• You are not registered on MyBroadband, which means you miss out on great benefits. To join our community is very easy, and completely free. Register now.
  • New Two-Day Giveaway - Enter Here

gidzekse

Active Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2016
Messages
56
Logged a ticket regarding the international connectivity (Ticket ID: COOL-20180712-123192) and added tests done with Rain LTE for comparison, fibre details: vumatel aerial 200/200 in kensington

Speedtest results:

Fibre:

Control:

Vodafone UK London:

Vodafone NL:


Rain LTE:

Control:

Vodafone UK London:

Vodafone NL:


Traceroute results:

Fibre:

traceroute to lochness.seedboxes.cc (185.149.90.82), 64 hops max, 52 byte packets
1 192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1) 5.242 ms 6.129 ms 3.770 ms
2 154.0.0.113 (154.0.0.113) 4.666 ms 7.912 ms 6.795 ms
3 154.0.4.193 (154.0.4.193) 6.605 ms 4.232 ms 16.746 ms
4 154.0.1.81 (154.0.1.81) 3.001 ms 5.222 ms 6.010 ms
5 154.0.1.18 (154.0.1.18) 70.646 ms 4.491 ms 9.477 ms
6 154.0.2.118 (154.0.2.118) 6.958 ms 4.431 ms 3.273 ms
7 154.0.3.114 (154.0.3.114) 3.968 ms 3.507 ms 3.491 ms
8 154.0.1.214 (154.0.1.214) 162.705 ms 162.571 ms 162.703 ms
9 20ge.linx-jnpr.th-n.i3d.net (195.66.225.146) 163.842 ms 163.304 ms 165.257 ms
10 30ge.cr1-lr0.smartdc.rtm.i3d.net (109.200.218.173) 169.928 ms 241.542 ms 169.992 ms
11 0 (5.200.30.161) 299.609 ms 170.668 ms 171.477 ms
12 185.149.88.26 (185.149.88.26) 305.606 ms 173.131 ms 173.084 ms
13 185.149.90.82 (185.149.90.82) 176.614 ms 174.193 ms 172.875 ms

Rain LTE:

traceroute to lochness.seedboxes.cc (185.149.90.82), 64 hops max, 52 byte packets
1 homerouter.cpe (192.168.8.1) 1.614 ms 1.384 ms 3.780 ms
2 * * *
3 41.73.34.193 (41.73.34.193) 27.639 ms 27.781 ms 24.722 ms
4 41.73.34.205 (41.73.34.205) 21.265 ms 22.738 ms 19.974 ms
5 * * *
6 41.73.34.225 (41.73.34.225) 27.424 ms 23.266 ms 19.122 ms
7 196.250.232.25 (196.250.232.25) 19.918 ms 19.536 ms 23.684 ms
8 154.66.247.250 (154.66.247.250) 182.372 ms 181.489 ms 179.802 ms
9 154.66.247.249 (154.66.247.249) 185.235 ms 211.291 ms
154.66.247.203 (154.66.247.203) 198.887 ms
10 154.66.247.134 (154.66.247.134) 183.137 ms 187.508 ms
154.66.247.146 (154.66.247.146) 185.172 ms
11 80.249.213.133 (80.249.213.133) 204.303 ms 189.384 ms 184.997 ms
12 185.149.88.26 (185.149.88.26) 203.850 ms 189.319 ms
185.149.88.22 (185.149.88.22) 193.799 ms
13 185.149.90.82 (185.149.90.82) 194.505 ms 190.279 ms 193.766 ms
 

kripstoe

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2012
Messages
3,450
Yeah thanks, I am trying to establish if it was only that URL as the issue or "all http" as stated.
Thanks. I'll test again later tonight. I did also test a couple of other file downloads and they were all quite slow. Is there anything specific you'd want me to look at or test?
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
4,233
Logged a ticket regarding the international connectivity (Ticket ID: COOL-20180712-123192) and added tests done with Rain LTE for comparison, fibre details: vumatel aerial 200/200 in kensington

Speedtest results:

Fibre:

Control:

Vodafone UK London:

Vodafone NL:


Rain LTE:

Control:

Vodafone UK London:

Vodafone NL:


Traceroute results:

