Status
Not open for further replies.

zolly

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2005
Messages
2,806
Welcome brother!

Join @MDE and myself in internet hell. We have candles, cookies and buffer wheels.

But seriously get in contact with @TheRoDent he's gathering evidence to show Octotel that our area (Claremont) is congested. You giving him info will load up more ammunition for him to fire at Octotel and hopefully get this resolved. MDE is part of some facebook group and he's shown that everyone in our area is suffering from this regardless of ISP. I'm afraid the proxy won't help you :(
Not concerned for now. Even when I had full line speed I had some issues. Hoped the proxy could help sort that out.
 

zolly

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2005
Messages
2,806
So guess who is also in Claremont and keeps on getting disconnected from games because of this?

@TheRoDent Also in Claremont. I have been getting in the range of 6-10 meg during peak hours which is honestly enough for me to play games and my bro to stream, but this is ridiculous.
 

jannier

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
Messages
1,108
no, you have to enter it into your network/browser settings. Google how to enter a proxy into your browser.
 

Neville

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
166
No internet since after 6pm this evening. Called the CISP call centre and got a prerecorded message saying they were aware of a problem with the Octotel network in (among others) the West Beach area. Does Parklands - Cape Town (Table View) fall under the West Beach area on the Octotel network? Since CISP closes at 8pm, what do we do after that when there is no internet? Candles don't do it in this case.
 

DrJohnZoidberg

Honorary Master
Joined
Jul 24, 2006
Messages
21,107
Still offline here. Is anyone else affected by the Octotel outage in Cape Town - thought there would be more fuss about it here.
 

Phinix

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
967
@TheRoDent Twitch was basically perfect on the proxy tonight. Almost no buffering.

2019-02-27_20-40-13.png

So what does this mean?
Does this help you narrow down the issue or is using this proxy the permanent solution?
 

Quintus26

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2009
Messages
107
Just want to pop in and say, everything is working brilliantly on my side. Pretoria East Openserve. Happiest I have been with an internet connection. I used to be on a Telkom LTE and that was so-so. Had some nights where I'd tweet them in a rage. Cool Ideas is far superior and I have only had to ask about a dip in speed twice in the space of six months. I am a happy camper. I stream tons of video all day long. Please keep doing what you're doing on this side of the country, Cool Ideas.
 

TheRoDent

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
3,427
@TheRoDent Twitch was basically perfect on the proxy tonight. Almost no buffering.

View attachment 625606

So what does this mean?
Does this help you narrow down the issue or is using this proxy the permanent solution?
It is rather curious. The proxy server sits on an IP range exactly like we give out to clients, and it sits next to our handoff routers from Openserve etc, and follows the same path internationally as end users.

From what I've been able to determine, justin.tv (Twitch's previous name) peers at LINX (the London Internet Exchange) where we directly peer too.

Streams are served by hosts such as video-edge-c67aac.lhr03.no-abs.hls.ttvnw.net which I'm unable to traceroute or ping to past justin.tv's peering point at LINX, so they are filtering that for some reason.

PBCool and are going to see if de-peering them at LINX and using HE directly for transit to them makes a difference.

The other obvious difference that the proxy does make is that it's TCP stack is heavily tweaked, it uses proper congestion control etc, all the beautiful things of a Linux box. And it then relays the stream over low latency to you as the end-user where retransmissions and packet loss makes very little difference to throughput but that is not the issue in your case as your single and multithreaded speedtests easily max your line.

You did mention before that it works 100% on a VOX's account. Could you provide me a traceroute to video-edge-c67aac.lhr03.no-abs.hls.ttvnw.net just for comparative purposes ?
 

TheRoDent

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
3,427
Yup I spoke too soon too. Not working for me anymore either at 9PM.

Octotel 100/25. Cape Town, Claremont.

London Coreix



That's a new record low for me.

