I am slightly upset. After reading all the critics of WebAfrica on the forum, I have been telling myself they are not so bad, and besides their special offer is a really good deal. Oh boy did they manage to turn this promotion into a mess!
Bit of background - I have applied for their Complete 4 package before they ran the competition. In the extra comments for the MyBroadband promotion application I mentioned this and asked them to switch me to the promotion account if it were successful.
I got this e-mail from them yesterday:
This of course made me very happy. Last night I changed the settings on my router to the new details on the control panel and I was flying. Hence my account was already activated.
The only problem was that in my service panel both the Complete 4 and Complete 7 packages were listed (Complete 4 under status pending) - I kindly requested them to only continue with the Complete 7 MyBB Promotion package (both were on the same line). They then deleted both accounts and created a new Complete 7 account @ R999 per month. Of course I queried this. Their reply was:
Not only did they pull the package which they already awarded me - but they suddenly added a R999/month service to my account which I did not ask for!
Upon further query:
Which is obviously nonsense, because the account has already been activated and I already started to use it! This is not a wrong message - they actually pulled the prize!
Now I know I must be grateful that they run promotions. But is this really the way do things? Pulling
competition prizes after they have been awarded is at best a shady practice, but then automatically subscribing you to the prize at full price? Did I miss some fine print?
I am really considering of going through the schlep of just transferring my line again. I cannot work with people I cannot trust. Frankly - I would have thought more of them as an organization if they just didn't run the promotion at all.
So oh well - WebAfrica critics, you might have been right.
Bit of background - I have applied for their Complete 4 package before they ran the competition. In the extra comments for the MyBroadband promotion application I mentioned this and asked them to switch me to the promotion account if it were successful.
I got this e-mail from them yesterday:
Dear Applicant
We would like to thank you for taking part in the 16GB data with 4MB line for R499 special offer we recently held on mybroadband.co.za.
We are happy to inform you that your application was successful!
Your application will now be put in the active state, if you are bringing your line across from another provider, this can take between 7-14 working days to transfer. Transfers are seamless and there is zero downtime.
If this is a new line application, it can take up to 6 weeks for the line to be installed. Our support center will be contacting your shortly with more information about this service.
We hope you enjoy your reduced monthly bandwidth costs from Web Africa!
This of course made me very happy. Last night I changed the settings on my router to the new details on the control panel and I was flying. Hence my account was already activated.
The only problem was that in my service panel both the Complete 4 and Complete 7 packages were listed (Complete 4 under status pending) - I kindly requested them to only continue with the Complete 7 MyBB Promotion package (both were on the same line). They then deleted both accounts and created a new Complete 7 account @ R999 per month. Of course I queried this. Their reply was:
Hi Johan
Your application for complete 7 (MyBroadband) special @ R499/month it was not successful, the order was added as normal Complete 7 package at R999/month.
Thank you
Not only did they pull the package which they already awarded me - but they suddenly added a R999/month service to my account which I did not ask for!
Upon further query:
Hi Johan
We appologize for that confusion, looks like a message went to everyone who applied. We hope that you will accept our appology for inconvinience caused by that confusion...
Which is obviously nonsense, because the account has already been activated and I already started to use it! This is not a wrong message - they actually pulled the prize!
Now I know I must be grateful that they run promotions. But is this really the way do things? Pulling
competition prizes after they have been awarded is at best a shady practice, but then automatically subscribing you to the prize at full price? Did I miss some fine print?
I am really considering of going through the schlep of just transferring my line again. I cannot work with people I cannot trust. Frankly - I would have thought more of them as an organization if they just didn't run the promotion at all.
So oh well - WebAfrica critics, you might have been right.