Fibre:

traceroute to lochness.seedboxes.cc (185.149.90.82), 64 hops max, 52 byte packets
1 192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1) 5.242 ms 6.129 ms 3.770 ms
2 154.0.0.113 (154.0.0.113) 4.666 ms 7.912 ms 6.795 ms
3 154.0.4.193 (154.0.4.193) 6.605 ms 4.232 ms 16.746 ms
4 154.0.1.81 (154.0.1.81) 3.001 ms 5.222 ms 6.010 ms
5 154.0.1.18 (154.0.1.18) 70.646 ms 4.491 ms 9.477 ms
6 154.0.2.118 (154.0.2.118) 6.958 ms 4.431 ms 3.273 ms
7 154.0.3.114 (154.0.3.114) 3.968 ms 3.507 ms 3.491 ms
8 154.0.1.214 (154.0.1.214) 162.705 ms 162.571 ms 162.703 ms
9 20ge.linx-jnpr.th-n.i3d.net (195.66.225.146) 163.842 ms 163.304 ms 165.257 ms
10 30ge.cr1-lr0.smartdc.rtm.i3d.net (109.200.218.173) 169.928 ms 241.542 ms 169.992 ms
11 0 (5.200.30.161) 299.609 ms 170.668 ms 171.477 ms
12 185.149.88.26 (185.149.88.26) 305.606 ms 173.131 ms 173.084 ms
13 185.149.90.82 (185.149.90.82) 176.614 ms 174.193 ms 172.875 ms

Rain LTE:

traceroute to lochness.seedboxes.cc (185.149.90.82), 64 hops max, 52 byte packets
1 homerouter.cpe (192.168.8.1) 1.614 ms 1.384 ms 3.780 ms
2 * * *
3 41.73.34.193 (41.73.34.193) 27.639 ms 27.781 ms 24.722 ms
4 41.73.34.205 (41.73.34.205) 21.265 ms 22.738 ms 19.974 ms
5 * * *
6 41.73.34.225 (41.73.34.225) 27.424 ms 23.266 ms 19.122 ms
7 196.250.232.25 (196.250.232.25) 19.918 ms 19.536 ms 23.684 ms
8 154.66.247.250 (154.66.247.250) 182.372 ms 181.489 ms 179.802 ms
9 154.66.247.249 (154.66.247.249) 185.235 ms 211.291 ms
154.66.247.203 (154.66.247.203) 198.887 ms
10 154.66.247.134 (154.66.247.134) 183.137 ms 187.508 ms
154.66.247.146 (154.66.247.146) 185.172 ms
11 80.249.213.133 (80.249.213.133) 204.303 ms 189.384 ms 184.997 ms
12 185.149.88.26 (185.149.88.26) 203.850 ms 189.319 ms
185.149.88.22 (185.149.88.22) 193.799 ms
13 185.149.90.82 (185.149.90.82) 194.505 ms 190.279 ms 193.766 ms
Thanks will check it out, which router are you using and this is on cable yes?
 

jasweb

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
694
Good news MetroFibre has activated my line and I got my CI router now can't wait to get home and test my new line
Which router did you get with MFN? Also going to go MFN and CI (when MFN ever gets back to me with when we will be live).. Complex wired en April. Streets seems done about month ago.. Just nobody knows when we can sign up.
 

Nicholas Marzio

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
158
Think I know what it is, should be resolved in a few mins.
Everything is looking good now! What needed to be changed?

Also thank you for the help! :)

Code:
[admin@MARZIO-CORE] > tool traceroute 1.1.1.1    
 # ADDRESS                          LOSS SENT    LAST     AVG    BEST   WORST
 1 155.93.243.1                       0%    7   0.4ms     0.4     0.4     0.6
 2 154.0.1.125                        0%    7   0.3ms     0.3     0.3     0.4
 3 154.0.1.13                         0%    7   0.5ms     0.5     0.5     0.6
 4 196.10.140.198                     0%    7   0.6ms     0.6     0.6     0.7
 5 1.1.1.1                            0%    7   0.6ms     0.6     0.5     0.8
-- [Q quit|D dump|C-z pause]
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
4,233
Everything is looking good now! What needed to be changed?

Also thank you for the help! :)

Code:
[admin@MARZIO-CORE] > tool traceroute 1.1.1.1    
 # ADDRESS                          LOSS SENT    LAST     AVG    BEST   WORST
 1 155.93.243.1                       0%    7   0.4ms     0.4     0.4     0.6
 2 154.0.1.125                        0%    7   0.3ms     0.3     0.3     0.4
 3 154.0.1.13                         0%    7   0.5ms     0.5     0.5     0.6
 4 196.10.140.198                     0%    7   0.6ms     0.6     0.6     0.7
 5 1.1.1.1                            0%    7   0.6ms     0.6     0.5     0.8
-- [Q quit|D dump|C-z pause]
Just some routing tweak, glad it's sorted.
 

gidzekse

Active Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2016
Messages
56
Thanks will check it out, which router are you using and this is on cable yes?