IPERF

Connecting to host trcvmh01.cisp.co.za, port 17001
Reverse mode, remote host trcvmh01.cisp.co.za is sending
Cookie: Strix.1551294828.815771.1a3be4fe31c7
[ 4] local 192.168.1.247 port 56805 connected to 154.0.15.181 port 17001
Starting Test: protocol: UDP, 1 streams, 1400 byte blocks, omitting 2 seconds, 10 second test
[ ID] Interval Transfer Bandwidth Jitter Lost/Total Datagrams
[ 4] 0.00-1.00 sec 1.17 MBytes 9.78 Mbits/sec 0.134 ms 62/936 (6.6%) (omitted)
[ 4] 1.00-2.00 sec 1.11 MBytes 9.34 Mbits/sec 0.138 ms 59/893 (6.6%) (omitted)
[ 4] 0.00-1.00 sec 1.10 MBytes 9.21 Mbits/sec 0.203 ms 71/894 (7.9%)
[ 4] 1.00-2.00 sec 1.03 MBytes 8.61 Mbits/sec 0.116 ms 124/893 (14%)
[ 4] 2.00-3.00 sec 1.10 MBytes 9.19 Mbits/sec 0.204 ms 72/893 (8.1%)
[ 4] 3.00-4.00 sec 1.09 MBytes 9.17 Mbits/sec 0.216 ms 73/893 (8.2%)
[ 4] 4.00-5.00 sec 1.09 MBytes 9.17 Mbits/sec 0.197 ms 74/892 (8.3%)
[ 4] 5.00-6.00 sec 1.10 MBytes 9.23 Mbits/sec 0.170 ms 69/893 (7.7%)
[ 4] 6.00-7.00 sec 1.10 MBytes 9.23 Mbits/sec 0.349 ms 69/893 (7.7%)
[ 4] 7.00-8.00 sec 1.08 MBytes 9.08 Mbits/sec 0.132 ms 82/892 (9.2%)
[ 4] 8.00-9.00 sec 1.08 MBytes 9.05 Mbits/sec 0.135 ms 85/894 (9.5%)
[ 4] 9.00-10.00 sec 1.08 MBytes 9.05 Mbits/sec 0.202 ms 85/892 (9.5%)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Test Complete. Summary Results:
[ ID] Interval Transfer Bandwidth Jitter Lost/Total Datagrams
[ 4] 0.00-10.00 sec 12.0 MBytes 10.1 Mbits/sec 0.204 ms 804/8930 (9%)
[ 4] Sent 8930 datagrams
CPU Utilization: local/receiver 2.2% (1.3%u/0.9%s), remote/sender 0.1% (0.0%u/0.1%s)

iperf Done.

And here we see why. @MDE Our loss is almost identical.

Twitch:
View attachment 625570

You can see the proxy is helping but I suspect my packet loss is just too high to even maintain a stream locally now during peak time.
Wow, it actually looks worse now than when I had the probe installed at your place.

For interests' sake do a TCP iperf to trcvmh01 as well during those times, would be interesting to see what TCP throughput you can get with that amount of loss.

So, basically the same test just remove the "-u"

BTW, speedtest.net doesn't work for me through the proxy in Chrome because it tries to use websockets which isn't supported in squid yet. How did you do these speedtests ?
 

n1c

Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2005
Messages
19
@TheRoDent that proxy seems to be magic! Are you going to leave it up for a while? There's a big CS:GO tourney I'd love to watch in 1080p this weekend :)

If anyone's interested you can specify the proxy in livestreamer like so:

Bash:
streamlink twitch.tv/esl_csgo best --stream-segment-threads 10 --hds-segment-threads 10 --twitch-oauth-authenticate --ringbuffer-size 1024M --https-proxy https://trcprx01.cisp.co.za:3128/
That way just the stream traffic goes via the proxy and everything else is normal.
 

TheRoDent

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
3,427
@TheRoDent that proxy seems to be magic! Are you going to leave it up for a while? There's a big CS:GO tourney I'd love to watch in 1080p this weekend :)

If anyone's interested you can specify the proxy in livestreamer like so:

Bash:
streamlink twitch.tv/esl_csgo best --stream-segment-threads 10 --hds-segment-threads 10 --twitch-oauth-authenticate --ringbuffer-size 1024M --https-proxy https://trcprx01.cisp.co.za:3128/
That way just the stream traffic goes via the proxy and everything else is normal.
Sure, we'll leave it as a standard feature. As a point of interest, do you have packet loss issues and which network are you on?
 

n1c

Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2005
Messages
19
I'm CISP on Octo (Claremont). Not sure at what stage PL becomes an issue but here's some 10-day graphs (note the one labelled 1st-hop isn't actually my first hop it's a copied config).

Let me know if there's any particular endpoint you'd like me to track.
 

Attachments

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top