Status
Not open for further replies.

TheRoDent

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
3,425
I am guilty of running wifi in a complex. When I run on the normal 2.4 ghz band my speeds are slower than when I run on 5 ghz, and I sometimes need to switch between the ranges to trouble shoot problems. I never used to have issues but an increasing number of my neighbours have LTE and their own wifi connections, which is obviously impacting me.

Going to have to figure out how to run a cable from our fiber downstairs to my room upstairs...
Cool, thanks for the feedback.

This is why our support always requests cabled tests.

And the same thing applies for packet loss over a Wifi connection affecting international speeds, as it does for a lossy fibre connection.
 

TheRoDent

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
3,425
Any feedback from Netstream with regards to the test system they put in place. A week should be more than enough for them to pick up that there is something wrong?
Netstream asked us if we changed anything because apparently clients have said speeds are better again.

We haven't.

I'm going to assume that you still have problems?
 

TheRoDent

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
3,425
Can I just bypass the usual first line support process and get one of your blackboxes please?

Just saw the reply on my ticket wibbling on about ‘test via a wired connection’ and ‘international speeds are not guaranteed beyond our borders’ ...


COOL-20190218-221237
Hi. I'm still waiting for my stock of more black boxes.

The unit in Cape Town is spending a day or two in Kenilworth, then going to Artyloop.

Pm me your name, address and contact number and you can have it next.
 

TranQ

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2009
Messages
126
Netstream asked us if we changed anything because apparently clients have said speeds are better again.

We haven't.

I'm going to assume that you still have problems?
There has been no improvement, less than 0.6Mbps during peak times on international. Local speeds have also started to slow down, over the weekends my internet crawls both local and international.
 

image132

Expert Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2010
Messages
1,090
Hi. I'm still waiting for my stock of more black boxes.

The unit in Cape Town is spending a day or two in Kenilworth, then going to Artyloop.

Pm me your name, address and contact number and you can have it next.
In an ideal world you guys would send one to every customer you have.

Would be awesome, customer logs a ticket. You guys log into their black box and immediately do tests on their line. No need to worry about how their network is built or if all their cables and switches are old and crusty. No need to worry about whether they use wifi or cabled, no need to teach the customers how to do tests and you're able to run whatever tests you want to off their line. You can show results directly to the FNO if they're at fault. No back and fourth needed. But then sadly reality kicks that idea out the window.

Either way its a good initiative, never had any ISP do anything close to this. Its got my approval.
 

adamr

Executive Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2005
Messages
6,255
1550584987895.png
1550585006078.png
1550585052984.png

so ive jumped ship from metro fibre and above is from rocketnet ... its slightly better but not much ... @PBCool you guys are right this is a metro fibre issue and IPC congestion !? so i owe you, Roelf and the team an apology ...
 
Last edited:

TheRoDent

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
3,425
In an ideal world you guys would send one to every customer you have.

Would be awesome, customer logs a ticket. You guys log into their black box and immediately do tests on their line. No need to worry about how their network is built or if all their cables and switches are old and crusty. No need to worry about whether they use wifi or cabled, no need to teach the customers how to do tests and you're able to run whatever tests you want to off their line. You can show results directly to the FNO if they're at fault. No back and fourth needed. But then sadly reality kicks that idea out the window.

Either way its a good initiative, never had any ISP do anything close to this. Its got my approval.
Indeed. I see a problem with a business model around it.

We have been considering using openwrt on our tplink routers and building tools to do exactly this kind of thing.
 

TheRoDent

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
3,425
View attachment 621556
View attachment 621558
View attachment 621562

so ive jumped ship from metro fibre and above is from rocketnet ... its slightly better but not much ... @PBCool you guys are right this is metro fibre issue and IPC congestion !? so i owe you, Roelf and the team an apology ...
It's Cool. Apology not required but accepted.

I'm sorry that we couldn't do more within the timeframe you expected.

As a new customer on our network I get that frustration.

All we can do is chisel away until we can resolve things.
 

adamr

Executive Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2005
Messages
6,255
It's Cool. Apology not required but accepted.