[MENTION=394133]PBCool[/MENTION] Who is your primary upstream provider? Looking deeper into the routing it seems like it's going through IS? I can see you peer with IS, Liquid, Seacom, and WACS so traffic internationally has to go through one of those.
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
4,233
[MENTION=394133]PBCool[/MENTION] Who is your primary upstream provider? Looking deeper into the routing it seems like it's going through IS? I can see you peer with IS, Liquid, Seacom, and WACS so traffic internationally has to go through one of those.
It's a couple, we get our own Layer2 to London where we Peer at LINX, our layer2 is via multiple carriers using WACS as a primary carrier and SAT3/Eassy as alternatives. We use IS for local transit in JHB and eNetworks in CPT.

Other than that we peer everywhere nationally, which would then include Liquid Seacom etc.

Our upstream in London is HE.
 

Orihalcon

Expert Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2010
Messages
2,948
Had some slight stutter on Twitch between 18:00 and 19:00 last night. But other than that it has been smooth sailing all the way.


Side note for folks that have done speed line speed upgrades on their accounts - what exactly is the process here? Do I just do everything through the VUMA portal? Do I cancel the current line package first and then select the new one or just select the new one?
 

Kloon

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2006
Messages
1,645
[MENTION=394133]PBCool[/MENTION] so I logged the ticket and provided all the info as requests and was told CISP will take the issue up with the line provider, ie Vumatel I presume in my case?

Just got a couple of questions regarding this, last night was again one of those nights where nothing was possible to watch via streaming, everything just buffered constantly untill about just after 10pm, however local was fine.

So my main question is, if Vuma is to blame for the capacity issue surely the issue should affect local traffic as well? I'm not too clued up on how the Vuma and CISP infrastructure works but I would think my line goes to a data center where my traffic gets handed off to my ISP from where it goes via their network and routes, or am I wrong here?

Just dificult to understand how Vuma would be to blame for slow international speeds during peak hours when my traffic is running through CISP? Also if it is the case that Vuma is the cause then surely this should affect all Vuma customers in my area no matter what ISP they are using?
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
4,233
Had some slight stutter on Twitch between 18:00 and 19:00 last night. But other than that it has been smooth sailing all the way.


Side note for folks that have done speed line speed upgrades on their accounts - what exactly is the process here? Do I just do everything through the VUMA portal? Do I cancel the current line package first and then select the new one or just select the new one?
If it's Vumatel trenched you can just order a new package via the Vuma portal, don't cancel first as this will attract a connection fee. We advise to try do this at month end to make billing a bit easier.
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
4,233
[MENTION=394133]PBCool[/MENTION] so I logged the ticket and provided all the info as requests and was told CISP will take the issue up with the line provider, ie Vumatel I presume in my case?

Just got a couple of questions regarding this, last night was again one of those nights where nothing was possible to watch via streaming, everything just buffered constantly untill about just after 10pm, however local was fine.

So my main question is, if Vuma is to blame for the capacity issue surely the issue should affect local traffic as well? I'm not too clued up on how the Vuma and CISP infrastructure works but I would think my line goes to a data center where my traffic gets handed off to my ISP from where it goes via their network and routes, or am I wrong here?

Just dificult to understand how Vuma would be to blame for slow international speeds during peak hours when my traffic is running through CISP? Also if it is the case that Vuma is the cause then surely this should affect all Vuma customers in my area no matter what ISP they are using?
So what happens when there is saturation on a backhaul link there will be packet loss, which on a local service can often not be noticed because the re-transmit times are low, if you had to think of a packet trying to reach overseas vs a local packet by the time a re-transmit has happened for the international packet, the local packet has already attempted 160x the amount of re-transmits, so natively the local traffic will "win".

This then has the same effect on all concurrent traffic for all providers at that point in time as you say. The common denominator here is the Vumatel network, if it was on our side then all our customers in Cape Town would have the same experience.
 
Last edited:

Orihalcon

Expert Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2010
Messages
2,948
If it's Vumatel trenched you can just order a new package via the Vuma portal, don't cancel first as this will attract a connection fee. We advise to try do this at month end to make billing a bit easier.
It is trenched.

Thank you. Will do it at month end then. Do you prefer last day of the month or 1st day of new month?
 
Top