Afrihost - Pure Fibre Feedback Thread

AfriNatic

Afrihost Rep
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2016
Messages
3,815
VPN

|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| No response from host - 100 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| unassigned.psychz.net - 0 | 11 | 11 | 2 | 5 | 29 | 2 |
| 10.80.80.1 - 0 | 11 | 11 | 1 | 9 | 54 | 5 |
| 206.249.1.17 - 0 | 11 | 11 | 1 | 6 | 28 | 5 |
| be2436.ccr21.lon02.atlas.cogentco.com - 0 | 11 | 11 | 165 | 170 | 193 | 169 |
| be3008.ccr21.lon01.atlas.cogentco.com - 0 | 11 | 11 | 161 | 165 | 189 | 164 |
| ldn-bb4-link.ip.twelve99.net - 0 | 11 | 11 | 162 | 175 | 237 | 174 |
| slou-b1-link.ip.twelve99.net - 15 | 7 | 6 | 162 | 173 | 193 | 175 |
| No response from host - 100 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| eu.hosted.co.za - 0 | 11 | 11 | 163 | 171 | 193 | 175 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider


No VPN

|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| No response from host - 100 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 165-73-56-1.ip.afrihost.joburg - 0 | 26 | 26 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 1 |
| 169-1-21-91.ip.afrihost.co.za - 0 | 26 | 26 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 1 |
| rtdcj-os-cer-1-wan.osnet.co.za - 0 | 26 | 26 | 2 | 2 | 6 | 2 |
| 10.189.30.2 - 0 | 26 | 26 | 167 | 167 | 168 | 167 |
| 195.66.226.25 - 0 | 26 | 26 | 211 | 241 | 265 | 229 |
| 138.197.251.141 - 0 | 26 | 26 | 208 | 238 | 261 | 225 |
| No response from host - 100 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| eu.hosted.co.za - 0 | 26 | 26 | 229 | 241 | 259 | 253 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider

VERY bad tonight!

We have already ordered the necessary upgrades. We are waiting for the vendor to install these upgrades.

We have re routed some of the traffic to try an alleviate the issues experienced during peak time. We are hopeful it will be resolved in the next couple of days.

Apologies for the inconvenience caused.
 

blunt

Expert Member
Joined
May 1, 2006
Messages
3,129
We have already ordered the necessary upgrades. We are waiting for the vendor to install these upgrades.

We have re routed some of the traffic to try an alleviate the issues experienced during peak time. We are hopeful it will be resolved in the next couple of days.

Apologies for the inconvenience caused.
picking up stompies here, ordered additional capacity for what exactly?
 

blunt

Expert Member
Joined
May 1, 2006
Messages
3,129
@AfriNatic do you know the reason why AH has never partnered with MTN to provide connectivity over their fibre? CISP has offered on MTN for years.
 

AfriNatic

Afrihost Rep
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2016
Messages
3,815
@AfriNatic do you know the reason why AH has never partnered with MTN to provide connectivity over their fibre? CISP has offered on MTN for years.

I'm not aware of the details but I can try to find out from our Ops Manager.

We are working with a few new FNOs which should be going live soon which one includes Vodacom.
 

8SAIMAG

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2004
Messages
2,094
Need some help, openserve fibre is now active but I'm using a mikrotik with RouterOs v6.81. It did connect once and now I just get connecting/disconnecting. Does anybody have a working config for Afrihost+Openserve on Mikrotik ?
 

AfriNatic

Afrihost Rep
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2016
Messages
3,815
Need some help, openserve fibre is now active but I'm using a mikrotik with RouterOs v6.81. It did connect once and now I just get connecting/disconnecting. Does anybody have a working config for Afrihost+Openserve on Mikrotik ?

Is authentication failing or does it connect and disconnect?
 

blunt

Expert Member
Joined
May 1, 2006
Messages
3,129
Need some help, openserve fibre is now active but I'm using a mikrotik with RouterOs v6.81. It did connect once and now I just get connecting/disconnecting. Does anybody have a working config for Afrihost+Openserve on Mikrotik ?
should just be a new pppoe client make sure its set to dial over the port that is plugged directly into the ONT (nokia ont port nr 1 usually)
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2021-04-12 at 08.51.09.png
    Screenshot 2021-04-12 at 08.51.09.png
    203 KB · Views: 29
  • Screenshot 2021-04-12 at 08.50.50.png
    Screenshot 2021-04-12 at 08.50.50.png
    215.6 KB · Views: 29

8SAIMAG

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2004
Messages
2,094
Thanks guys, I try later again. I'll get bliksemed if I drop the internet connection again because the "goverment" is also working from home today.
 

8SAIMAG

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2004
Messages
2,094
Thanks guys, I try later again. I'll get bliksemed if I drop the internet connection again because the "goverment" is also working from home today.
Ok authentication is working now, but somewhere I screwed up the routing. Some more googling to be done.
 

vavyn

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
447
PIng cooked a little early today already.
Can confirm
|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| No response from host - 100 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 165-73-56-1.ip.afrihost.joburg - 0 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 7 | 146 | 1 |
| 169-1-21-91.ip.afrihost.co.za - 0 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 1 |
| rtdcj-os-cer-1-wan.osnet.co.za - 0 | 21 | 21 | 2 | 2 | 10 | 2 |
| 10.189.30.2 - 0 | 20 | 20 | 167 | 167 | 168 | 167 |
| 195.66.226.25 - 0 | 20 | 20 | 192 | 222 | 260 | 222 |
| 138.197.251.141 - 0 | 20 | 20 | 187 | 217 | 248 | 218 |
| No response from host - 100 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| eu.hosted.co.za - 0 | 20 | 20 | 186 | 223 | 241 | 218 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider

Usually around 170 ish.
 

AfriNatic

Afrihost Rep
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2016
Messages
3,815
PIng cooked a little early today already.

Can confirm
|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| No response from host - 100 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 165-73-56-1.ip.afrihost.joburg - 0 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 7 | 146 | 1 |
| 169-1-21-91.ip.afrihost.co.za - 0 | 21 | 21 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 1 |
| rtdcj-os-cer-1-wan.osnet.co.za - 0 | 21 | 21 | 2 | 2 | 10 | 2 |
| 10.189.30.2 - 0 | 20 | 20 | 167 | 167 | 168 | 167 |
| 195.66.226.25 - 0 | 20 | 20 | 192 | 222 | 260 | 222 |
| 138.197.251.141 - 0 | 20 | 20 | 187 | 217 | 248 | 218 |
| No response from host - 100 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| eu.hosted.co.za - 0 | 20 | 20 | 186 | 223 | 241 | 218 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider

Usually around 170 ish.

We are working with our upstream provider. We have an ETA of anytime before the 16th for this to be resolved.

Apologies for the poor experience.
 

AfriNatic

Afrihost Rep
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2016
Messages
3,815
How long does it normally take to activate account after installation?

Who is the FNO? If it's Openserve then the time the technician leaves the line is active and attempts to dial pppoe will trigger the activation.
 
Top