I'm sorry that we couldn't do more within the timeframe you expected.

As a new customer on our network I get that frustration.

All we can do is chisel away until we can resolve things.
have to do the principle thing and acknowledge when I'm wrong ... but more than that its now a definite that there is something on the Mfn network ... at least you have proof of it ... no way for me to know for certain unless I jumped ship

and if this helps you in some way ... then cool :)
 

TheRoDent

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
3,425
have to do the principle thing and acknowledge when I'm wrong ... but more than that its now a definite that there is something on the Mfn network ... at least you have proof of it ... no way for me to know for certain unless I jumped ship

and if this helps you in some way ... then cool :)
Just as a point of interest, what is your firsthop latency like now?
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
6,176
View attachment 621556
View attachment 621558
View attachment 621562

so ive jumped ship from metro fibre and above is from rocketnet ... its slightly better but not much ... @PBCool you guys are right this is metro fibre issue and IPC congestion !? so i owe you, Roelf and the team an apology ...
MFN have something similar to IPC but it isn't IPC per say, they have an access bandwidth fee at the NNI. Which was upgraded a while ago in lieu of a few complaints. But after doing so there has been no change, MFN also use PON as their last mile so a few factors can contribute to lost packets etc. It's just the process of proving this to the FNO and getting resolve. Most FNOs attitudes are simply if a local Speedtest gets line speed that's good enough. So it can be a bit of a struggle.
 

adamr

Executive Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2005
Messages
6,255
traceroute to www.coreix.net (85.13.193.200), 30 hops max, 38 byte packets
1 jhb-io-ter-car-7.directel.co.za (169.255.0.2) 3.123 ms 2.495 ms 2.352 ms
2 jhb-io-ter-ibr-1.directel.co.za (169.255.0.225) 2.617 ms 2.225 ms 2.428 ms
3 197.157.78.225 (197.157.78.225) 3.502 ms 3.333 ms 3.486 ms
4 * * *
5 agr2-isd-cr1-te0-0-0.wolcomm.net (197.157.77.11) 2.470 ms 2.693 ms 2.418 ms
6 * * *
7 cr1-mrs-et48.wolcomm.net (41.78.188.31) 2513.858 ms 1476.709 ms 1155.959 ms
8 cr1-amx-et46.wolcomm.net (41.78.188.199) 182.470 ms 182.312 ms 182.477 ms
9 agr1-amx-cr1-te0-1-0.wolcomm.net (197.157.77.193) 182.424 ms 182.377 ms 182.578 ms
10 77.67.124.89 (77.67.124.89) 183.021 ms 184.405 ms 183.254 ms
11 xe-7-0-1.cr5-lon2.ip4.gtt.net (89.149.183.30) 188.935 ms xe-4-2-3.cr5-lon2.ip4.gtt.net (141.136.107.213) 188.576 ms xe-1-2-1.cr5-lon2.ip4.gtt.net (213.254.214.77) 188.251 ms
12 coreix-gw.ip4.gtt.net (77.67.95.59) 174.243 ms 174.070 ms 174.389 ms
13 xe-6-1.edge4.enf.lon5.coreix.net (89.187.93.137) 184.901 ms 176.712 ms 176.508 ms

@TheRoDent
 

adamr

Executive Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2005
Messages
6,255
MFN have something similar to IPC but it isn't IPC per say, they have an access bandwidth fee at the NNI. Which was upgraded a while ago in lieu of a few complaints. But after doing so there has been no change, MFN also use PON as their last mile so a few factors can contribute to lost packets etc. It's just the process of proving this to the FNO and getting resolve. Most FNOs attitudes are simply if a local Speedtest gets line speed that's good enough. So it can be a bit of a struggle.
happy for you to use my usecase to prove to them it's an issue on their end. Anyway I can assist let me know ...
 

Fjorko

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2007
Messages
1,163
@PBCool - Openserve all done in CTN ? Will us folk here in PE feel a difference ? I believe we break out there right ?

Thanks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top