Telkom website not working

fundutzi

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
319
Expanded tests from more sites.
A site in USA can access Telkom, super slow at loading.

ZA and UK sites I test from all fail.

Not working.
 

fundutzi

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
319
Works now from ZA sites I test from.

UK sites still not working.

In the year 2018!
 

fundutzi

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
319
Some days later.
An update for those few persons who might read this thread when faced with similar problems.

First off, no, you are not alone.

More details
For then past year I had to use the Telkom website at times.
Trying to access the Telkom website may be unavailable when in UK by some crude measure 50% of the time.

You can try from local ISPs in South Africa. Even from these at times the site may not work. This include Telkom client networks.

You can see some users report the site worked when down fro me.
If tested from various ISPs in UK, South Africa {Vox, Afrihost, WebAfrica and Telkom} and North America one must assume my observations are accurate.
No proxies, using Google DNS servers and IE, FF, GC as browsers.

Other ISP websites in South Africa always worked as expected, had zero issues till now.

An example, again today Telkom Website fail from some UK sites, another day all may fail.
Today it works perfect from za ISPs and US.

Since it does not work I also tested from Debian, IceWeasel, and Tor {some random world Ips}. Also a fail.

What a pain.
 

fundutzi

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
319
The Telkom website fail +- 20% of time when I need to use it.
This for past +- 1 year.

Fail to understand why no one else complain.
 

ProAsm

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2003
Messages
2,183
The Telkom website fail +- 20% of time when I need to use it.
This for past +- 1 year.

Fail to understand why no one else complain.
There is a setting somewhere in your browser that needs changing, cannot remember where, ask google.
Since then I have never had a problem with non https (secure) sites.
 

fundutzi

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
319
D4N_CPT, thank you.
I have a collection of websites to confirm servies are down depending on where in world.

The focus is not to ask if the Telkom website is down, that I know.
Why does the site fail so often.
At times, the failure is depended on your location.
 

fundutzi

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
319
Re ProAsm, thank you.
Not a http / https issue
It just so happen that I copied the http address. Did use https.

Simply never have any issues with any of the other myriad sites I use on any given day.
 

Cereal_Killer

Forging
Joined
Feb 24, 2016
Messages
36,719
Anyone having issues logging into the telkom site?
either it logs in and does not load properly or it just hangs
 
Top