing was added that would slow anything down. If anything, the new API calls were quicker for me (although that could also be a caching thing).

You are welcome to use any version you like of course, but fair warning, DSTV will eventually discontinue the V2 API's and your version will stop working at some point.
Would the clear cach option in this add-on then resolve the caching issues?
 

Spiderman_RT

Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2019
Messages
27
Well I for one am using your new version on my Amlogic s912 with coreelec 9.3 and performance is on par with the last release.

Everything including the new categories is working fine and I appreciate your work very much thank you.
Also tested the new version on my raspberry pi B. @COMPUTEK the initial start was slow but once caching is done it works like previous versions. @BrettRussellZA thanks for the update.
 

cpu.

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
4,498
Anyone managed to install 0.9.10 on a Raspberry Pi (3B).

I get ”failed to install addon from zip file".
 

cpu.

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
4,498
Mine is working raspberry pi 3B with libreelec. Currently watching WWE RAW on the sport content.
I might have to update Kodi to the latest. Perhaps the version updates in the latest zip requires it.
 

cpu.

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
4,498
I have 18.1 Leia.
I installed Kodi 18.3 and had the same problem... don't want to install. I downloaded Dstv Now using SSH and wget.

Then I downloaded to my tablet and used Solid Explorer and samba to copy it over. Success!

At least now I have a freshly installed Kodi with all the latest updates.
 

Spiderman_RT

Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2019
Messages
27
I installed Kodi 18.3 and had the same problem... don't want to install. I downloaded Dstv Now using SSH and wget.

Then I downloaded to my tablet and used Solid Explorer and samba to copy it over. Success!

At least now I have a freshly installed Kodi with all the latest updates.
I'm happy you got it sorted. What do you think of new content? It's awesome. Thanks @BrettRussellZA
 

js9241698

Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2019
Messages
27
0.9.11 just released.

Add Movies, Sport, Kids (thanks BrettRussellZA)
Add Country and package support (thanks BrettRussellZA)
Update to matthuisman latest common
Add new quality select
Fanart for Tv Shows
Add search
More info for video items (duration, genre etc)
Dont use io (fixes Xbox one errors)

You may need to logout and then login again after update

Get it here:
https://mybroadband.co.za/forum/threads/release-dstv-now-kodi-add-on.977513/page-6#post-23242212

@chewiesw
This latest version allows you set a default quality in add-on settings
This value applies only to this add-on
You can also open context menu on any item and select "Play at quality" to play at a different quality

@BrettRussellZA
Neither myself or Matt Huisman had any messages from you - not sure what happend.
Anyway, I downloaded your code and merged in the changes.
I then did quite a big refactor / tidy up which removed a lot of duplicate code.
Also removed quite a few hard-coded errors etc.
Please make contact if you have any other improvements and we can get them in.
Please make sure they are based on this latest version.
And also don't make changes to anything in matthuisman folder as that's common code and updated independently.
 
Last edited:

WiseCrack

Expert Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2005
Messages
1,869
Thanks what does the passthrough setting do in quality settings? I have it set to best on my 50/50 fibre line should I change it to passthrough?
 

Bikerbob

New Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2019
Messages
1
Thanks to all for the work put into the add-on.

Just wondering if there is a way to add the Movies, Tv Shows, etc. to a there own group in IPTV Simple Client?
 

WiseCrack

Expert Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2005
Messages
1,869
I have noticed on my S912 Tv box using Coreelec 9.0.3 official stable version that when changing channels on the fly the buffer drops to 10-12% and I will have to press pause for a short while for the buffer to fill up before resuming otherwise I get skipped frames. This could be a simple pvr problem and nothing to do with the app.
 

WiseCrack

Expert Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2005
Messages
1,869
Thanks for the reply, but I would not know where to begin :)

I just press pause on my remote for a couple of seconds the buffer runs full when I view with ctrl shift O and I have no more issues.
 

akescpt

Honorary Master
Joined
Aug 12, 2008
Messages
20,799
0.9.5 just uploaded

New add-on setting for setting the Inputstream quality.
Find it under Addon Settings > Playback > Set Inputstream Quality.

Sort by Episode when listing seasons.
This makes Kodi show the episode number and puts in correct ordering.

The big feature is support for Matts IPTV Merge plugin.
This allows very easy EPG support via Kodi's TV menu.


View attachment 688971
View attachment 688973

All you have to do is install his IPTV Merge plugin:
https://www.matthuisman.nz/2019/02/iptv-merge-kodi-add-on.html

1) Go into IPTV Merge add-on settings and click "Setup IPTV Simple Client".
2) Go to Playlist > Add Playlist > Addon > DStv Now
3) Go to EPG > Add EPG > Addon > DStv Now
3) Press "Merge Now"
4) Wait 30 seconds
5) Done.

You will now have full epg & kodi tv support via Kodi "Tv" menu (see images below)

Note:
DStv epg does not return EPG for the current day for some reason.
https://www.dstv.co.za/guide/ (won't show anything for today)

So, the EPG will start working from the day after you run it.
IPTV Merge will automatically grab new epg data every 24 hours.

Once again, huge props to Matt Huisman for his work.
IPTV Merge add-on makes it so easy to add EPG support to a plugin.

If you like his work, you can shout him a coffee via the Paypal link at the bottom of his post below:
https://www.matthuisman.nz/2018/12/dstv-now-kodi-add-on.html

For any questions / help regarding IPTV Merge, visit his IPTV Merge blog post above and click the reddit icon.

You can download this new version from my post below:
https://mybroadband.co.za/forum/threads/release-dstv-now-kodi-add-on.977513/page-6#post-23242212

Thanks,

Jeremy
do i still need to do this for it to work?
 
Top